Birds That seem to be disappearing (Feathered ones Fellas)

Not sure in other states, But its quiet noticable over here on the east coast NSW, that there are a few breeds that where so common, seem to have vanished, The Willie Wag Tail?

Eastern Rosella (The odd one)

Criimson rosella

Wonga Pigeon

Blue Wren

Chalk Eye.

Tom Tit.

Just to name a few, There probably all still there some where but not in the numbers there used to be

Reply By: racinrob - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:28

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:28
Disagree Axle, I live on the edge of a big national park south of Sydney and if anything there seem to be more birds than ever.
Sulphur Crested Cockatoos and Corellas
Rainbow Lorikeets.
King Parrots.
Chalk Eyes.
Magpies and Native Mynahs.
Apostle Birds
etc etc all in big numbers especially since the big fires in the 90's.

rr
AnswerID: 471580

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:40

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:40
G/Day RR, The national Park is probably the reason why, Urban development is constantly pushing wildlife to other areas.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 746216

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:05

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:05
Hi Axle

You'r right about the urban development pushing the wildlife out.
About 1 kilometer from me they are widening a major road. and have cut down a large number of trees. We now have a large increase in the koala population in the back yard. Unfortunately have also seen a couple hit on the road since work began.

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 746225

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:32

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:32
Hi Axle,

Dont know whereabouts on the east coast you are? Here near Canberra - tablelands rather than coast we have plenty of Eastern and Crimson Rosella, blue wrens and the occasional WWTail. Not sure about the others that you mention.

Our property is one of many that is subject to a quarterly bird survey to see what birds are coming back into our revegetation sites.

I'm not much good at identifying birds but Canberra is a good place for bird watchers, even in the suburbs where there are plenty of woodland areas and of course around the lakes for waterbirds.

Val.

AnswerID: 471581

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:44
Hi Val. I guess you don't have Indian Minor birds down there. In the Shellharbour area they have driven most of the smaller birds away to the extent we mainly see Magpies and Starlings in our residential area. I see a very occational Rainbow Lorrikeet in our Grevillia sometimes. Cheers,Bob

FollowupID: 746217

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:46

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:46
Hi Val ,We are on the Central Coast, There is still a few pockets where the bird life is still plentifull, ...but being a long time resident you realise its nothing like it used to be.

FollowupID: 746218

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:18

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:18
Hi Toyocrusa,

Yes we have had our share of Indian Mynas as they spread out from the suburbs. About 3 years ago we joined the Canberra Indian Myna group have a look here. WE built a trap at one of the trap building workshops and caught 30 or 40 of the wrethced things - far more than I realised were hanging around. Since then we have only seen 2 or 3 birds each year.

The Canberra trapping has been quite successful and has reduced the myna population a lot, and has also caught a lot of starlings. It has started up in other places too. Maybe there is a group near you?

Val

FollowupID: 746221

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:54

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:54
As posted below we had a Myna accident
=====================================
I had flocks of these infesting my carport

I accidentally spilt 2 kg of plain white rice in there and forgot to clean it up

sadly these feral pests came and ate the lot ...... I have not seen them since.

Apparently the rice swells in their crop and gut and is fatal to them :-(

ooops !

My mistake
FollowupID: 746231

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:57

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:57
Guys & gals,

This is great!
I hate those birds with a passion. I have seen them throw out baby parrots & take over the nest.
I am relieved to know that others care enough to help our indiginous birds so thank you.

By the way a rat trap with a strawberry works for blackbirds.

Stu
FollowupID: 746242

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:01

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:01
Hi Stu, thought the blackbird was protected ?? these birds are ok, just like digging around in the garden alot and kicking the bark every where !!! I presume we are refering to the same bird ?? Indian Minors I will try and kill every one of them lice infested pests, Was reading a report about them the other day and 2 of these things can bring a crow down while in flight. And Axle is write I reckon in regards the birds in suburbia, We are in Glenmore Park (which is 5 minutes from Penrith) and the only birds we seem to have around here now are Indian Minor's, compared to 14 years ago We have bird bath up the back which I use to see all different breeds feeding from it, but I refuse to put food and water in it to feed those pests. I like the idea of the rice in the reply above, might give that a try. My father inlaw traps them and gasses them with the car exhaust in a plastic bag.....................
FollowupID: 746258

Follow Up By: Lunarite - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:56

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:56
I can assure you that rice is a natural part of a seed eating birds diet and will do them no harm what so ever. I'm sure they are grateful for the free feed too.
FollowupID: 746265

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 11:19

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 11:19
Natural rice is a part of their diet

White rice is polished and dried before sale and is not a natural seed

One day we had flocks of the ferals 2 days later not a one :-)

Like I said "ooops"
FollowupID: 746267

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:48

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:48
G'day Kimba10,

The Blackbird is a feral import and competes with the Speckled thrush (native) by digging around in the leaf litter in our forest also.
Sorry but I just will not accept them on our property & part of our Trust for Nature agreement states that we need to control weeds & pest animals.

Fortunatly we don't have Indian Mynas because they do not like the heavy forest on our property.

Stu
FollowupID: 746272

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:31

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:31
I'm going to get a bag of white rice and two beers. I will drink the beers whilst holding the bag of rice. When I attempt to stand up I will definately spill the rice and that will be a really good excuse. Thanks for the tip Doug. Bob.
lol.
FollowupID: 746277

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 14:30

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 14:30
Gee Stu, glad i'm not a blackperson living near you, You may class me as a feral import also and get rid of me!!!!!!!!
Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 746284

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 20:22

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 20:22
Thats funny Krakka. I am just really passionate about our native wildlife & I will go to great lengths to protect it.
FollowupID: 746310

Follow Up By: Lunarite - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 11:18

Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 11:18
Once again. Rice of any sort will not harm birds.

http://www.snopes.com/critters/crusader/birdrice.asp
FollowupID: 746351

Reply By: Dasherdes - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:54

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:54
We used to have as recently as a month ago, always had blue wrens living in our garden but have not seen any for a few weeks now. During the week, spotted a feral cat hanging around. Need a trap to get rid of the mongrel and hopefully the wrens will return.
AnswerID: 471583

Reply By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:56

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:56
Hi Axle down here its the Indian Minors that are wiping out the smaller birds.

Bushy.
AnswerID: 471584

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:05

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:05
Bushy , Its a similar story in a lot of areas now , They need culling...Lol.

FollowupID: 746220

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:52

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:52
I had flocks of these infesting my carport

I accidentally spilt 2 kg of plain white rice in there and forgot to clean it up

sadly these feral pests came and ate the lot ...... I have not seen them since.

Apparently the rice swells in their crop and gut and is fatal to them :-(

ooops !

My mistake
FollowupID: 746230

Reply By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:36

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:36
Gidday

I'm not a bird expert but over here in Perth we seem to have a few bird issues. Habitat change means we now have galahs and corellas common in parts of the metropolitan area where they were rarely seen when I was a klid while habitat destruction on the fringes of the metro area has raised concern about the black cockatoos whose numbers are declining.

The introduced (from the eastern states) rainbow lorikeet is a major pest as it competes with smaller birds for nest sites and it is now spreading into fruit growing areas on the Darling Scarp. A friend who lived in a riverside suburb only a few ks from the CBD had owls nesting in an old gum opposite her house but one year the the nest was taken over by port lincoln parrots (also known as 28s) which is another species I have read is becoming common in new areas.

Iinteresting you mention the willie wagtail. They became scarce in the metro area about 30 years ago and the widespread spraying for argentine ants was blamed. Since that program was stopped they have made a comeback and they are pretty common. It does your heart good to see a pair flitting around in the garden.

Rocco
AnswerID: 471588

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:05

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:05
Hi Rocco, Thanks for the reply, its interesting to see whats happening on the other side of the country, ..The ol Willie Wag tail used to luv sitting on a horses back plucking out a hair or two for their nest, its ages since there been around our area.

FollowupID: 746224

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:22

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:22
Hi Rocco, we live in the Hills of Perth and have Black Cockatoo's, Galahs, Kookaburras, magpies, Mud Larks, little finches, and also Willie Wagtails, among some of the birds up here, also the 28,s, (also known as Ring Necks in the East) and the very occasional Lorikeet, the 28's and the Lorikeets try to strip our fruit trees but we've put covers over the trees this year.
I always thought the increase in the Galah population here in the South was due to the drought in the Northern and Eastern wheatbelt areas, just my thoughts.
The black Cockatoo's we get up here are the Barnaby's and the Red Tails, but strangely they don't come at the same time, one part of the year we get the Barnaby's and when they move on the Redtails move in.
The other day we had, what looked like, two Pied Butcherbirds, they came in under out patio and sat on the chairs, I think they were after our dog's food, didn't seem concerned at all with us, I was even able to get close enough to take a photo of them.
We are starting to notice the odd crow around our house as well, I believe they are becoming quite the menace down there in the city.
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 746228

Follow Up By: caseh - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 06:41

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 06:41
Greetings.
I spend literally half my life birding in Australia. Mainly the West.
Just a few corrections. The 28 mentioned earlier and the Port Lincoln are not one and the same bird. They are different subspecies.
The 28's habitat is the South West of Western Australia from Perth down to Albany. The Port Lincoln as far North as Port Hedland.

The Barnaby mentioned is the Carnaby. I would doubt you see this bird around Perth. This subspecies is now endangered and hangs around near the Fitzgerald River national park, 2 hours North East of Albany. The white tailed black Cockatoo seen around Perth would be the Baudin black cockatoo.

Keep in mind that the Red tailed black cockatoo has 5 subspecies, all in different parts of Australia..

Australia bird life is very diverse. I love it!

cheers, Case, Tauranga, New Zealand.
FollowupID: 746238

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:33

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:33
Hi caseh, thanks for all that information, it's most interesting. I must admit being quite the novice on the bird species, I only call them the names I've grown up with. I haven't studied bird life as you obviously have. (BTW, the Barnaby was supposed to be the Carnaby, where's the edit button? LOL) I do love watching them and their antics though. I shall call the Black Cockatoos 'White Tail' and Red 'Tails' in the future LOL, what ever they are they are a beautiful bird. As for the 28s, I actually did know that the Port Lincoln Parrot was different to the 28, however, if you say that the 28 is only in the South West of WA, could you tell me the relationship to the 'Ringneck' which I believe is the name for the speices in SA, Once again, it's only what I've grown up with. I would love to have the time to study Flora and Fauna, I find it quite fascinating.
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 746269

Follow Up By: caseh - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:19

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:19
Greetings Dunworkin.
The main species is the Australian ringneck - Barnardius zonarius.
There are a total of 4 subspecies.. The main subspecies in WA is the Port lincoln, scientific name for this subspecies zonarius. You can observe this subspecies as far north as Port Hedland, the Western part of South Australia and the South West of NT.

Than there is the 28 in the South West of WA, race semitorguatus.

Throughout most of NSW the South of Queensland and the Eastern part of South Australia is the race barnardi.

A small area on the Queensland and NT border is the subspecies macgillivrayi.

Don't try to remember all this though. I too use a book.

If members are only the slightest bit interested in birds, may I recommand the Broome Bird observatory. A lovely stay just out of Broome and you pick up stuff along the way as most people there have some interest in birds.

Regards, Case
FollowupID: 746275

Reply By: Gramps - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:23

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:23
Axle,

No problems with Eastern/Crimson Rosellas, Blue Wrens or Willie Wagtails in the far west of Sydney.

AnswerID: 471595

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:35

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:35
Hi Gramps!!!......So what have you got that we haven't...:)))))))

FollowupID: 746226

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:45

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:45
Hahaha must be the pure, fresh Sydney air :)))

Given the housing development in surrounding suburbs (who said there was a decline in the building industry ????? ), we might be in danger of losing some of our feathered friends. Happy to see the bloody plovers go, damn nuisance birds, and I'll continue to cull those rats with wings (Indian Mynahs).

FollowupID: 746240

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 23:06

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 23:06
G'day Al, long time no talk. Spoke to Willie a few months ago though.

We have the Crimsons here too, Willie Wagtails, Blue Wrens along the Victorian SW coast. Shrike Thrush I love to hear, and love to see Land Rails along the road sides, running for cover. Plovers seem to get along with people OK, though I used to hate laying awake hearing their calls early morning well before cow time.

Too many blackbirds, sparrows and starlings though. I have trapped a few sparrows and must get back to that :-) Wish people wouldn't feed sea gulls all their waste feed as they just breed and breed.

Koalas seem to migrate up and down the local roads giving them a good range. Feral deer a bit of a danger to cars at times, though six small ones appeared around the house a few years ago
FollowupID: 746322

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 20:02

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 20:02
G'day John, it has been a long time. Have'nt heard from Willie for a good while.

We've got a Common Koel set up in the backyard driving us nuts with his constant calling. A heap of Grass Parrots that just keep breeding plus the usual magpies, wood ducks, corellas, galahs, cockatoos, noisy miners, butcher birds, magpie larks, etc etc etc.

Definitely no shortage of feathered friends out here.

FollowupID: 746762

Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:06

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:06

Good topic and for those that maybe interested...

Birds in Backyards

AnswerID: 471598

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:37

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:37
Hi Greg,

That's a great website. Might have to become a member and do some of the surveys. Making a note of the birds we see as we travel could be another travel interest.

Val.

FollowupID: 746264

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:06

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:06
I have a family of crows in our suburban back yard , also a few spotted doves hang around . They are all there because i feed them , and enjoy watching them in the bath i put up in the tree.

AnswerID: 471599

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:18

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:18
Crows or currawong ? - we have LOTS of them down here -- fly around in packs of about 10 - 15 --- not sure if the collective "Murder" applied to them as it does crows ...pic of a cuuawong >http://www.dunhackin.org/~eisen/pictures/NewZealand/2003-Jan-12/Katoomba/IMG_0947.JPG
FollowupID: 746301

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:20

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:20
*edit* -
FollowupID: 746302

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 20:36

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 20:36

Think about it :-)
FollowupID: 746311

Reply By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:50

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 23:50
Many of the small bird species in costal areas have been killed off by people feeding meat to the larger magpies Currowongs and butcher birds.

By providing an artificial food source they have changed the range and numbers of these birds allowing them to kill more of the young of the smaller species.

Some people are of the mistaken belief that they help birds by artificially feeding them but it usually results in disaster for some species along the line.

If you want to encourage birds plant native food and refuge trees and provide habitat for feeding and breeding.

As for the rest leave them alone to do what they do best.

Sorry for the rant but people who feed wild animals without knowing what they are doing really get me upset !!!
AnswerID: 471600

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 01:01

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 01:01
Agree 100%
FollowupID: 746233

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 05:09

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 05:09
Good morning
Then I have really upset you Doug .

FollowupID: 746236

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:51

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:51
G'day Doug,

Yes this is correct!
Also people feeding seed & what ever else to all the FERAL populations of birds which compete with our native birds. We need to educate people not to do this.

Stu
FollowupID: 746241

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:31

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:31

Yep ! ;-) Sorry but check with your local environmental groups about what is acceptable in your areas.

But as a general rule feeding wild animals is bad for the environment

ESPECIALLY feeding meat eating birds !
FollowupID: 746250

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:55

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:55
Goug
I only do it when the kids are here and that is no more than once a week.

FollowupID: 746255

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:56

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:56
Doug I pressed the wrong button "D"

FollowupID: 746256

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:01

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 10:01
I have been called MUCH worse :-)

Cheers doug
FollowupID: 746259

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:26

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:26
Oh come on Doug
I had a witty repartee prepared and you gave up. Oh well, next time.

FollowupID: 746268

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:43

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 12:43
The kids next door call me Grug after their caveman like book character.

I am cool with that

Repartee at will I have no objections :-)
FollowupID: 746270

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:55

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:55
Gday Doug
I was going to tell you about the bloke that lives up the north coast who has a family of crows that are fed three times a day as well as a paddock full of rabbits that run wild most weekends.

FollowupID: 746279

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 15:14

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 15:14
and ?
FollowupID: 746288

Reply By: Member - Heather MG NSW - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 06:20

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 06:20
Hi Axle,

Here in Kings Point (near Ulladulla on the South Coast NSW) there are lots of birds around...rainbow and crimson lorrikeets, wattle birds, kookaburras, mud larks, magpies, many plovers, at this time of the year noisy koels and channel billed cuckoos, pallid cuckoos, bluejays, glossy black cockatoos, sulphur crested cockatoos, the yellow tailed black cockatoos, honeyeaters, crows, even occasionally a powerful owl. And probably more which I cant recall at this time.
...ganggangs...
This little village is surrounded by trees and natural bush...one of the reasons we decided to live here. Beautiful bush tracks to walk and we see and hear many different birds each time.

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 471609

Follow Up By: Member - Heather MG NSW - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 06:21

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 06:21
PS....and willie wag tails too

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 746237

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:18

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 07:18
G'day Axle,

Like some one said earlier it's all about loss of habitat but on the bright side I am getting more variety & numbers of birds at our 2 properties.
In fact a couple of months ago we had a Lyre bird visit our house every day for a few weeks & they have not been seen here for years!

The reason being, for those who do not know, is we that have TRUST FOR NATURE covenants on our properties which conserve habitat for the local wildlife.
So with all the re-veg work we do there is hope for the birds & animals yet.

Stu
AnswerID: 471612

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 08:31

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 08:31
Hi Stu,
About 20 years ago we started replanting our bit of rocky hillside. A lot of hard work but over the years it has been great to watch as the trees grew and the birds came back. The site has been much studied and surveyed mainly because its close to unis and CSIRO, but has also had a bird survey done quarterly for about 10 years now so there is a good picture being built up across the tablelands of how the birds are using these reveg sites.

The last survey a few weeks ago included gerygones, rufous whistler, noisy friarbird, leaden flycatcher, blue wrens, grey fantails, thornbills (buff rumped, yellow rumped and striated) pallid cuckoo. Plus the usual magpies, rosellas etc. Every spring we have a few superb parrots that nest nearby and come in to feed on the wattle seeds when they are still green. For some reason many have moved into the suburbs in the last decade. We also have a family of kookaburras that are lovely to see and hear. Plus we usually see the honeyeaters flitting between the big gums as they migrate from the mountains to the coast each year.

We dont feed the birds (except for a bit of supplementary feeding of the magpies with young during the drought) but I have a water bath outside my study window. Every morning there is a parade as the wrens, thornbills, flycatchers and parrots come in for a spalsh, usually in a pretty strict sequence. Wonderful to watch.

Val

FollowupID: 746243

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:16

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:16
G'day Val,

Its real nice to see there are like minded people on this site.

Your property sounds great & it's nice to see all the hard work pay off & all the native wildlife return.

We have a property out in the Wimmera that was revegetated 12 years ago & the regrowth in the past 2 years has been amazing because of all the rain. The wildflowers & birds that have returned has really surprised us.
We did some small mammal trapping in April & caught 2 Western Pygmy possums, only the 5th & 6th caught in the vicinity for over 50 yrs.

The other property that we live on is in the foothills of the great divide in Vic & has some beautiful old growth forest which supports a huge variety of birds & mammals. We have 2 Powerful Owls in our fern gully that call most nights. It's just like having our own National Parks!

Stu
FollowupID: 746247

Reply By: westskip - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:15

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:15
SWMBO and I were only commenting the other day that we have not seen any honeyeaters around for many months. Usually we can have up to a dozen New Holland Honeyeaters sitting around our bird bath but absoluyely none showing uo at the moment. Really at the moment we're only getting Wattle Birds, Magpie Larks, Willy Wagtails and the odd magpie.

Incidentally we used to get (even last year) Honey Eaters nesting in the shrubs on our front verandah.

AnswerID: 471620

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:19

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:19
G'day John,

Maybe they have all come for a holiday over to our place because we seem to be inundated with them at the moment!

Stu
FollowupID: 746248

Reply By: Member - Welldone (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:32

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 09:32
Great topic Axel,
Here in the southeastern inner suburbs of Perth the "bird mix" has changed a markedly over the years:
It's common to see introduced species:- Kookaburras, indian turtle doves ,and more recently, rainbow lorrikeets also due to reduced use of nasty residual pesticides .
Also more native species have increased in number as well : Kites, owls black-cockies
[red & white tailed] bee-eaters, willy-wag-tails, silver-eyes, finches etc.
A few years ago we had 3 recently fledged boo-book owls take up residence in our plum-tree for about 4 months, all the little local birds got quite upset by their presents and used to give them grief by persistent hassling while the owls roostered up during the day, however while they were here the local rodent population crashed dramaticly!Image Could Not Be Found

Welldone
AnswerID: 471621

Follow Up By: caseh - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:27

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 13:27
Thanks for placing the photo Welldone. Well done!

The Kookaburra might be an Australian icon in many people's eyes but in WA they are an introduced species and upset the ecological balance.
They do lots of damage to smaller birds like the wren and the red eared firetail.

I have seen RTb's and white tailed cockatoos in large numbers in WA. Pitty I also saw them being shot last May. Especially so as these birds fetch $15000 each in our part of the world.

Regards, Case
FollowupID: 746276

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 17:50

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 17:50
Probably the birdos' only know (they do surveys) - concentrations of birds do change in regions but - we've noticed this when consulting bird books, because indicated ranges for some birds are often seriously 'off' (the birds don't know this - they just selfishly move to another region when the conditions suit them better :-o). Your mention of the willy wagtail caught me though, surely Australia's toughest bird - they seem to have no boundary to their habitat - other birds have their zones, but it seems the willy is super adaptive - cold, hot, wet, dry, sparse, wooded - they can handle it all.
AnswerID: 471641

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:01

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:01
My best mate and i used to shoot Indian Minors with slug guns when we were 12yo or 13!! Now you cant have a slug gun or use a slingshot, the Nanny State at its best and more to come!! Michael
AnswerID: 471645

Reply By: Begaboy - Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:12

Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 18:12
We have king parrots come into our house - dogs have wrecked our fly screen doors at the bottom , so now the king parrots just come in and land next to us on the couch - or land on us..

why ? because we hand feed them , and they are impatient and dont want to wait outside :) and i cant get them out of the house unless i have them on my arm with a hand full of seed - if they land on me and i take them toward the door they just fly back in -- here is a little vid of one of the males that often invited himself in ....

only feed them wild bird mix every few days so they do not become dependant on us

http://s306.photobucket.com/albums/nn253/Ozboc/?action=view¤t=photobucket-7941-1322895837846.mp4
AnswerID: 471646

Reply By: Terra'Mer - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 17:15

Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 17:15
Last year I was having a chat with some ladies in their 80s/90s about local birds and how much their numbers had dropped over the last half century in the Monaro region. I couldn't imagine the numbers they were speaking of, flocks of hundreds moving from yard to yard. They noted a direct correlation between higher rainfall and higher numbers.

Here on the Hastings River, Mid North Coast, I have been watching a few more species in higher numbers than most places I've lived, even in their hundreds.

But if the native birds are struggling its all the more reason to slow down when you spot that flock on the road feeding on spilled grain instead of plowing through or hitting a raptor feeding on carrion.
Have you seen my marbles?

AnswerID: 471693