Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:29
toohey
g'day all
i've taken the third row seats out of the cruiser,i'm thinken of takeing out the second row,more room to
camp in,has anyone done the same,if so what did you use as platform to extend over the second row footwell,was it worth doing.
thanks in advance.
toohey
Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:58
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:58
Hi toohey
Done it in an 80 series just used ply board and used original holes to bolt down
it gives a lot more space for sure ,good for putting items not in regular use under in wells.
Cheers reggy2
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:48
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:48
Hi toohey,
Don't get rid of your seats, belts and all the bolts/brackets.
Some rego inspectors are pinging guys for removing them, Yeah I know, I can here people saying they can't,
well they can. Your vehicle was first registered as a eight seater, so it must have all the seats with belts in it at rego time. Some inspectors use "Common Sense" there's that word again LOL :)
This has been spoken about in Lcool, where people have pulled their seating out as you want to for more room and their vehicle wont pass an inspection. In fact I was only talking to a couple of mechanics the other day that own 80 series cruisers and yeah, especially if you change states.
I reckon it's a great idea, makes a LC very versatile when you do this.
Just something to ponder.
Follow Up By: toohey - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:06
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:06
g'day reggy,jon&karen
i thought there could a problem re second seats at rego time,i'm led to believe third row are okay to remove as they have a quick release set up.
cheers and thanks
toohey
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:15
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:15
Yeah, I've never had my third row seats in for inspection, but the belts and fittings are there. The inspector always has stuck his head in the rear and given it a quick glance.
Just recently did a 30 day/6600k trip and removed the brackets and bolts, made a huge difference to how we could pack the back.
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:20
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:20
Removing back seats are only an issue if the vehicle was regoed as a cheaper passenger carrying vehicle and it's being used as a commercial vehicle (turning it into a van for work purposes)..... like buying a Toyota
Tarago removing the seats and using it as a Toyota Hiace for deliveries but only paying the cheaper rego and insurance.
The act states seats can be removed for a temporary period, can not be a structural members, must be removable by not cutting and can be easily re installed involving no fabrication.
In other words temporary can be a day, a week , a month..... seats can be on a quick release mechanism or bolted from the factory.... must not be part of a bracing system for vehicle rigidity and can be re fitted at any time easily with minimum tools.
Reply By: Member - Mikee (Two Wells) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:26
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:26
Hi Toohey, I have the Standard 105 cruiser, the rear
seat folds in two movements forwards to just behind the front seats (The back folds down, then the whole unit lifts up and forward). Behind this I have a shelf which attaches to the front edge of the Outback Storage Drawers and has two legs to support the front. It takes about 10 minutes to convert either way.
Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:29
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 18:29
toohey,
Had my second row seats removed for quite some time even for rego inspections with no dramas. Left the
seat anchor points and seatbelts in. Two position cargo barrier was moved behind the front seats. Strapped 3 X 20L
water jerries across the front of the cargo barrier in the space behind the front seats. Put a couple of tubs behind the cargo barrier and in front of the storage system for food and spares which created a nice flat area on which to put tent/swag etc.
Reply By: Sapper D - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:26
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:26
Hi Toohey
I do it in my 100 series every year we go away, it's not a problem and it only takes a few minutes to put back in when we return.-( 5 bolts in total )---Makes so much more room, and I even up the irregular floor with some plywood, the Engel, etc, sit nicely that way----Might be officially illegal, but I've never been questioned about it
Cheers Sapper D
Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:42
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:42
We took our rear seats out and put a set of Outback drawers in. Plus we added what they call a "bed extension" which comes forward close to the front seats.
The seats or bed extension swap takes about half an hour without rushing and even having a cuppa on the way.
We put the seats in if we take the grandkids with us.
We initially used the back as a bed. A double with the fridge out or a single with the fridge left in. I occasionally go out on my own. We now have a rooftop tent that can be used as
well. Or just add a tent for the kids. Flexibility is our key.
This may give you a better idea:
Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:07
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:07
To do it properly we always make a welded "H" frame out of 50x25x1.6mm RHS and weld straps made of 25x25x3mm Angle picking up as many 8mm and 10mm bolt holes as we can..... from memory about 12 holes.
Doing it this way ensures you have a level strong mounting surface to attach the top board to.... we use 16
water resistant MDF as the top.
Reply By: nicholas h - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:34
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:34
Just dont lose the seats ,i just bought a new 76 series wagon and it cost me 2 grand on the trade in to get new seats off toyota as i could not do the trade without them.
Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 17:27
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 17:27
thanks to all
toohey
Reply By: ozjohn0 - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 20:35
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 20:35
Check out this website for the correct information you seek.
Just Copy and paste.
www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/a1143ca0-be74-4886-90ad-1d1da4bae9c3/vsil50permanentandtemporaryremovalofseatsfromlightmotorvehicles.pdf
Ozjohn.
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 08:55
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 08:55
Might be a good idea for anyone who has removed seats to carry a copy of their state requirements.
Seems to be so many urban myths around and maybe the officials policing it don't understand it fully.
The funny thing is they use the word "temporary" according to Oxfords dictionary means ...... lasting for only a limited period of time ; not permanent:
How long is a limited time?
Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:45
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:45
In the ACT the inspector just now said that if they were to see our 100 series with the third row of seats out then they would have to reclassify it as a 5 seater. If however the second row was removed as
well, then they would reclassify it as a "goods carrying vehicle" with the appropriate increase in registration etc. Bloody ouch.
Nothing about being temporarily or permanent.
Whoops we have the second row out.
So to the original thread author; do whatever you want it's up to you but if I were you I would check with the local inspectors to see where you stand.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:53
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:53
Hi Phil,
To have it reclassify as a 5 seater
Is that with the third row seats out, but the belts and fixing still in?
Or is it with all the fixings removed as
well?
Jon
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:59
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:59
He did not say anything about the
seat belts. Just if the seats were removed. I take that as saying that the belts/fittings etc being in place is irrelevant. Otherwise he would have mentioned it. I did stress that the third row just "clips" out. Still did not matter.
Ours are out permanently unless I remove the drawer system and I am not about to do that so we will get it reclassified as a 5 seater. But having the second row out is a worry when it comes to insurance being on an illegally modified car. It could void it. Must think about that!
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 11:06
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 11:06
Strange him saying if the third row
seat being removed, that's what they are designed for, quick removal and a quick replace.
I can understand about the second row seating completely, but not the third row one.
I might just contact the RTA and get from the horses mouth, so to speak.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 11:27
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 11:27
Good idea. That's why I always say "contact your local inspector. Comments here, whilst being given in all honesty, should be taken with a grain of salt. Just like in the pub.
Catchya
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 11:32
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 11:32
Just contacted a workshop that does Blue slips and was told the following
All seating must be installed.
Your going to love this bit. ;(
He said technically, if you(me) need to remove the third row
seat you must get a licensed installer to remove them and refit them again.
He agreed it's a joke, the third row
seat is designed to be removed, yet you must be qualified to perform this task.
Anyway
have a good one.
Still scratching my head.
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 17:56
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 17:56
Why is it legal to remove seats in all other Australian states and territories but in the ACT it's illegal?
Why don't you ask the so called professionals to show you where in the legislation it says it's illegal.
Again I find it strange that the ACT is the odd one out!
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 19:42
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 19:42
"Why don't you ask the so called professionals to show you where in the legislation it says it's illegal"
What do you mean by so called professionals, that's a bit of a slap in the face to these guys. I've used this Mechanic for over 20 years, I have no reason to doubt him or others that I know in the industry and trust.
Hey, The mechanic I spoke to is just has baffled by it as you.
Yet i tried phone the RTA to speak with someone and was told to speak with someone that does the inspections. WT?
So these are the clowns that have no idea what is going on, yet there run the show.
I bought this vehicle for the versatility of it's seating, as
well as other reasons.
Hmmm,
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 19:42
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 19:42
"Why don't you ask the so called professionals to show you where in the legislation it says it's illegal"
What do you mean by so called professionals, that's a bit of a slap in the face to these guys. I've used this Mechanic for over 20 years, I have no reason to doubt him or others that I know in the industry and trust.
Hey, The mechanic I spoke to is just has baffled by it as you.
Yet i tried phone the RTA to speak with someone and was told to speak with someone that does the inspections. WT?
So these are the clowns that have no idea what is going on, yet there run the show.
I bought this vehicle for the versatility of it's seating, as
well as other reasons.
Hmmm,
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 20:10
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 20:10
Hairs and fish
Jon
Let me know what they say when you get through will you. My email is vk1dx@bigpond.net.au.
Okay
Olcoolone
I gather that you contacted all the Australian states RTA inspectors before you made that claim?
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 21:11
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 21:11
Sorry about the double post, i was getting server errors :)
I will Phil
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 21:25
Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 21:25
Excuses. Excuses.