Shade cloth end walls for a caravan.

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 18:43
ThreadID: 90211 Views:5124 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
G'day all

I am after an end wall for our awning to block the sun.

I saw one at a TJM store a few weeks ago, but I am not sure whether it will do the job.

Sunbusters have one that's suppose to be really good,,,, so they say.

Has anyone actually got one and do they work?

I will be in Adelaide in two weeks and would like to pick one up if they are any good.

Reply By: Member - Julio C (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 19:50

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 19:50
Hi Boo Boo, Have a look at Cgear. we have one and are very happy with it.
AnswerID: 470512

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 22:00

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 22:00
G'day Julio

I found cgear end walls on ebay 1.8 x 2.1 wide (fits our van), for $113 delivered.

FollowupID: 745023

Reply By: Lynds - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 20:31

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 20:31
G'day BooBoo,

They do work, however do not get a light coloured one as they as bright to look at when the sun is on them as it is to look at the sun. Other than that they are effective in allowing a cross breeze through on a hot night.

Lynds
AnswerID: 470514

Reply By: Fatso - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 20:55

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 20:55
G'day Boo Boo
You can usually save a bit by getting those sort of things made by a motor trimmer or canvas goods maker or sail maker.
There is not much too them & I reckon you would have to be able to get one knocked op for under $150.
AnswerID: 470516

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 20:58

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 20:58
I had a copy made of my annexe wall. It can be used either end and goes to the roof of the awning, so no rain gets in.

Handy for keeping the fridge dry as well as the wind and sun exclusion.

Cost about $200.
Bill B

FollowupID: 745014

Reply By: Member - john y - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 22:03

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 22:03
Cgear is the way to go.Their units are specically made for this purpose and have a high UV protection rating. They also produce annexe walls and annexe floors. We have one of each and can vouch for them. We bought ours at a discounted price at the recent leisure show at Sandown.
AnswerID: 470519

Reply By: landed eagle - Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 06:33

Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 06:33
I use two sunbusters. Good product.
AnswerID: 470534

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 07:11

Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 07:11
Thanks for the info fellas I will go with the Cgear.

Always great to get replys that point you in the right direction.

AnswerID: 470536

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 15:26

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 15:26
Scroll down here.I purchased both end walls and long wall shades.

They work well and also help reduce wind when it is a little draughty.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 470645

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:21

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:21
G'day Dodg

Thanks mate

I've ordered an endwall yesterday and if it works out OK the wife will probably want another wall and the long wall.

They are about the same proce as ebay.

FollowupID: 745157

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:04

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:04
I'm not in the market for any of that stuff at the moment, but I would like to say they look as though they are good value.
Fatso
FollowupID: 745164