Pathfinder vs Jackaroo

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 14:33
ThreadID: 90398 Views:3899 Replies:6 FollowUps:6

Related Pages

Hi guys!

Just wondering which will be better out of the 1998-2004 3.3L V6 nissan pathfinder, or the 1998-2004 3.5L V6 holden jackaroo.

i would like to know which is best off road, most reliable, fuel economy figures.

thanks heaps

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 16:38

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 16:38
G'day James, I have responded to your "which is better" posts several times , mainly
in regard to the Jackaroo. Others have put forward their thoughts on your other
comparo's. You will get a far better response by asking Pathy owners for their opinion,
good & bad, on their car...or Jack owners. The chances of finding folk who have owned both is slim. The "which is best question" is then answered by you making
judgement on the info available. I have no opinion on the Pathy & you already have
my thoughts on the Jack. cheers.......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 471453

Follow Up By: James G1 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 16:49

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 16:49
yeh cheers mate for the replies
FollowupID: 746105

Reply By: wizzer73 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 16:59
Jackaroo = better on all your questions
manual = 15L/100km

oh, i do own one so maybe biased.

wizzer
AnswerID: 471457

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:38

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:38
My 98 se 3.5 use to get that fuel fig towing my 4.2m boat at 100ks. Better then 12s touring.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 746128

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:40

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:40
Some interesting reading might be had here. - the two seem not quite in the same class - the Jack has a ladder chassis and maybe a bit better ground clearance (except for the transfer case). My readings suggest the Jack is accepted widely as being robust and reliable (the petrol V6 that is - I had a 99 3.0 TD which was quite robust, but reliability was a headache for many. Can't report on economy.
AnswerID: 471460

Reply By: zappa - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:31

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:31
James,
Owned an 01 Pathfinder some years back and had no trouble with it. From memory fuel economy was around 10lt/100 on highway and 18lt/100 towing a 750kg camper trailer. Good off road through sand.Have also heard good reports on the Jack. If your towing the Pathfinder is only 2tonne whereas I think the Jack is 3tonne. Just look for a good low Klms version of both and take them for a drive, I think they're both good build vehicles.
Regards Zappa
AnswerID: 471470

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:40

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:40
Yes good advice their Zappa, their are both good vehicles. Indivual condition of the vehicle is the deciding factor.
FollowupID: 746129

Reply By: mikehzz - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:47

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 19:47
I had a 98 Pathfinder on lpg for about 350,000 kms and it was still going well when I traded it. The 3.3 averaged about 13 l/100km petrol and 17 l/100 km lpg. A nice car and handy off road. The auto transmission can be a weakness, gets a shudder in it. Mine had that problem for about 200,000 kms and I just lived with it :-)
People speak highly of Jackaroo's almost without exception, Terracans too and they are in the same bracket. I've never actually owned either of them. Cheers.
AnswerID: 471472

Follow Up By: James G1 - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 19:33

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 19:33
Thats excellent fuel economy. i have heard the pathies can be a bit thirsty. my mate owns the 3.0 litre model from '95 and that went well off road however we had trouble getting it from 4wd back to 2wd when we were ready to hit the road :)

i like the jacks because of the size

i dont mind terracans but don't know about their capabilties or reliability being a hyundai.

But yeah if you have info on the terracan that would be great...

FollowupID: 746215

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:50

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:50
Sorry no direct info on Terracan. Just have noticed they get a good comment from people in general. I think they come up short in the mods department for off roading and it seems the crd is the pick.
The 98 Pathfinder was the first with the 3.3 and the last with the high/low gear lever I think. The later ones have a button on the dash. At least it had automatic hubs. I replaced the Pathy with a Jeep Grand diesel (2004) with low kms. It's made in Austria by Mercedes and the finish is noticably better than the US models. It averages 9 l/100kms and has more torque. No problems in 18 months touch wood.....a similar drive to the Pathy, better off road and more creature comforts.
FollowupID: 746232

Follow Up By: 4wd Newbie - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 14:19

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 14:19
I've got an 00 Pathy and I love it.
It's great off road and comfortable on road. I can confirm those L/Kms they are about the same as mine.
Towing a Camper trailer is fine but Not the vehicle I would recommend if you plan on towing anything Bigger, It'll struggle on hills and L/KM will sky rocket.
Mine is only hitting the 200k Km mark so good to hear it has alot more life in it.
As for not getting it out of 4wd. The manual says from 4wd LO stop the vehicle and have lever in "N". For 4wd to Auto or 2wd have the vehicle moving slowy forward. Never had problem changing gears or anything else on the car.
FollowupID: 746282

Reply By: James G1 - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 19:34

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 19:34
Thanks guys
AnswerID: 471577