Submitted: Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 17:00
Member - David J (VIC)
G'Day
I'm planning a mid January trip through the High Country, towing a VistaRV Crossover (about 1.5 tonnes fully loaded) with a Terracan 3 litre turbo diesel, with a 2" lift. There will also be a Prado towing the same trailer.
The original plan was to head in to Wonnangatta from the
Dargo end, via
Eaglevale, Cynthia Range and Wombat Range Tracks then out via Wonnangatta Track/East Riley/East Buffalo. A side trip is planned up to
Lake Cobbler via the Abbeyard-
Lake Cobbler Track.
Are these feasible? Out of Wonnagatta to the north I have no worries about, but in via
Eaglevale? And is the Abbeyard-
Lake Cobbler Track suitable for towing?
Would we be better off going in and out of Wonnagatta from the north and doing a day trip up to
Lake Cobbler?
From Abbeyard I plan to head out to Myrtleford, then over Mt Hotham to
Omeo and on to Benambra. Then to
Tom Groggin via The Poplars and
Davies Plain Track.
Once again, suitable? Or maybe Buckwong Hut and on to
Davies Plain Track, or even the
Tom Groggin Track?
Thanks in advance...
Numb Thumbs ;)
Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 18:01
Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 18:01
David,
My recollection is that the Crossover has the same or similar chassis to the TVan and so ground clearance and off road robustness shouldn't be a problem. We had an off road camper with us last Jan towed by a 100 series all the way through the high country just after the serious storms. The only concern is that if it's wet the tracks can get pretty slippery and lockers are a bonus. Not sure if your vehicles are equipped with traction control which may help.
Follow Up By: Member - David J (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 21:45
Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 21:45
The Crossover uses a similar
suspension setup to the T-Van.
The main worry would steep slopes making towing unwise.
Numb Thumbs ;)
Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 17:39
Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 17:39
Did the trip last week from
Eaglevale up to Wombat and then down Hernes Spur. Use Wombat all the way with the Trailer and you should be right. We had heaps of rain but the tracks dried out in a day. Track out of Wonangatta to Abbey Yard is in good condition and once you are out of the valley is almost a two wheel drive track. Quite a few steep sections up the
Eaglevale track but should be OK with the trailer.
Follow Up By: Member - David J (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 21:46
Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 21:46
Rod and Lorna
Thank you for the response.
Numb Thumbs ;)