some people are just @#$%'s , i bought a lemon

Submitted: Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:16
ThreadID: 9039 Views:2433 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
g'day all , just havin a whinn
i just bought a Fj45 tray back,went to have a look at it , yeah it looked ok few rust spots,thats expected,im cool with that ,and it gives me somethink to do on her to give me and the girl some bonding time right :).
well he told me it was compression tested at 150psi, tells me the motors been great, use's no oil ,well i think cool ,but still im gonna do a test b4 i pay up ,(as you would)came up 140psi ,and it wasbleepdown with rain as i was doing the com/test, did 2 pots and thought what the f#$% im getting soaked , so i say 140pis is still pretty good, do a quick look over for any other probs i may have missed, had to CB's in her 'UHF & AM sets' nether hooked up, should have figured they were probably rooted , but the guy seemed so honest, you know young father kid or 2 and a mrs, that seemed a little shy , (probably new about it and didnt want to show her face,dont blame her with a scamming boyfriend).
ok all seems fine so far so i pay up , and where on our way, (they left at the same time ,said they had a xmass party) well i get to the first corner and the steering sucks big time. think to my self ok steering needs some work thats cool as the motor is good so im happy, (pain in the ass to have to fix a motor ,you know pull the thing out then strip it down and so on, i do if enough work on motors with out having the need to fix mine as well. but as he said the motors great) and it looked and sounded pretty good to. ok moving on, and the rain comes down even heavier, and wow what a bonus my landy comes with its own swimming pool, god what more i think to my self ,so i stop for fuel, fill her up and check the oil , and away i go, 200klm's later and im home, put her in the shed, and so keen i get stuck into her, riped the roof off ,droped the wind screen,resealed it all, water tight riper:), hook the CB's up there duds ;( ,feeling riped off as i dont like paying for bleep thats suppost to b working. check the engine oil and WTF the dip sticks dry ?? and took 5lt to refill (200klm = 5lt oil NOT GOOD and feeling prettybleepoff).
Now when i bought her ,he sold it with rego (2months) but i had to get the safety/cert, im cool with this as i can still dive it while i do the work needed to b done,(and works well if he bull bleep me its a no no to sell a regoed car with no safety in QLD) so i ring the guy and say that socalled great engine sucks matey, he say theres nothing wrong with it , cut a longer story short , we argued. i said we can do this the easy way " you give me a $100 for the engine gaskit kit , i'll do the work and we call it even, he starts mouthing off , lol so i say then we can do it the hard way ill ring theRTA and tell them you sold me a registed car with no safety and signed a transfer form :)(all of which he did"and gave me a few ace's up my sleave,in case some think like this happens) and you cop a $375 fine for doing it , he thought i was bull bleep ting, WRONG, and said he was canceling the rego , i said WONG i got the number plates so its not possible hehehe only way to do it is to lie and sign a stat/dec ,which, i'd love him to do that becomes frord :), any way i win RTA says with what i got they'll hit him with the $375 fine no probs (lol helps having a mate working there lol),
its so good to get a scammer back , chock one up for the good guys ROFL,
well its been 2 days and if just about fixed her up,riped 8meters of non used old crapy wire out off it lol go figure,(no bleep must have been owned by the bodgie brother at one time lol) ,well just the idler rebuild kit (coming tomorrow,toyota wanted $350 for it , i got it for $100 from a mate at the parts shop) and a few cosmetic spots to cean up ,, i've rewired most of the old girl, managed to get the UHF working using some parts from the other, and the motor will ,just have to wait till i get the time and money to give it a rebuild ,or transplant.but that jap carby sure sucks the fuel down,,gonna do a little work on that ,change it to a holdon single barriel, which will use a 5th of what the jap one does and still retain the power, bet a few ppl out there didnt know about that upgrade, just need the right holden carby
any way theres a movie on and i feel so much better now lol
thanks for listening guys and gals
rons happy now, but im guessing the other guys a little sorry he didnt fork up the $100 lol
teach him u shouldnt bull bleep when selling and if you do make sure u got your self covered lol

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:49

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:49
Is there any reason you just didnt wait until it wasnt raining and getting dark? 200klms doesnt seem that far now does it?

You found out the steering was hard after you paid, you found out that the thing was worse than the Kirsk, you didnt test drive it at all??

and have you run a compression test on the other cyls since?
AnswerID: 39704

Follow Up By: ron1 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 00:28

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 00:28
yes i knew about the steering and pretty sure i did say i was cool with that and the steering i said was f@#$ed not hard loose as all bleep , nothing a few bearings wont fix? also i dont recall saying it was getting dark, ??it was morning and as sunday was the only day i had spare thats the day i went. 200klm may not be far to you but with 2 young ones in the car getting grumpy, its a long drive and no i couldnt leave them at home and as for the rain well take that up with the man upstairs ,?? and yes all compression is at 140psi, , mate the guy bull bleep ed to me,look me straight in the face as the rain came down i said stuff getting soaked im gonna take your word 4 it, his reply was "im telling you the engines in great nick" ,no umming or aring about it he scammed me ,no way he couldnt have known about it ,told me his old man does all he's mechanical work , so a little hard to beleae he wasnt aware of it,, i cant stand a bull bleep er, he could have saved him self $275!! ,i like to beleave that there are still people that you can trust , my down fall i guess ,
if had had of told me that the engine used oil and then i'd be cool with that but when you need to lie ,you deserve what you get,
do you lie to people when you sell bleep ????? ,I dont work my ass off to make money to give away , i expect to be told the truth when buying, and want take any less, and revenge is sweet, and im big enough and ugly enough to give as good back as what i get , if it turns ugly
FollowupID: 257374

Follow Up By: ron1 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 00:50

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 00:50
ps .probably my poor grammer that made it hard for you to under stand , and was a saturday not sunday when i picked it up
and as i said , i got most of the work done now ,so im happy and he'll learn a lesson that its better to be truthfull and lose a sale then lie to some one that knows the laws and become a pain in your back pocket , i got taken for a ride ,and was my fault , i should have known better, but feels sweeter knowing not all the money i paid for it will be going into his pocket this will be one story he wont be sitting around with his mates laughing about
cheers bigears
FollowupID: 257375

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:12

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:12
Sounds like you need to put a holden v8 under that holden carbi :-)
That or a falcon 6 or a val 265....list is endless of conversions that can be done...
Andrewwheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 39721

Follow Up By: ron1 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 10:34

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 10:34
sounds like a good idea matey only lacking the $$ at the moment ,but who knows whats around the corner :)
and i'd probably go a 308, not sure how it would go with the gearing ratio, but worth a think ay
cheers mike
FollowupID: 257395

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 14:07

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 14:07
sorry have to ask
who is worse the guy who breaks the law or the guy who knowingly lets him break it only then to use it agianst him for his own ends,were you scamed maybe but , maybe if you looked harder it would not have happened, if i were you i would be nervice that the guy suddenly does not wake up to the fact that your asking for $100 or you will dob him in might be considered black mail ? before you get all huffy i am not saying that you set out to blackmail him just that it might appear that way ? anyway i hope nothing else goes wrong with your toy best of luck with the repairs
regards Bruce
AnswerID: 39736

Follow Up By: ron1 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 17:27

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 17:27
firstly bruce he new it was against the law to sell with out a safety, i know this because i told him when i first called about it,as i asked if it had a safety.he said no but ill leave it on and i get the safety, i was cool with that.and yes your right maybe i should have looked harder , but then i shouldnt have to not trust in someones word either,and i never said give me $100 or ill dob him in, asked him to do the right thing i and put some money towards the gaskets for the motor (as motor was not to standed as agreed on when payment was made) he mouthed off , broke the agreement we had agreed on, so i have no OB to stick to the agreement either, so dont see wheere the black mail is ?? and not nervice at all,thanks for your conserns though.
mate as i said if u lie just to make a sale, then you deserve what you get! a deal is a deal , you cant say have a beer with me tell me a pack of lies then expect me to think your a genuin guy ?? and ill be f#$%ed if im gonna sit back and let him get away with it. its not like i got the car for free, i,ve stated the reasons way i didnt look a bit harder and it was blowing no smoke, and the engine was clean, so if you got some way of telling that an engine uses more then an exceptible amount of oil , just by looking at it ,please feel free to let me know ?
and the repares are coming along fine
cheers bruce
happy to hear your thoughts hope i cleared a little up for ya ,
ps if it happen to you and lets say(for argument sake), you gave the guy the benifit of the dout, would you have just coped it sweet?
i was brought up in the country and was tought not to let any one walk over you, ,things like this stuff it for the honest guy , cuase once bitten twice shy
FollowupID: 257415

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 20:31

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 20:31
Gday ron
i was always taught that when buying anything believe nothing that cant be proved & trust no one ,even one's self the best way to buy anything is take some with you who does not have an interest & can there for be clouded in judgement or take it to somebody with the same qualifications as just mentioned.
as to the black mail comment iwas not saying that that was the case just that the way you have writen it could appear that way reread the below section which i copied & pasted from your post

i said we can do this the easy way " you give me a $100 for the engine gaskit kit , i'll do the work and we call it even, he starts mouthing off , lol so i say then we can do it the hard way ill ring theRTA and tell them you sold me a registed car with no safety and signed a transfer form :)(all of which he did"and gave me a few ace's up my sleave,in case some think like this happens) and you cop a $375 fine for doing it , he thought i was bull bleep ting,

so thats where it came from
BTW i was not acussing you of doing that just giving you anouther point of view
FollowupID: 257423

Follow Up By: ron1 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:48

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:48
yes bruce i see your point ,but then i never was good with my grammer.
and no i didnt think you were acussing me ??? WERE YOU???(lol just kidding), and yes i agree when buying for your self some times the idea of a nice new toy can cloud your judgement, i did give her a fairly got check over and was happy with the probs i found, how ever ,leaks,and oil usaged are not easy to pick up on when buying,and as i have said the real prob was i bought the 4x4 on the grounds the engine was in a1 condition. i was told one thing and it turned off to be a lie,a lie that theres little chance he didnt know about it, how ever i dont agree that you can trust no one, weather it be buying ,selling or any think else , i have some pretty good mates i'd trust with any thing, and the thought of always think is he or she trying to rip me off ,makes the world what it is today,
if i sell some thing no matter what the prob with it is , i always tell every thing i know about what ever it is, and still have some things laying around here that havent sold , but i sleep easy at night , and now , i wont have some one knocking on my door complaning :)
any way cheers bruce
oh and rekited my idler arm i guess you could call it for lack of the right part name, and she drives like a gem ,no more rocking the steering wheel to keep her straight:) also hooked up a a mechanical oil and temp gauge's, have rewired most of her,sealed all leaks (im hoping have to wait for more rain 2 c), stoped any rust from rusting further untill i can get to them,
ron
FollowupID: 257436

Reply By: old_55 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 14:31

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 14:31
Ron,

I have an FJ55 with a 2f engine and I was wondering what Carby you were planning to use on your girl to improve the fuel economy and do you have to use an adapter plate for the carby?

AnswerID: 39739

Follow Up By: ron1 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:52

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:52
sorry i took so long to get back to ya matey fell free to email me 55 at ronsdream@hotmail.com and i'd be happy to help you out with what i know cheers old 55 ;)
FollowupID: 257438