tyre monitores

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 20:25
ThreadID: 90486 Views:3098 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
has any one got tyre monitores fitted to there car and caravan and what type and are you happy with them we are thinkink of getting them for car and tandem van thanks allen

Reply By: Inish - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 21:26

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 21:26
Yes, I have Tyredogs but only on the car - not the van - not sure why only on car.

They have been fantastic - had two flat tyres on the car in the last two years - both times was stopped by the time the pressure reached 25 psi.

Always feels good to know how my tyre pressure is.
AnswerID: 471830

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 22:19

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 22:19
Hi Vicex

You can buy online now from Davis Craig.

Jette-400-Davis-Craig

Derek
AnswerID: 471834

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 22:25

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 22:25
I have used both Sensatyre and Tyre Dog. Did a comparison. The write up is here.

TPMS Comparison 2011

AnswerID: 471835

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 22:28

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2011 at 22:28
I have Sensa Tyre from Hannibal Safari

I use the strap on sensors in the well of the rim.

In my opinion tyres, valve caps and valve stems are all consumables and should be viewed as such.

The strap on sensors stay with the wheels and don't have to be consciously changed over with the figment of new tyres.

It's a little more work to first fit the strap on sensors but once done they are there for life.

AnswerID: 471836

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 08:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 08:33
We have found the Tyre Dogs a bit hit and miss, the issue seems to be range.

The Tyre Dog external valve stem sensors are vulnerable to being damages and are expensive..... hence why we don't sell them anymore.

At the moment we are trialing the Inawise range with in tyre sensors.

http://www.inawise.com/products.html

AnswerID: 471852

Follow Up By: LeighW - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 10:39

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 10:39
Sutle self promotion is in breach of the forum rules!
FollowupID: 746580

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 11:46

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 11:46
The self promotion is so subtle the original poster didn't even include any contact details for the business they may or may not represent!

The link to the manaufacturers website allows you to find about 40 distributors Australia wide of which the original poster may or may not be listed.

Very subtle indeed!

FollowupID: 746584

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 11:51

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 11:51
Have also found Tyredog to be hit or miss - let us know how the test goes olcoolone
FollowupID: 746585

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 09:51

Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 09:51
Well if you have a look at their web site you will not find us listed and we don't self promote on this forum...... matter of fact I have no interest selling to people on here and I am against people spruiking their wares on sites like this.

A forum is a forum and not a shop front to sell from.

To many seller use a forum not for the love of what it is but as a form to make quick money..... the truth hurts....... there are some who contribute a fair bit to this forum and sell successfully on here but they also use the forum to gain information for them selves..... Derek from ABR comes to mind and he is not scared to refer someone to something he doesn't sell.... non biased honest advice is something hard to come by.

When I was actively on the New Hilux Forum may knew who I was and what I did but I refused to sell to people on there due to the fact the forum was entertainment for me and not a selling arena, there was another auto elec who joined the forum as someone who had a Hilux and a interest out side selling his wares.... over time people found out what he did and he sold the odd item or did work for them.... he was an honest forum user who put the forum first and selling second.... over time you do the right thing and people respect you for it.

We use to sell Tyredog and we are now evaluating the Inawise range for our fleet customers..... yes evaluating, you know this thing that not many people selling things do.

Just because we have mention a item doesn't mean it will be something we will sell.

We sell many leading products to fleet. mining and transportation and if we spuuik a product as being the bee's knee's and we have 5 fail in a fleet of 50 vehicles our reputation can turn to mud very quickly, unlike a retail environment where they can have 15 fail out of 50 and nobody know different.

Product evaluation is a costly and time taking exercise.... try minimum of 6 to 12 months for most products we sell.

Some of the things an item must meet.
1) Do what it is meant to reliably 100% of the time.
2) Ease of use and function.
3) Must be robust enough for the harshest conditions and abuse.
4) Have full manufactures support for us and the customer.
5) Spare parts have to be readily available now and in 5 years time locally and overseas.

If I was self promoting don't you think I would offer some way for potential customers to contact me?..... so I can rip them off with under performing products.

Some people on here know what I do but I don't go out of my way to make it known.

FollowupID: 746802

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:51

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:51
We have thought about these systems but in the past have not installed any on three points.

Firstly: We are worried about them being broken off in the bush by sticks and stones etc.
Secondly: We use a stop for a tyre and load check as an excuse for a cuppa.
Thirdly: We would also need an extra set of the strap on type for the second complete set of rims on which we have a set of muddies fitted.

Any comments on the above points for or against would be greatly appreciated.

Info: We dont tow and tend to go to the more remote and rugged parts of this land.

I am not trying to hijack this thread but I think starting a new thread is not necessary.

AnswerID: 471882

Follow Up By: LeighW - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:27

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:27
External sensors can be damaged by gutters depending on how far they stick out. They can also be damaged by hitting the wheel on server corrigations.
Theft is also an issue. Water integrity could also be an issue as a set I have states that they should only be left standing in water for a short time.

Advantages are easily transfered to another wheel, easy battery replacement.

I find the internal sensors are better as they are better protected from damage. Disadvantages, fitting cost, can't easily be transfered, have to be replaced when batteries die, can be damaged by tire fitter if their not careful.

LeighW
FollowupID: 746613

Follow Up By: LeighW - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:32

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:32
Forgot to add, wouldn't be without them now, on a recent trip was alerted to a gradual leak on van tire. Checked tire looked fine. On returning home jacked wheel and checked tire, yep had nail in it.

LeighW
FollowupID: 746614

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:33
Missed the problem with the tyre fitter. I am still in the years that most people took pride in their work and wouldn't damage them. Must remember that.

We do get to cross quite a few creeks and rivers in the Vic Alps and the high country so water may be a problem for us.

Much appreciated.

FollowupID: 746615

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:41

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:41
Luckily we are both very sensitive to the car's movement and if something is a miss we have always picked it. Only one problem in decades and that was a tyre that threw the tread. Couldn't miss that noise.

The last flat was in 1970 at Oran Park for a Mini Club car meet in my wife's Mini and I was not allowed to change it. She did. Ha!!! Little did I know then that she was the club champion and a life member. Boy did I get the looks from the blokes around us. And they cheered when she did it in just a couple minutes. And we weren't even married then.

We gave towing away years ago. We couldn't go where we wanted when towing.

FollowupID: 746616

Follow Up By: LeighW - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:44

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:44
You can get campas now that will go any where the car can:)

LeighW
FollowupID: 746617

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:53

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:53
Almost go anywhere I agree. But you get some of those real tight tracks in the high country and its bad enough getting a car around the hills let alone a trailer. Then if you have to back up you are really in a spot. And it has happened at our club and we specifiy "No Trailers" on some club drives.

Those campers are a bit rich. 20-30K Not on your nelly. Too much. We have a Hannibal roof top tent now and that will do us. It we think that we will go for a drive and back to the same spot (a rarety) then we will use a tent.

FollowupID: 746618

Reply By: Corry M - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:24

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:24
Ive got a set from TPMS Australia they have been great, they are the external sensors but are fully sealed - upside-no water or dust ingress, downside-when the batteries go flat you have to replace the sensor but they are cheaper to buy replacements if you have bought a kit from them. They can be secured to the tyre via a little locking ring by allen key and I have never had one get wiped off yet but I am using stubby tyre valves.

I have never had a flat since buying the kit but when I do I will be pretty happy in knowing Ive just saved a $450 35" tyre and the device would've payed for itself one and a half times over if it does save one tyre.

They also do boosters so you dont lose signal if using on the van.

The other reason I didnt go for internal sensors is that if you use a tyre deflator like the ARB one that undoes the internal part of the valve it will be slower letting air out than a normal valve due to it being a sensor too.

When its 45+ degrees with plenty of flies I like my tyres aired down as quickly as possible IMO.
AnswerID: 471890

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:49

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:49
Like Corry M, I have the TPMS product and wrote about them in this thread....

Tyre Pressure Monitors - Vote of Confidence

The Landy

FollowupID: 746638

Reply By: vicex - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 09:14

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 09:14
thanks to all who replied a big help will more than likely go with external ones mainly for ease of use and don't have to pay to get 8 tyres done now to work out which brand to buy [as always ] many thanks again. Allen.
AnswerID: 471937

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 17:39

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 17:39
Take a look at Inawise units. I have one that cost me $240 at the Melb 4x4 show and they are great, already paid for themselves. Senders on the inside of the rims, very neat.

AnswerID: 471982

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 09:59

Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 09:59
What one did you get bonz, the 4 wheel 4x4 or the 6 wheel?
FollowupID: 746804

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 17:21

Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 17:21
I got the 4 wheel one, with a spare for the spare thrown into the deal, pretty sweet I reckon. All for $240,, $380 for four only in the 4b mag lasy month, but still the best of the crop I reckon

FollowupID: 746861