Croc's inland
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 00:25
Rockape
After a recent question about gecko's I will put up a photo of a crock that was run over by a tripple about 30k ssw of
mckinlay.
This area is normally dry, dry, dry and the
creek (Rangeview
Creek) it happened at has a
permanent waterhole next to the road.
No one knows if the gecko was salt or freshwater as it had a slight head injury that day. The photos were sent off to a those who know more but nothing came back.
Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 00:37
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 00:37
Here is another photo, Sorry I stuffed up but I am a little tied.
RA.
Reply By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:10
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:10
hi rockape
my personal opinion for what its worth
is its a johnson crock
as a salty at that length would have a much wider body and thicker tail
cheers barry
Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 00:28
Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 00:28
Barry,
I agree with you. The photo's were sent off to someone in the EPA but nothing was received back.
Have a good one,
RA.
Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:22
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:22
the
windorah pub used to have a clipping on the wall about a freshie found there
Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 00:34
Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 00:34
get outmore,
The difference from the
Windorah area is
Cooper creek has waterholes. This area is very dry being the head waters of the
Mckinlay River. There are waterholes in the ranges but they will not support a croc.
He must have come upstream in the last couple of years and been able to survive in property dams and that
waterhole.
All the best,
RA.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 15:33
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 15:33
RA,
Seem to remember that
waterhole, from my days south of
McKinlay, and trips into the pub(at it's old position). Not sure if I'd have remembered it on the way home!!!
Was told about a freshie being caught in, or near the chook yard at Farley Station, which isn't too far to the west of Rangeview Ck. This would have been 12-15 years ago, I'd reckon.
No doubt the croc regretted his lack of "street-smarts". Did one of the ore trucks hit him?
Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 17:09
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 17:09
Bob,
yes it was one of the ore trucks that cleaned him up. There had been reported sightings of the croc in one of the property dams nearby.
It is a pity they shifted the pub at
Mckinlay as I always liked it in the Main street. LOL.
I know Farley station pretty
well and old Connie Lane who lived there for many years . God rest his soul. I don't know how many times I carried cartons out to his old ute because he couldn't walk or speak. He sure used to do a number on himself.
Have a good one,
RA.
Reply By: Terra'Mer - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 19:56
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 19:56
Salty or Freshie, still wouldn't want to trip over one : ) Is that a usual size for freshies?
Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 20:10
Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 20:10
Terra,
If it is a freshie it is probably a male as the females don't get much over 2 metres.
I believe males can get to around 3 metres although I have never seen one that big.
The area he was found in is quite dry having a yearly rainfall average of around 300mm. Also waterholes are few and far between as the rivers and creeks in that area are normally dry and sandy. The
waterhole is caused by the road crossing the
creek.
Fresh
water crocs are not normally aggressive unless they are cornered or tormented.
Have a good one,
RA.