Car black box/ accident recorder.

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 17:53
ThreadID: 90382 Views:3885 Replies:13 FollowUps:27
Is anyone using one of those black boxes that were shown on TV last night and are they a useful addition to the other gadgets in the car.

I think the wife is looking at buying one for a christmas present.

She has had me looking for them on ebay. LOL

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:21

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:21
I just had an interesting discussion with a police officer regarding these black box cameras.

They said that people can have them in their car/truck whatever, but they cannot be use in a court,,,, unless the person being filmed gives their permission to be filmed.

In reality who would give permission if they had done something wrong. For example caused a crash.

You've got to wonder whether it's worth buying one.

If the police officer is right, and I believe they are, then although the truckies can show people doing something wrong, the film can't be used if the person does not give their permission.

AnswerID: 471373

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:36

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:36
Just another example of the crazy world we live in.
I've screwed up, but i wont give you permission to use it against me.
Fair dinkum what a crook.

FollowupID: 745997

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:42

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:42
Must remember that one next time a speed camera flashes me!!!!
FollowupID: 745999

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:48

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:48
Does that mean that I can go into a shop and pinch some gear, they have CCTV footage of it, Sorry guys, you can't use that. Didn't happen.
FollowupID: 746001

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:48

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 18:48
Fantastic reply Craig F,you certainly have a point...
FollowupID: 746002

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:50

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:50
Hi Boo Boo

I find it hard to believe that what the Police officer told you is true. Anyone can take any photo of general public in public spaces. If a mum was on the side of the road taking a photo of the building on the other side and happens to capture your accident, it is allowed. Speed camaras, allowed. On board car camara, allowed, surely?
CJ
FollowupID: 746007

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:04

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:04
Yeah, that can't be right. video of crimes being committed are used in court every day.
FollowupID: 746008

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:07

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:07
CCTV footage, speed cameras, police on board cameras and the like are allowed by legislation, regulation etc.

Private cameras and those I am looking at are not.

Based on what I've been told it's probably correct.

I'm like the rest of the herd, I don't know the ins and outs of the law, but I do know some laws do seem a bit unusual.

FollowupID: 746010

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:12

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:12
"CCTV footage, speed cameras, police on board cameras and the like are allowed by legislation, regulation etc.

Private cameras and those I am looking at are not. "

Just asking, What's the difference between CCTV or in shop cameras and an in-car camera system?

Hmmm
FollowupID: 746012

Follow Up By: howesy - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:16

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:16
Recordings made without a persons knowledge or permission can be used in court but only as a defence, it can not be used to prosecute someone and will be declared inadmissable.
FollowupID: 746013

Follow Up By: howesy - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:19

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:19
as far as the shop scenario goes the shop will have displayed at their entry points signs advising that you will be under video surveilance and you accept this (give your permission) when you enter the store
FollowupID: 746014

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:26

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:26
Your right BooBoo the black box can not be used in court, but you can show it to the police at time of the incedent and let him make up his mind who to book. It is a great camera as well. I have one from ebay for only $79.00 it will show how fast you were going at the time of the incedent as well. Your insurance company can and will use it in court.

FollowupID: 746015

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:30

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:30
Boo Boo, you are correct and have the correct advice in so far as" Private cameras and those I am looking at are not"

A few years ago, I brought to attention on here, about randon vandalism to bush camps and private property in the Pilliga scrub.

We set up fairly expensive movement cameras, at our property up at Coonabarabran, after many break ins and vandalism incidents. Only recently, bingo....success....we caught the mongrels on camera going about their fun???.
Result....after lengthy police investigations and procedures, we have had them all, as identified on the images taken in the act, by our camera, either charged or cautioned.

We were required to provide evidence of the type, model, capabilities etc of the camera, before they even began their investigations, even though the images showed them who the mongrels concerned were. They knew who they were dealing with, but had to jump through many hoops, before they could even investigate the events. It is the law they have to deal with every day, gone crazy.

Now we are many 0000$'s of $$$'s out of pocket, with no compensation, simply for the peace of mind in knowing that the local Police know who the culprits were, justy because they were all "just" under 18.

I just want to find out where they live, then let the law take it's fair and just course on my terms.

Just be careful using your cameras. It just not be worth your while :-(((

My day will come :-)

Fred
FollowupID: 746016

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:38
I will go one further, and post one of the photos, of these mongrels, destroying our bush camp, and 2 caravans, costing us several thousand bucks to restore.Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 746019

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:38
I spoke to the police officer and they did mention that they would have a look at a video to help determine what happened, but yeh they can't use it in court.

FollowupID: 746020

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:40

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:40
Then there is criminal vs civil court. The images may be of relevance if you are seeking, or defending, compensation in civil court. I don't know but just a thought. I bet an insurance company would find a way to use them in civil action if it suited their case.
FollowupID: 746021

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:44

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:44
Fred

Yours is a classic example of why it might be a good idea to allow these video's
to be used in court.

I really feel for you Fred those blokes should be made to pay damages and jailed.

FollowupID: 746022

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:47

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:47
Bill, that is an option suggested to us by the local law. They are as outraged as us, as this footage has cleared up a lot of outstanding local crime, but no compo to the victims, unless you have lots of $$$'s to feed to lawyers. Great system, aye. And these pricks are walking the streets out there.

Fred.
FollowupID: 746023

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:56

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 20:56
Boo Boo, the events didn't even go to court, because these a!!!!!!!holes were just under 18.

Even so, the images would have been in admissable, so we were advised. All they did was to give the local law a lead on who to "speak" to in regards to certain events. And then they had to rely on admissions. Fair dinkum. Has this country gone mad. I did my time in a suit of blue, but obviously in a far different era. If you are a victim today, of criminal acts, you will be the first person interrogated. I kid you not.

Fred.
FollowupID: 746026

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 23:56

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 23:56
I tink you will find people only have a right to privacy when in a position to be able to expect it

someone driving on a public road has no expectation of privacy i relly do think thats a mate of a mate story
FollowupID: 746038

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:18

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:18
Several years ago i was investigating the use of cameras for work. I was told at the time that for it to be admissible in court depended on the format of the recording. Any format that compressed or removed frames for the sake of file size would be inadmissible. The recording had to in full, untouched, to be used. Compression actually removes part of the image and could be argued that evidence that could proof the accused innocence has been removed.

FollowupID: 746262

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:19

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:19
I forgot to add, that most of these cheap cameras all compress the images to some degree to fit them into the available storage.

FollowupID: 746263

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:21

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 19:21
I have been using a cheapie one ($82) for a while BooBoo.

More or less as a practical test to see if they are really useful.

Mine is fitted with a 16gb SD card and it will record 4 hours onto the card in segments which overright each other so as you always have the last 4 hours.

The device claims to record up to 1200 X 720 pixels but the underlying camera doesn't have the resolution to read a number plate of a car immediatly in front of you.

This isn't necessarily a big problem as it has proved good enough for me (with persistence) to track someone down and has been well worth the dollars.

Generally it has been useful for 4wding as well, a couple of days ago I put up a post about issues with liability in taking some people across a creek , and I played it back before posting to get facts correct , and while noisy I can clearly hear myself telling others to be careful and it also recorded their radio reply - didn't mention that at the time.

The device begins recording whenever the igintion goes on , and mine is called a HD DVR

For real use of the video though I would recommend and will be getting a true HD (1920X1080) version.

AnswerID: 471382

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 07:17

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 07:17
The better reolution camera's are around $200.

My wife and I discussed it again last night and still think they are a good idea.

And as the police officer said they will look at them at the scene to get an idea of what happened.

They also said they would take a very close look if it was a fatality.

Thanks for your information on this subject.

FollowupID: 746046

Reply By: joe99 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 08:02

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 08:02
Hypothetical question.

Suppose you driving with one of these devices recording and make a mistake which results in an accident.

Can the other driver (or the police) demand that you hand over the camera?

Or under these circumstances would you quickly remove and conceal the camera before it gets noticed?

joe99

AnswerID: 471409

Follow Up By: Honky - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 09:46

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 09:46
I suppose in this case as it was your camera you gave permission to film.
"Done like a sunday dinner"

Honky
FollowupID: 746057

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 09:00

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 09:00
Regardless of what is admsissable as evidence in what court and under what situations.

In many situations an irrefutable record of what went on can form that basis for a further investigation.
The video then is used as a pointer and leverage for further investigation and gathering of hard evidence.

As for vehicle accidents.
The insurance companies are not bound by the laws of evidence, untill such times as the case comes to court.
The vast majority of insurance cases never come to court.

If there is a dispute over a traffic, accident and it becomes a case of "he says she says", then someone comes up with ANY decent evidence, that is a game changer.

Almost 12 months ago today, I got whacked by a woman in a subaru, trying to overtake me, while I was doing a perfectly legal U turn.
Fortunately I had the presence of mind to take a few photograps.
The other side were being obstructive,( like it took 9 months) till my insurance company handed over the photograps, which proved that my account was accurate......the other side immediately caved........to say my insurance company was pleased with me is an underestatement.
I got my $800 excess back.

As far as these video devices.
Resolution is everything, particularly when a camera is not specificaly focused on one particlar thing.
I doubt that some of these products will have good resolution or for that matter light performance.
You can go the full bottle on this reasonably easily.
there are full blown 4 channel surveylance recorders designed to run on 12 volts, they will take up to 4 cameras, so you wire up your reversing cameras too.

not only would they be good for a traffic situation, but they would give a pretty decent level of surveylance at the boat ramp or the like....they can be run 24/7 if needed.

but remember, any evidence is valuable where otherwise there would be none.

AnswerID: 471416

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 09:07

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 09:07
OH if you think you are going to read number plates ( particularly to an evidencial level) with a camera not specificaly set up to do so, you are dreaming.

The reading of number plates has been the holy grail of CCTV for a very long time, and it has only recently become viable at any level.

This is why almost all enforcement is done with still triggered cameras, they can shoot and store far higher resolution images than is practical for video.

FollowupID: 746054

Reply By: Meggs - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:08

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:08
I never saw the program but I have wondered ho long it would take to have technology introduces so the police can just plug into a port on the vehicle and get the speeds and GPS position and issue a fine later like speed cameras. Or taking it a bit further wirelessly transmitting it like happens now with the tokens on toll ways.
The technology it available as the information can be read off the engine management system and all that is needed is a GPS. This is now done with AIS but is not stored.
I believe trucking companies use this technology to monitor drivers performance.
The mind boggles with what can happen with technology.
AnswerID: 471422

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 12:13

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 12:13
The cameras used in trucks, that I'm familiar with, record both in front, and in-cab vision. While they are recording most of the time, they only download footage when a "incident" occurs, such as an accident, hitting a bad bump or heavy braking. The previous 10 seconds, and next few seconds, are uploaded to satellite, for perusal by "big brother"

Along with GPS satellite tracking, "they" know exactly where these "incidents" occur. If you're doing the right thing, then got nothing to worry about. Just don't pick your nose, beforehand LOL.

There are a number of "woo-boys" along the Landsborough H'way, near Kynuna, and these often arc up the camera, to record an "incident", even at a steady 90 clicks.

FollowupID: 746177

Reply By: wizzer73 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 14:57

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 14:57
I didn't see the program but do they have a forward and reverse looking camera? Or do you just mount it anywhere you want.
Might be better to get recorded vision of whats happening behind you like tailgaters and such?

Just a thought

wizzer
AnswerID: 471446

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 18:08

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 18:08
Some have seen on ebay do have a forward and rear view camera.

FollowupID: 746110

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:55

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:55
Although my original question was "has anyone used these cameras" it appears that the legality of them has arouse interest to say the least.

I have just received a call from the police officer and they say it is illegal to have this type of camera in any vehicle.

I forget the Act but it is Section 8 of the Surveillance Act or similar.

Now just remember don't shoot the messenger.
AnswerID: 471462

Follow Up By: Meggs - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:20

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:20
I been through getting this information and it is legal provided you put signs up so people know they are being filmed. All states are different and what I said I believe from my information is NSW. Now my information is about video surveillance from stationary buildings to inform the public but who is the public does and intruder get classed as the public?

I've never seen signs in Woolies, Big W, K mart, Bunnings and all the rest who have cameras so it is not a well policed law.

As for using cameras in court there are only special cameras that can be used and one is a Nikon as they have a built in algorithm that can detect if one pixel has been altered and the defence has to have these photo's as well.

What I believe happens is just bluff by the police and the guilty just end up putting up their hands.
FollowupID: 746133

Reply By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 18:12

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 18:12
hi booboo
i didnt see the tv show but recently found this advert and website for a security camera system
what you use for would be upto the buyer but the ad reads wel
l----- no connections with the company
check it out on
www.outdoorcameras.com.au
cheers barry
AnswerID: 471464

Reply By: landseka - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:22

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:22
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 471490

Reply By: Nargun51 - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 13:00

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 13:00
In a civil matter, the burden of proof is lesser than a criminal matter; the balance of probabilities versus beyond all reasonable doubt.

What may be sufficient proof for a civil matter may not meet the more exacting proof of a criminal matter.

In a civil matter, “this is some footage filmed from my inboard camera“ becomes a good bluff or negotiation piece to get an out of Court settlement and even if it ends in Court, burden of proof is lesser and therefore may be used to “prove” the case

In a Criminal matter, all the evidence must be tested to a totally different level.
“How easy is to change the date stamp on the recording? Was this camera fixed to your car at the time of the alleged offence? Can it be moved between cars? Was the footage filmed from your car? What proof do you have of this? Whilst the image shows the car, how many white Camry’s exist? We accept that this was the accused’s car, what proof do you have that this was driven by the accused at the time?

The cops may use the footage to investigate further, but whether it is used in Court is an entirely different matter.
AnswerID: 471554

Reply By: rainbowprof - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 14:21

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 14:21
What do you think of this car tracker?

http://www.chinavasion.com/product_info.php/pName/gps-car-tracker/

Takes pictures, records sound, tracks vehicle with option to disable vehicle if desired. Looks good to prevent theft or find one's vehicle again.

Do you think it'll work okay in Australia? Make sure the SIM card is compatible (only 2G, 2.5G, 2.75G SIM cards work)
AnswerID: 471559

Reply By: SDG - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:15

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:15
Police have been using these forms of cameras for years. Even made tv shows with them in use. Every time a flashing red and blue light is turned on, so is the camera. Or so I have been told by some officers I know.

I have been told by a solictor it is illegal to film another without their knowledge, hence warning signs in shops, houses etc. If you where filming something else, and you inadvertantly caught another thing, that is allowed. For example filming your kid at a football match and a fight breaks out which can be caught on the same vision by moving. (No stopping and starting of recording)
By this arguement, you could state that you were filming your trip to work, school, holidays, etc. If an accident occurs, it was only taped by accident.
AnswerID: 471603

Reply By: Rob N6 - Monday, Dec 05, 2011 at 05:55

Monday, Dec 05, 2011 at 05:55
That was me they interviewed,.... The Prado driver in Sydney (not the Falcon guy in Newcastle) I took them for a drive and showed how it recorded and downloaded.

I have been using a 'blackbox' for around 18 months. It all started when I went looking for something to record some of the interesting trials we were driving.
I started with one of the Ebay $50- ones, and although they do a good job or recording the detail is just not there, so the one I have now is a DR400G from
Dashcam These are sensational (no connection in any way) I achieve around 6 hours of High Deffinition video before it records over itself.

I treat this exactly the same way I treat my vehicle insurance. It is set up, I don't touch it..... It is just there in case I ever need it. I have never had the need to use it to-date, and hope I never do.

Now in relation to legalities....... I am an ex Police Officer..... and I can assure you that in the case where there are differing versions of an event, a court may or may not accept this as evidence (The rules of evidence are very strict), but I know that the Police and possibly the insurance company would be very keen to see irrefutable proof of exactly what happened...... I will continue to use mine.
AnswerID: 471722