Which 4wd to buy - $25,000 budget

I'm in need of advice and where better to come than here? I'm looking to buy a 4wd to go travelling with, majority of the time will be on the straight and narrow however would like the capacity to do some moderate "off road stuff".

I've got a friend who has told me that I should consider a Landcruiser 100 series, V8 dual fuel around the 2002-04 vintage and I'm quite happy to do so, thought however I'd ask what others thought as part of my research. I must confess, I know stuff all about cars but I can tell you that I am towing a 16ft Jayco Expanda, have 5 kids (so we need 7 seats) and am planning on Travelling from Warrnambool (Sth West Victoria) to Ayers Rock in August next year.

Cheers in advance,

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:27

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:27
With those requirements I wouldn't consider a V8 cruiser on gas - but one without gas is a good choice - they were not approved on gas by Toyota unlike the Patrol 4800 of the same year.

Go for the Patrol in manual it will be more within your budget use the same fuel as the (auto cruiser) and has about 15kw more with a better spread of torque for towing along with a longer wheelbase and lower Centre of gravity.
AnswerID: 471298

Reply By: Joe - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:39

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:39
Well the Cruiser will do the job and be a comfortable ride as well, but when you start looking at what you get for your dollar then you'd be well advised to consider other options as well.

You have already been told about the 4800 Patrol on gas (an excellent choice being tough and powerful, but not as comfortable a ride), but take a look at both the Prado (either the V6 on gas or the diesel) and the Pajero too in similar configurations. You should also think seriously about a Land Rover Discovery 3 in diesel form as they are a startling performer.

The Prado is sort of soft and comfortable, but expensive.

The Pajero has much better road handling and great performance, but it is a bit noisier.

The Disco has LOTS of admirers, but you'll find people (generally who haven't owned one) talking about poor build quality and unreliability. These are old stories, but it is true that there are far fewer Landy mechanics out there than Toyota, Nissan and Mitsubishi.

The Cruiser and Patrol are bigger vehicles, but if your kids are young then perhaps the others might work well too. If nothing else it gives you more options.
AnswerID: 471300

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 19:09

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 19:09
I don't think there are build quality or reliability issues with the Disco 3's? Earlier models maybe. Awesome car in my opinion. I've been out on trips with quite a few and no owner has whinged about them to me, quite the opposite in fact. Mike
FollowupID: 745886

Reply By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 18:47

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 18:47
You havnt really stated wether you definately want petrol or diesel ?? Presuming petrol it will obviously be alot dearer in the fuel department when towing especially, 5 kids I think you will want the cruiser or patrol based on room, The prado range will get you a 03/04 GXL petrol 120 series, so its wider inside especially across the back seat for the kids, depending on size of your kids I certainly wouldnt want to be sitting in some of those rear seats (very rear dicki seats) for too long. They have plenty of power and are very reliable, and make good conversion to gas (heaps running on LPG) and better set up then the 95 series. If you wanted diesel in the prado you will get a 01/02 95 series or a high klms 03/04 120, I dont think you would be happy with it, in regards to pulling power. The mitsi pajero in the 3.2TD are a fantastic motor, great on fuel, great pulling power but not sure you would get one in the price range, dont get the earlier diesel in pajero. Another thing you probably REALLY REALLY need to think of is rear aircon for the 5 kids (duel air/vents in roof) it can be quit hot right up the rear end in any vehicle on even a warm day let alone 40c, last thing you want is a child feeling a bit ill/carsick from been warm up the back. I dont know the specs of the 100 series cruisers in regards to rear aircon ?? The prado's have it in different models, there were some models that had it some didnt and limited edition models, the pajeros only have it in the exceed but I think will be out of your price range ?? Maybe not. Best thing is to get the family, go to car yards to start with and start from there. Best thing with 5 kids in tow the salesman isnt going to want to get in car with you all LOL so you can talk in private, try them all, mitsi paj,patrol,pathfinder,prados, 100 series, terracan (might be too small and dont make anymore) but seriously if you can afford it try for rear aircon......
AnswerID: 471303

Follow Up By: dazren - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 21:00

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 21:00
You would get the last model Terracan for that $$$ in Diesel, it will do all you ae asking for and more, Have a great Reputation, in off road and on road
Check out the forums, hard to find a bad word about them,
PS the later models [ after 2006 ] are more high tech, but not in the same class as far as ability and towing power goes
If i was in your situation , that would be my choice dazren
FollowupID: 745902

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 21:24

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 21:24
Totally agree with you dazren in regards to the terracan, my neighbour across the road from me had one, only got rid of it as he wanted a ute for his dogs so now has a mitsi triton, The only issue Dermott may find is the room for 7 of them may be restricted, and I dont know the specs of the terracan except I think they had a 2.9L T/D ?? but I know my neighbours didnt have rear aircon, not sure of the model range in them, maybe his was a lower spec ?? although I doubt it he always buys top of the range like his GLX/R triton............Maybe not having rwear air will be an issue but I know for sure if I had 5 kids Id be trying my hardest to get it, this prado I have now GXL doesnt have the rear air as my Grande before did and it makes a big difference, but I only have one and with cargo barrier in place (rear dickie seats removed) and perspex on the barrier my air doesnt have to work as hard and I dont have any one sitting in the rear dikis seats yelling to turn the aircon up, not yet anyway lol,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
FollowupID: 745912

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 21:43

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 21:43
as said above
for $25000 you will get an 03-04 pajero diesel exceed.
plenty of power reliable
duel aircon.
wont even notice the expanda on the back
AnswerID: 471324

Follow Up By: Dermottj - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 16:08

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 16:08
So in general, is the concensus that LPG/Petrol is not worth it and just go the diesel instead?
FollowupID: 745983

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 17:52

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 17:52
i have a petrol/gas paj and love it
but they only cost around the $15000
FollowupID: 745993

Follow Up By: dazren - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:38
Yeah, don't give up on the Lpg/Petrol, if that is the way you want to go, There is no doubt if you are going to do a Lot of towing, Diesel is the way to go. BUT if you are only towing a few weeks of a year, Lpg/petrol could save you quite a few $$$ both in purchasing a vehicle and the overall running costs

I have a 2011 Colarado Factory fitted Duel/Fuel, Direct Injection, performs better on gas than it does on petrol, and i tow a 2420 Kg Lotus Van
Average 16.6 L/ 100K Not Towing and 24.4 L/ 100 K Towing,
At todays prices in Geelong [Vic ] Lpg 0.54 Ltr. Diesel $1.43 Ltr
That is $8.96 per 100k Not towing. and $13.17 per 100k Towing

At a guess i would say that the Pajero would do around 10 ltr/ 100k not towing
and around 15 ltr / 100k Towing your van
That is $14.30 per 100 k Not towing, and $21.45 per 100 k Towing

So think about it, then make up your own mind, this is my opinion only. wether LPG, dIESEL, OR Petrol, we all have our own opinions, and buy what we feel suits us,, Good Luck dazren
P.S. if you go LPG make sure it is a Injected Gas system. [ no power loss ]
FollowupID: 746018

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 21:56

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 21:56
the thing about lpg is you may have problems
i got injected gas fitted but heaps of problems with injectors and computer.
i cant give you proper figures towing but without towing on lpg 16ltr/100ks
problem with towing at the moment 32.8ltr /100 ks
waiting for some new injectors next week
FollowupID: 746032

Follow Up By: dazren - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:48

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:48
What type of vehicle, what brand of gas system, who fitted it, and what wieght is the van your towing ??? must be a big set-up as my mate who we travel a lot with has a 2005 V8 Dual/Fuel Cruiser and gets around 28-30 L/100 towiing 3 tonne, He has done 120000 k so far no problems. Over the last 12 years i have driven in excess of 1 million Klm's on Dual fuel cars at work and private and never had any injector problems at all, one of the reasons i did not go diesel this time around was al the reports on the many forums re injector problems with faulty fuel in these new C.R.D. Engines
Maybe, you just got a faulty batch of injectors, it can happen with any make or modell whether, Dieseil, Petrol, or Lpg. good luck with your new set dazren
FollowupID: 746108

Follow Up By: zappa - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:49

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:49
Still consider the Lpg/Petrol configeration on maybe a 4.5ltr 100series and I think the Sahara and VX models had rear air.
FollowupID: 746115

Follow Up By: zappa - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:52

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:52
Sorry I have to agree with Dazren about the dirty diesel in Australia. It'll cost you in maintenence in the end with a diesel.
FollowupID: 746117

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 14:25

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 14:25
We bought a 2003 Prado diesel with 125 K on the clock for $23 so they are around under $25. Not quite as cheap to run as the old 80 series on gas but still ok.

AnswerID: 471361

Reply By: Dermottj - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:43

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:43
I'm really loving the advice here and it's helping me narrow down the choices to either a Pajero Exceed or a Prado Grande, both around the 2004 mark. What I'm really now hoping to clarify is how are either going to tow (economy wise is my biggest criteria here) and should I just go the diesel models, or have a petrol/LPG set up?

I assume both vehicles will be pretty comfortable and the prices seem similar, more thoughts or experiences, advice would be greatly appreciated!
AnswerID: 471377

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:04

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:04
I would also consider the FZJ 105 series landcruiser with the 6 cyl petrol on gas.
The 1FZ FE engine has long been a proven performer on LPG
Its big ,its cheap and the money you save will buy a lot of petrol and leave you some for accessories.
They go for around $20K for a decent one and many are already running on gas.
AnswerID: 471380

Follow Up By: Dermottj - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:47

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:47
I've no doubts about the cruisers at all however I'm definitely leaning toward air con in the rear of the car which the Grande and he Exceed both appear to offer, I may be wrong though (keeping 5 kids cool makes a fair bit of sense to enable decent kms to be done)
FollowupID: 746006

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 00:27

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 00:27
That limits you to a petrol Grande or a diesel Exceed in that price range.

If your going to Uluru in August I dont think it will be horribly hot.
It says here the mean max temp for August is 22.6
Site Link
Kids sometimes have a preference for windows down.
Coming from Victoria you should have bitumen all the way
I also doubt any aircon will keep it chilly in a car with 7 bodies.
Give them all a spray bottle with water and lots of cool drinking water
FollowupID: 746040

Reply By: Bobba - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:08

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:08
Hi John,

We have a 90 Series Prado and we fitted LPG to that before travelling 25000km towing our Trak Shak. We didn't do the desert thing but we certainly did get off the highway and only once did we come across a town that sells LPG to find it was out. Not to worry though because we still had 60 litres of petrol in the Prado plus some jerry cans on the trailer.

We haven't had an ounce of trouble in over 130,000km now and our next vehicle will be a 120 Series Prado, 4.0L petrol on LPG. With that set-up you'll have around 90L of petrol in addition to your LPG tank so for most touring that's plenty. For us (not retired still working) being back at work in town we enjoy cheap motoring - on the trip there were places where LPG was that expensive it didn't really save us but being back home it certainly does.

For $25000 you could certainly get a 120 Series Prado but it would be the first series with either 5 speed manual or 4 speed automatic. The update has 6 speed manual and 5 speed auto. The 4.0L Petrol is certainly strong enough with power and torque not far off the big 4.8L Patrols and they are great to drive with tight turning circles, quietness, comfort, great braking, great air con and heating...just great all-rounders.

Forgot to mention we have the Grande with rear air con.

Mark.
AnswerID: 471481

Reply By: Bernie C - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 23:33

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 23:33
Why not look at a late diesel turbo 80 series Cruiser, bulletproof without the electronic crap and you don't need an expert to fix it.
AnswerID: 472016