Calling Gazal Van Owners..
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 08:34
Member - Oldbaz. NSW.
I have been looking for a small van for awhile & came across a Gazal Infinity in town
yesterday..seemed to tick a few boxes. 13'6" off road model,rear door, 1999. Now I
have researched this site & others but not much info apart from the sordid tale of Mr
Gazal doing a runner with the loot etc. I'm sure there are some current/previous owners who would love to share their knowledge on this van. Your advice will be
most welcome. cheers.....oldbaz.
Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 10:34
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 10:34
G,day Old Baz,from what I can make out there is not too much wrong with the Gazal vans,they have a aluminium frame that is in my opinion a big plus.I have seen too many timber framed vans with rot all through the lower parts of the frame.If overall condition looks good,go for it .I would check for
water marks on the inside lining &roof.Possibly wheel bearings & brakes will need some attention.Allthe best,Mick.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 10:43
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 10:43
G'day Mick, thanks for the info. I only had a quick look at it..the interior seemed very
good..unmarked in fact..no
sign of any waterstains around the roofline. Nothing obviously amiss with the exterior..but will take a mate & give it a thorough going over
if no one frightens me off. Aluminium frame would seem in its favour. It appeals a bit
as I was going to use my C/t for a trip across the Plenty/GCR next year & I think this
thing would handle that..childbride is chasing a bit more comfort..:)))..cheers
.....oldbaz.
Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 12:19
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 12:19
Old Baz,sounds good,go for it.What area are you in?I live in Nthn.Rivers of NSW.Regards,Mick.
Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 12:41
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 12:41
Old Baz. You might want to look up Thread 7773 there is some interesting comment there.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 13:26
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 13:26
Not sure what you mean..wrong Thread maybe.?...oldbaz
Reply By: Joe - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 19:03
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 19:03
Useful sized van and from what I have seen a good unit.
We have a Supreme Getaway that is just 12' long, but it provides everything we want and it is VERY strongly built - it looks stronger than the Gazal - and with its massive independent
suspension links it rides
well too.
I just thought you might like to check out a Gazal competitor!
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:51
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:51
G'day Joe, thanks for your thoughts. I know the Supreme Getaway as a mate had one
..before he upgraded to a Territory. Top van but twice the $ asking for this one.
I had a longer look today & surprised to find 150mm one piece chassis rails..gal..
with similar size welded under to support
suspension. 7 leaf greasable shackles..
50mm sq axle. full subframe is gal & complete floor above is gal sheeting. Dealer
reckons it was a "made to order" as he hadnt seen that set up before. Anyway..
told the dealer to sharpen his pencil & I will talk turkey tomorrow..got 12 months
rego & two new gas bottles out of him today..:)))).cheers.....oldbaz.
Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 19:08
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 19:08
G/Day Old Baz,.... Yes the sordid tale of Mr Gazal and his Antics, would make me uneasy!, Depends on how the van builders where looked after, at the time,
LoL....Maybe someone knows someone that worked for the company.
But then again every van built by all companys could be criticed by someone.
Hope you snag a good one,
Sleep
Well...LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:53
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:53
Thanks Axle, this one looks ok...see above. cheers....oldbaz.
Reply By: Ted G - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:27
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:27
Hi oldbaz
We were one of the people ripped off by Gazal.
But when the Gazal's were being made (before he ripped off the first time) the caravans were originally Getaway which were built very
well at Minto.
Could not understand why he had to to be so dishonest when he built good caravans.
We have had 2 Viscounts built since then and even though was ripped off on the first one brought another after he went broke the third time it did not come with any warrenty but didnot need any.
We have just traded it in after 6 years and still got what we considered a good trade in for it.
If it looks good go for it.
Ted G
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:55
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:55
G'day Ted, details of my last inspection are up the page..seems all good..couldnt
fault it really..just got to do the hagglin...:)))))..cheers...oldbaz.