Checkerplate Al
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 11:22
Member - Noldi (WA)
I'm after some sheets of aluminium checkerplate and pipe for the Ute, does anyone have any recommendations here in
Perth?
I did use a place near
Welshpool some time ago but oldtimers has got me and I can't remember the name
Tks
Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 13:44
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 13:44
hi noldi
bluescope steel and simular supplies in the
welshpool area should be able to help
try the on-line yellow pages steel and aluminuim supplies
cheers barry
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:03
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:03
Tks Barry,
Found the one I used before using you method, Ulrich in Bayswater, knew it was somewhere around here.
Reply By: Flighty ( WA ) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:05
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:05
Noldi.
If you are on the north side of river contact " Ullrich" Aluminium in Bayswater on 9473 4700 or South side Austral Wright Metals in
Welshpool on 9258 2600
Flighty
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:26
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:26
Tks Flighty, I live one side and work the other so I'll give them both a ring
Rgds
Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:09
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:09
I bought some sheets of aluminium checkerplate when I was building my camper body. It amazed me the difference in price. I got
mine from a mob in Malaga that were 30% to 40% cheaper than anyone else. Unfortunately that was far to long ago to remember the name but I am sure Google could help.
Probably made in the good old PRC but it's still there and doing the job.
Cheers Pop
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:29
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 14:29
Tks Pop,
I'll ring around, want to but an Al top, on the rack over the tray so I think I'm going to need 2 1/2 sheets of 8' x 4'
I plan to use tread (checker) plate Al not sure what thickness yet, don't want it to "Drum" as I'm driving.
Rgds
Reply By: hazo - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:01
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:01
Capral Aluminium in
Welshpool or Malaga, Good price if you are a tradie,but do cash sales to public, also will guillotine to size at minimal cost.
Propeller plate cheaper than chequerplate but they do both.
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:09
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:09
Tks Hazo will get some accurate measurements and give them a call
Thanks for
the tip on the Prop Plate
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:30
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:30
Hazo, I've typed in Propeller plate to see what the difference is but could not find any pics,
Can you tell me what the difference is?
Sorry but not in the trade
Follow Up By: hazo - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 11:20
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 11:20
If you look at the standard ally CP it looks like a pattern of raised bars (usually 5) in a regular order. Hence 5 bar chequer plate.
If you look at propellor plate it looks exactly like small propellors as the pattern.
There may be a proprioratory name for it but everyone I know calls it Propellor plate.
Probably slightly less material per sheet hence the cheaper price. It is also much shinier in finish.
Lots of caravan manufacturers use it to clad lower areas of their vans to make them appear tougher than they really are !
I did a mates ute for him a couple of years ago, from the welded frame to the cladding, used just under 3 sheets of 1.6mm P/Plate.
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 11:26
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 11:26
Tks mate
Follow Up By: Trustme - Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 22:26
Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 22:26
Maybe called diamond plate.
The polished stuff looks fantastic.
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 10:14
Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 10:14
Tks Trustme, I have not followed up yet, all my pocket money went on the 4wd show ;-)
Reply By: desray (WA - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:10
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:10
Bunninings also sell small sheets
Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:28
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:28
Tks desray, will also check their.
Reply By: luhuanhuan l - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 17:30
Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 17:30
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Spamming Rule
Forum Moderation Team