Tyre pressure when carrying a load and towing.

Submitted: Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 15:58
ThreadID: 90099 Views:4882 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
G'day all

I have the Dmax cab/chassis loaded with about 300kg and am towing a 13' van.

I have looked at the owners manual and searched the web, but can't find anything on increasing the tyre pressure when loaded.

The owners manual has one set of tyre pressure that seems to fit all situations. I thought that I should increase the pressure by about 5 to 10 psi, or am I being a bit ambitious?

Reply By: Rockape - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 16:41

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 16:41
Boo Boo,
here is a bit of info for you.

Have a look here

And here

Happy travels,
RA.
AnswerID: 470001

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 16:55

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 16:55
Thanks RA

I will do the calculations tomorrow morning and see how they look.

I think I am close to right on the van , but I am more interested in what the Dmax is doing.

Those sitew are a great help. Now it's back ro getting the cable in the cabin.

Well done.

FollowupID: 744455

Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 18:58

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 18:58
With my car I measure the back tyre from the ground to the bottom of the rim unloaded. After loading the car trailer etc I then inflate the tyre until I get the same measurement. In my case I go from 36psi to 42psi. One to two hours into the trip I check my pressure if its within 4psi I'm good to go if more than 4psi I add the difference if less I drop a bit.

Craig
AnswerID: 470018

Follow Up By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 19:08

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 19:08
This is probably not too bad if the starting temperature and the temperature two hours later is the same. I started on my Simpson Desert trip at minus one degree and within a few hours the temperature was in the mid 20s. Just the ambient temperature difference can account for 4psi change.
You need to be careful using this method.
If you relax at a faster pace you can get more relaxation in for a given time.
Regards Rob

FollowupID: 744471

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 22:27

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 22:27
Rob,
this method also works in your situation. I have on several ocassions Left Port Hedland at 4 in the morning around 15 deg by the time I travel to Christmas Creek via the roads through Newman it can be up around 48 to 50 degrees. If you were to set your tyres at 44psi (cheese cutters on the new model cruiser)
by the time you hit Newman I will garantee you that your tyre pressure is high. As not only is it 35 deg hotter but the roads inland have been sucking up the heat.
We have it drilled into us to monitor the tyres every time we stop. Which is to be every two hours if we follow the rules of our company.

Craig
FollowupID: 744494

Follow Up By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 09:38

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 09:38
Hi Craig,

Sorry I did not explain myself adequately (a bad habit of mine).
You are correct in saying the tyre pressure will be higher after driving and in the hotter temperatures.
My point is that if you adjusted your tyres to be 44psi at 15 degrees Celsius and did not drive the vehicle at all then the tyre pressure would increase due to the ambient air temperature increase.

There is a law of Physics known as the Gay-Lussac Law that relates the initial and final Pressure to the initial and final Temperature for a fixed volume of gas.
Basically it states that P1/T1 = P2/T2 for a fixed volume.
or P2 = P1xT2/T1

Where P1 and P2 are absolute pressure (you need to add 15psi atmospheric pressure to the tyre pressure reading)
and T1 and T2 are absolute temperature (you need to add 273 degrees to the Celsius temperature reading).

So in your case.
T1 = 15 + 273 or 288 degrees absolute
T2 = 50 + 273 or 323 degrees absolute
P1 = 44 + 15 or 59 psi absolute
P2 = 59 x 323/288 = 66.17 psi absolute
Measured pressure will be 66.17 - 15 = 51.17 psi

So the measured pressure at 15 degrees Celsius is 44.
and the measured pressure at 50 degrees Celsius will be 51.17
or
The pressure change due simply to the change in outside temperature will be 51.17 - 44 = 7.17 degrees with no movement of the vehicle.
This makes the "4psi change rule of thumb" invalid under such conditions.

You need to be careful applying this as there is an assumption that the temperature of the air in the tyre is the same as the temperature of the air outside of the tyre. This is probably not a bad assumption if the tyre has soaked at a constant temperature for some time.

I hope this clears up what I was trying to say in my first post.
Regards Rob

FollowupID: 744524

Reply By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 18:58

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 18:58
See Tyre Information for information from tyre manufacturers and the US Tire and Rim Association who set standards for tyres and rims.
Regards Rob

AnswerID: 470019

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 19:49

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 19:49
Thanks fellas.

I think I now have enough info to check my pressure in a sensible manner.

AnswerID: 470026

Reply By: splits - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:11

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:11
Boo Boo

Try ringing the technical information number for the tyre manufacturer. That is what it is there for. I did that with my current tyres because it was the first time I had ever used that brand and type. They gave me a lot of information about them including the weight each 1 psi increase will support. That was four years and just over 40,000 ks ago and so far everything is working perfectly.
AnswerID: 470033

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 21:51

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 21:51
Thanks for that.

I think I might be busy checking a few things tomorrow.

FollowupID: 744487

Reply By: jadatis - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:53

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:53
What Graig F writes about measuring the distance between the ground and the rimm , is in principle the way the tyre-makers also use.
The goal of all tyre-pressures advice calculations is to keep the deflection of the sidewall the same for lower then maximum loads as the maximum load with reference-pressure ( After AT xxx psi on the sidewall).
So to get this same deflection, there is a calculation in wich maximum load and referencepressure of the tyre is used, and the asumed weight on the tyre.
What Graig has to do is , not move the car between the measurents, because the road can be different, so the outside sidewall bends different then the inside.
Also dont trust the 4 psi methode. if you used the brakes, the inside tyre-temperature can incidentially go as high as 100 degr C ( F?? boilingpoint water) because of the heat of the brakes transported through the rimms. With this the pressure goes up more then 4 psi. But also higher cold pressure gives more then 4psi highening up of it.

I once got hold of that Official European formula and its addings for speed and camber-angle, and worked it out in spreadsheets. Learned myself Excell for it.
When I declared this formula holy, I translated some of them to English to go worldwide with it, and discovered that way that the formula wasn't that holy and there have been wrong calculations in the past , especially in America.
Found an article of J.C.Daws with a new formula and comparison with the old one.
Combined the old and new one to my own , because I also had critics about the "Daws"formula.

I will give a link to my public map of skydrive, that belongs to my hotmail-adress with the same username as here. 2nd from bottom is "pressurecalculation with temp"where you can calculate for up to 99m/h ( above that the deflection may be lesser to prevent tyre-damage, there is a system for that) and afterward play with the temperature, to see what it does to the pressure.
an inside tyre temp of 112dgr F /45dgr C is normal warm.
my public map of skydrive
Click on the I in a circle at the end of the line, then in the right barr on Download, and open it after download in Excell or compatible to use it.
If you press wrong the browser will try to open it, but cant handle some things I used in most spreadsheets, then go back to skydrive and try again.

The list of peakhill that the 2nd poster gives is a wrong one, the calculation is for diagonal tyres, and gives to low pressures for radial tyres. Already contacted Peakhill about it a year ago and yust recently. Because they add 20% to the weighed load, it still gives high enaug answers mostly.

AnswerID: 470037

Reply By: wombat100 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 12:34

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 12:34
Geez mate..there's enough info here to keep a rocket scientist confused..

Anyhow, we have a BT50 tray back..with an (engineered) GVM of 3483kg.
Manufacturers recommendations are 30/30 empty and 30/39 loaded.
I run 32/32 empty with the rear airbags at 10psi and the Toughdogs on 2.
With the (approx) 650kg camper loaded the set up is
40/60 airbags at 40 and shocks at 5.

The recommendations are just that...and it does take a bit of trial and error to work out what is just right for your situation.
And get yourself a good, reliable, consistent tyre gauge.

Have fun,

AnswerID: 470161

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 12:58

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 12:58
There are only two reliable sources of information for tyre preasures.

One is the tyre plackard on the vehicle....and if you dig further in the owners manual you should find maximum axle loads.

However all that goes out the window is you have changed the size and profile of the tyre.

the second and most reliable is load V preasure tables for that size, profile and carcase type that you are running....the specks will be very consistent from brand to brand.

The tyre and rim association of australia publish a standards manual which can be had for arround $50 posted, if there are any left.

It contains load V preasure tables for most available tyres.
It will give you minimum permisable preasures for a given load.

All tyre dealers should have a coppy...but don't trust them to read it.

I am affraid that tyre shops seem incapable of corretly inflating tyres or giving reliable advice on the subject...or for that matter reading a tyre plackard.

I have tried and considered the 4PSI rule..sorry I think it is unreliable at best.

once you have establised the correct cold tyre preasure at a given load..the hub centre measurement is the most reliable.

so......by hook or by crook, get some load v preasure information and take your rig down the local weigh bridge and weigh each axle individually.

My local council dump has a certified weigh bridge and does not charge unless you need a certificate.

It is reasonable to run 2 to 4psi cold above recommended minimum..but harder you are just busting you ass and wearing your tyres unevenly.

I have a coppy og the manual...post ya tyre size and I will time permitting post the load V preasure info for you.

BTW all sorts of people have all sorts of strange ideas about tyre preasure.

All tyre preasures should be measured cold, as the preasures will vary with road conditions..the engineers have accounted for this.

It not hard.
get ya tables.
weigh the vehicle
inflat to the specs on the table pluss a couple of psi if you like.

AnswerID: 470240

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:42

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:42
G'day The Bantam

My tyres are 245/70R16.

They are Bridgestone 693's.

The long Range tank is 50 kg heavier than the original when full.

The pod is 48kg heaviier than just a tray and sides and I load about 300 kg in the pod.

This does not include a small tinny and 5hp motor that comes in at less than 50kg

So, all up I have around 450kg. I presume thats the way I should count the weight rather than just count what I put inside the pod.

Thanks for the help.

FollowupID: 744714

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 15:19

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 15:19
Bridgestone make a few weirdo sizes as OEM

the 245/70R16 seems to be one of them.

because of the lack of a C or a LT suffex I have to assume that it is a quasi pasenger tyre.

This size does not appear in the listing of standard light truck tyres.

In addition the standard 245/70R16 is listed as a 107 load rating at 250KPA ( 36psi), there is no listing in my book for an extra load tyre in this size, the bridgstone site lists it as a 111 load rating which is consistent with an "extra load" tyre, cant find at what preasure that is speced at but most extra load tryes arround that size spec up at 290Kpa ( 42psi)

so we have three choices determined on what is on stamped on the tyre

either the standard 111 load rating data or an extension of the 107 load rating data or the 111 extra load tyre data..which looks very close to the extension of the 107 load data and so it probaly should.

so
.............107 LR........111 LR extra load
180kpa....750Kg
190kpa....785kg
200kpa....815kg
210kpa....850kg
220kpa....880kg......................32psi
230kpa...910kg
240kpa...945kg
250kpa...975kg........970kg......36psi
260Kpa...................1000kg
270Kpa...................1030kg.
280kpa...................1060kg
290kpa...................1090kg......42psi

remember this is per tyre.

What you will need to do to confirms the situation is gather some information and compare with the factory specs.
recommended tyre preasures and maximum axle loads

I did this with my hilux and the factory specs worked out pretty close to the off table requirements.

I suspect that the bridgstone tyre fitted is nether a stereotypical pasenger tyre 107 rated tyre nor a stereotypical 111 rated extra load tyre.

But a 107 pasenger tyre with its preasure capacity and thus its load rating extended to 111.

the burning question is what is the maximum preasure stamped on the tyre.
If its arround 42psi..suspicion confirmed.

remember "ya cana change the laws of physics jim", and the volume of air in the tyre wont change much between types..so it all comes down to the tyres ability to contain air preasure.

let me know how you go.

FollowupID: 744724

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 19:05

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 19:05
The Bantam

You may be close to the truth!

When I did my last post I noticed the marking '111S' at the time I didn't think much of it. However, your comments about the type of tyre is more than likely correct.

The maximum pressure on the side of the tyre is 340 or 50psi.

At the moment there is 45psi in the back tyres and 32 in the front tyres. These pressures were put in by the dealer at the first service some 1000k ago.

It appears I have very little wriggle room if these tyres only have a max of 50psi.

What are your thoughts on this?

Once again your help is appreciated.

FollowupID: 744746

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 11:47

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 11:47
so you have a 111 load rating at 50PSI.

That is not a standard curve and is more like a light truck tyre.

Light truck tyres usually need more preasure than pasenger tyres to achieve the same load carrying .......I seem to think because the carcases are straighter in the sidewalls and they contain marginally less air.

Exatly what is on the tyre plackard and in the manual re tyre preasures and what is the maximum axle load front and rear.

In pasenger tyres there is a generic table bassed on the load rating, in light truck tyres there is individual tables for each tyre.

That is a load rating of 1090KG...that is 2180KG per axle..tyre rating...less 10% for safety margin

That is arround 1960KG permissable axle load bassed on the tyres

Have you tried emailing bridgestone and asking for a load V preasure table for that tyre?

failing that.

If you have a specified preasure for the front tyres unloaded that is usually two 75Kg adults in the front seats and nothing in the tray.....you should be able to work of hub centre height for the rear.

any was show us the info from the plackard & manual.

regardless you can not exceed the specified axle loading.

FollowupID: 744802

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 15:17

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 15:17
OK the mass front axle capacity is 1200kg.

The mass rear axle capacity is 1680kg

The tyre placard says 29 psi front and 41 psi rear.

I had another look at the tyre and it is a steel belted radial.

FollowupID: 744814