Taking an EPIRB out remote - and where to put it?

Submitted: Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:04
ThreadID: 90347 Views:3338 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
I have an EPIRB that I am keeping when I sell my boat and I was considering putting in the camper for when we go out remote.

Does anyone else use an EPIRB in their camper and if you do where do you keep it.

One problem I saw was if I had an accident and rolled the vehicle meaning I need assistance then it might be a bit hard to get at the EPIRB if it is deep inside the camper - especially if I could not open the camper upside down.

I also don't want it easily stolen or in the way where it might get accidently activated.

Any ideas?

Serendipity

Camper is a traymount - sideways opening Travelander.

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:49

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:49
I have mine in me backpack along with a whistle and other goodies.
AnswerID: 471228

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:44

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:44
Thanks Rod

I think a grab bag like Mick and you have is ideal way. Just my EPIRB might be a bit big.

FollowupID: 745784

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:18

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:18
Dave,

I have one in the grab bag. Sits between the front seats of the ute in case of emergency. If the vehicle catches fire, the bag is thrown. If you roll, it's there beside you. Has the sat phone, epirb, spare GPS, batteries, knife, matches, small camera, water, two handheld UHF's, sunscreen, spare sunnies, some large plastic garbage bags, paper maps, compass, cigarette lighter or three, first aid kit, some high energy food items, space (foil) blankets and a pad and pencil (for writing the will lol). Quite a few other sundries. Seems to get heavier every year.

AnswerID: 471233

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:42

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:42
Hey Mick

Was that a grab bag or grab suitcase. LOL

I have most of those things in my centre console just not in a bag.

What sort of bag is it. And do you use those items in the bag on a semi regular basis. Sometimes the problems with emergency gear is it can go off- or flat etc.

My EPIRB is a standard GME one - so might be a bit big for a grab bag - 200x80x120 approx.

Might some of those items be reduntant with an EPIRB - if you popped an EPIRB you will be found pretty quick. Just trying to consider how to keep a grab bag light.

I have one of those fold down water proof bags - might be the ideal grab bag.

Thanks for that advice - a grab bag would be essential for some remote travel.

FollowupID: 745783

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 06:41

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 06:41
It's not that big a bag mate. Small backpack and it squeezes between the seats on top of that plastic box that's mounted to the back wall. Concept came about during the first of my off track expeditions. If the car caught fire, what would I need? I also leave one of those ten litre water containers from the supermarket just inside the pod so it's the first thing you can get to and remove in such a situation as a fire. Passengers are always drilled on what to grab first and exit the vehicle with.

FollowupID: 745797

Reply By: Member - Josh- Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:25

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:25
We had ours in the side pocket of the drivers side door in our 80 series. I could easily reach it in an accident or grab it as I exited the vehicle in a fire. I could set it off without removing it from the door if I had to. It is no use if you can't reach it in an emergency. We saw one cable tied to cargo barrier behind all the gear in the back, only way to access it was to unload everything, totally pointless. Think of different scenarios of where you put it. Can it be reached easy in a fire, roll over, head on, going for a walk. Remember in a roll over a grab bag could end up at the back of the car.

Josh
AnswerID: 471237

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:32

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:32
Hi Josh

I totally agree with what you say. It must be accessible for those emergency situations. For me a grab bag would stay with the front seats because I have a ute - nowhere else to go.

But in the cab of a ute I am pressed for room already. So my question as to where others have stashed theirs.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 745789

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:48

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:48
As everyone says - in your grab bag (which can be your backpack). Remember to take it in your backpack when going on walks.

AnswerID: 471239

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:57

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 23:57
Yep, I would go along with MH. The good lady wife and I take a small backpack each whenever we leave our vehicle with water and other emergency supplies. We also take a GPS so we can find the vehicle again..lol
An EPIRB can be included in or hung from the backpack.

FollowupID: 745790

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 00:01

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 00:01
Just an afterthought Serendipity, I thought some marine EPIRBs automatically triggered if turned upside down or immersed in water but I could be wrong as has been the case in the past.....lol

FollowupID: 745791

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 05:40

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 05:40
Serendipity,

I keep mine in the centre console of the vehicle.
AnswerID: 471246

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 06:22

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 06:22
Serendipity
We used to always carry one, before they went Digital,
Now we have been carrying a sat phone, for remote travel

We kept the EPIRB between the seats

AnswerID: 471248

Reply By: IronMan - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 08:21

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 08:21
Sorry if I am barking up the wrong tree, or if technology has outpaced my knowledge, but marine EPIRBs used to almost need water to transmit correctly, something about using the surface of the water as a signal reflector? Am I right or barking mad?

I know you can get EPIRBs for Outback travel which do not need to be floating. A great idea for remote travellers, too.
AnswerID: 471253

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 15:55

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 15:55
Yes, the old epirbs worked better in a bucket of water(or an ocean). I have no idea if the digital ones are similar.

Does the OP have an old epirb or a new epirb? If it is old, it will transmit on a mhz which is no longer monitored by AUSSAR. If it is new (digital) then it should be registered to the boat by law, so you'd need to get it deregistered with AMSA if that is possible. I took mine on a desert trip and just rang and told them - they seemed fine with that.
Personally I'd sell it with the boat and get a proper personal terestrial epirb - you'll be much more likely to carry the bloody thing than a marine epirb when off on walks etc.
FollowupID: 745866

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 21:19

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 21:19
Hi GBC

The EPIRB is one of the new ones - digital - and it is registered to the boat but that is easy to change. They cost around $400 so a bit too much to give away with the boat.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 746028

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:14

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:14
"Does anyone else use an EPIRB in their camper and if you do where do you keep it. "

It is a problem isn't it. Firstly we do not tow but if we did I would not put it in the trailer etc. Mainly because it would be too easy to forget it if you had to leave the trailer behind when you wanted to go a bit further off road and trailers would not be allowed. Like some tracks up in the Vic Alps.

We have our sat phone (no EPIRB) right next to the first aid kit and fire extinguisher on a "bed extension" just behind the passengers seat. The bed extension is a sheet of carpeted wood extending forward, on a steel frame, from the top of our drawer system to just behind the drivers and passengers seats. This gives us a full double bed sized flat area in the back of the car.

AnswerID: 471296

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:17

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:17
I just read what you meant by "camper".

I would put it in the front or the car. Somewhere maybe in a grab bag that you can grab hold of easily and quickly. Our three emergency things come of with a flick of the wrist and are therefore very easy to extract in a hurry.

FollowupID: 745870

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 22:42

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 22:42
Ours being the new generation and only the size of a cigarette packet lives in the glove box of whatever vehicle we are using that trip , slips into day pack when walking remote , main thing is to keep up /renew registration details and letting your registered contacts know if and when you are going to an area that an epirb is your only form of contact in the case of emergency ,,,, this does not include having a flat tire in the carpark of your nearest woolies shoping centre!!
AnswerID: 471328

Reply By: Stevesub1 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 08:08

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 08:08
Our ex-boat EPIRB has been re-registered for our Troopy and lives in a backpack along with a heap of other useful stuff behind the drivers seat. As our Troopy is a pop-top camper, the bag is wedged between the seat and wardrobe so it cannot move too far in the event of an incident.

The snatch strap and shackles also live there at the bottom of the heap in their own bag so we have easy access to them as well.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 471338

Reply By: SDG - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:27

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:27
Here is one for you.
My sons teacher is currently using a mobile phone with an EPIRB built in. Her son has designed it (with some sacrifice to some other features on the phone) and there is some testing with a few to make sure all works as it should.

Give it a few years, and one less thing to carry.
AnswerID: 471605