Tjukayirla changeover

G'day All,

The time has come for Serena and I to move on from Tjukayirla Roadhouse. A big thank you to all exploroz members that travelled through in our time here, I'm sure we'll get to see alot of you again. :-)
serena will be running the Gull truckstop in Port augusta, so if you enjoyed a Tjuka burger here, you'll find it on the menu in P.A. I'll be working in Whyalla.
The Tjukayirla Roadhouse business membership will of course be handed over to new managers who i hope will keep the road conditions etc updated for you all.
New managers will be appointed by end of January.
Meanwhile, serena and I will need to sign up with a new log in name :-)
Once again, thank you all, and see you on the road.

Al and serena

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 17:49

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 17:49
Good on you Al and Serena. All the best for your new ventures and thanks for all your efforts and contributions to the EO forum and site.

Cheers and safe travels, Mick

AnswerID: 470182

Reply By: Member - Ross G (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:08

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:08
Sorry,
We wont see you in December but will look you up in Pt Augusta next time we are down that way.
Ross
AnswerID: 470185

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:14

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:14
Hope to catch up in PA one day, we passed thru Tjukayirla in July and fueled up, both vehicle and stomach! I am sure the TJ burger will be a big hit in PA!

AnswerID: 470186

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:21

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:21
All the best, and Merry Xmas to you both.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 470187

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 19:03

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 19:03
Hi Al and Serena

Your post have always been great reading and I wish you all the best with your new ventures and have a great Christmas.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 470189

Reply By: wizzer73 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 19:13

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 19:13
Thanks for the posts on road conditions on the GCR.
Good luck with your moves.

wizzer
AnswerID: 470191

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 19:29

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 19:29
Hi Al

Sorry to see you go. The last time I was there Serna went for an RFDS aeroplane ride after a fight with a gas stove whilst making those huge T burgers - lol.

Anyway all the best to both of you and thanks for the service and support you have given me and all of the EO crew.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 470192

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 20:06

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 20:06
That certainly was a classic Phil.. Lol.. Well, funny now anyway :-)
FollowupID: 744659

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 20:08

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 20:08
Thank you all for the replies and well wishes.. And likewise, hope you all have a great Chrissy :-)
AnswerID: 470194

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 20:24

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 20:24
Al & Serena, I didn't get the opportunity to meet you guys out there, but I sure hope I get to meet you somewhere. PA may just be the place :-)

Your contribution to this site has been immense.

Your valued information/road updates/weather conditions/keeping wayward EO'rs in touch, has been a highlight of your time with us whilst out there in that So Very Remote Outpost.

Job well done folk.

We look forward to meeting the new managers.

All the best with your relocation, and have a great Xmas and new year. Please keep tuned to EO.

Fred.

AnswerID: 470197

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:34

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:34
keep in contact guys, we shall share secrets down the track ........
J&M&Kids
AnswerID: 470202

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:44

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:44
Sorry to see you go, all the best for the future
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 470211

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:06

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:06
Good luck in S.A., and thanks for the hospitality in August..
AnswerID: 470262

Reply By: Croozerute - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 20:48

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 20:48
G'day all, seems I already had another member name. Already :-)
Thanks very much for the replies. We are currently sitting at Leonora having a well deserved coldie or 3

Al
AnswerID: 470288

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 00:10

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 00:10
Are you still coming up here...???

AnswerID: 470305

Reply By: Croozerute - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 08:11

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 08:11
G'day Doug, no mate, that's been canned, well have to make it another time now. But will be at one stage

Al
AnswerID: 470316

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 14:22

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 14:22
Hi Al & Serena, sorry to see u go. we called in & stayed overnight in july last year. one of the best road houses I have seen. good luck in yr new endeavours. cheers Tom
AnswerID: 470341

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 20:35

Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 20:35
Thanks all, really apprciate the kind words. Leaving Tjuka was not easy for us, had intended to and could have easily done another year or two out there but I got a job offer that I would have been foolish to turn down. Still, we said goodbye to Tjuka with heavy hearts - anyone travelling thru I urge you to stop in, its really a little oasis in the desert.
So..anywayyyy..for the next 12 months or so I will be at the Gull roadhouse in Port Augusta making my mark..lol. it used to be the Caltex and is now branded Gull, and apparently has huge potential in food sales etc, which just happens to be my speciality :), so please do call in and say g'day to me if you are passing through. my offer of a cup of coffee when mentioning exploroz still stands :D

Hope to see you all around!

serena
AnswerID: 470594