reversing van into park site

Will be acquireing first van later in the new year and am trying to gather relevant information that will make the experience more enjoyable. Any hints and do;s and donts would be appreciated. Thanks and Regards. Ray

Reply By: Member - Heather MG NSW - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:40

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:40
Hi Ray,

I suggest you ask your wife (assuming you are a couple) to get into the driver's seat and you give the directions....that way if you have any problems, it is not HER fault!

This works for us.....apparently I can't give directions and he can't take them! lol

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 472164

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:51

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:51
Hi Heather,

So true - love it!

Val.

FollowupID: 746962

Follow Up By: Member - sangster(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:15

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:15
Gee Im in a pickle then, wife can't drive or use a map.
Wifey knitted whilst we went around aussie while I had the mirgranes :-))))
Just practice Ray after you knock over a few fences , garages etc you'll get the picture...
Joking aside, all the very best for your future caravaning.
Stan
FollowupID: 746969

Follow Up By: Member - sangster(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:19

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:19
Just remember Ray if you require the van to go left, turn steering wheel to the right and vice versa..Slowly .this advice was given to me years ago and dem wheels are still turning the right way..
stan
FollowupID: 746970

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:53

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:53
I drive the vehicle and the wife backs me in, but, she only uses hand signals, I taught her the military system of hand signals. No voice. That way she doesn't insult me too much and life is better.
AnswerID: 472171

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:58

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:58
It has been a long time since I towed anything so I am not sure of the relevance today.

You may consider a towball/hitch on the front of the car. Others who read this post no doubt will have some welcome constructive comments. Emphasis on the word constructive please.

AnswerID: 472173

Follow Up By: bazz - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:07

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:07
hi , i watched the neighbours hitch up the van, she drove (f250) & he gave the directions using a hand held radio, good idea I thought, Cheers Barry Esperance WA
FollowupID: 746952

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:30

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:30
Too true Bazz

Considering how cheap they are I am quite surprised that there is more of it. I had two VHF hand helds that we used to use back in the late 60's.

FollowupID: 746958

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 09:49

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 09:49
Radios are great but once again.... it comes down to the operator. I tried the UHF hand held with my wife once! As she now had her hands full there was no pointing, commands like this way a bit, watch out for the tree etc...... The other issue is right and left... hard for the wife to grasp that "right and left" is always from the rear of the van looking to the front of the vehicle. (same as Port & Starboard)
FollowupID: 747112

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 11:31

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 11:31
We always use comments like left or right hand down. That worked for us from the start.

As long as each knows what the other means it really doesn't matter.

No towing now though. Gave that away years ago. We found that we were too restircted and had to bypass places. Even to leave the van/trailer somewhere to us was a pain as we do not like to have to retrace our tracks. Been there once and thats enough kind of thing. And one was always thinking of the security of the van/trailer.

FollowupID: 747120

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:04

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:04
Ray

can i suggest to you the only way to learn to reverse with confidence is just practice. try somewhere out of the way of everyone/everything by yourself and go for it. it will come to you.....patience is the key.
AnswerID: 472175

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:19
Mark,
spot on, spot on. Practice/practice/practice and it doesn't matter where you do that just do it and gain confidence.

Happy reversing

RA.
FollowupID: 746955

Follow Up By: baz&pud (Tassie) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:43

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:43
Also remember, that it doesn't matter how much you practice, and how good you get, there will be the time when you stuff it up, and thats usually when the whole caravan park is watching.
In relation to the uhf, be careful as to what channel you use, cause you may start getting directions from another person some distance away.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 746961

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 22:13

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 22:13
I started with a trailer. I now find the van easier to back. If giving nice hand signals make sure the person giving them can see the driver in the mirror.
FollowupID: 746987

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:47

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:47
Yes practice is the way to go, not when you get there but in a park bay somewhere , In practice I mean for the director too, one thing I hate is blokes trying to back with the head out the window, how do you check the left mirror with your block hanging out the right side, although that is ok if backing around to the right, and there's a clue for you, if you have to reverse into a site turn around so the site's on your right, if the Director stuff's up....Smack her...T.I.C. a good set of mirrors helps too.

Ex Truckie,

FollowupID: 746996

Follow Up By: Seakarvan - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 16:43

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 16:43
Just a couple of things about reversing that can stress out all concerned when:

1. You have not learnt to take it easy.
2. Not had enough practice, practice and practice - as Mark said.
3. You get into camps late and tired - inadvertently or poor planning - go to 1.
4. Externalise your issues, inabilities and/or frustrations on all around - dumb
5. Lacking empathy with those around who are only trying to get set-up and have a cuppa

A couple of things that will help your reversing life, if your new to the game :)

1. When those half of dozen settled fellow travellers sitting drinking beer and looking in direction start to giggle, get out, go to the fridge, get 6 cold beers and offer them while asking, "how are we going to get this big bugger into this site?
2. When a retired trucker offers to help reverse, TAKE IT, then quickly get the beers because it will be all over very quick.
3. Get out and walk around as much as you need and move in at idle speed.
4. After a good look around use your mirrors - turn into the mirror where the van appears if you want straight - boat ramp stuff that can be handy in the open spaces.

Most importantly, you must keep focussed on the big picture.
It's all about and fun and nothing else ............. for everyone!

Seakarvan
FollowupID: 747052

Reply By: Witi Repartee - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 19:19
The cardinal rule is to learn to use your mirrors. Left and right. Look at how truckies reverse their rigs. They aren't leaning out the drivers window trying to look back over their shoulder.
Also know your tugs wheelbase (A)....because if the distance from the tow ball to the pivot point (the axle of a single wheel van..or mid point between tandem axles) lets call it (B).....because if B is shorter than A the van can turn inside your tugs turning circle and cannot be controlled by frantic corrections. I have always had a set where B is greater than A and it makes for more controlled backing. Cheers W
AnswerID: 472179

Follow Up By: ChrisE - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:31

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:31
Just to clarify I assume you are talking about backing in a straight line. Backing into a garage/camp site/driveway is different.

I reckon much easier to try and set up so the spot you are heading is on the drivers side, even if you have to go around the block, then you can see over your shoulder exactly where the vans wheels are tracking as you turn to get it in the right spot. Much better for depth perception and seeing other obstacles than using mirrors.
FollowupID: 746982

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:06

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:06
G`day Ray,

While reversing, the van will go the direction that you turn the BOTTOM of the steering wheel.
i.e. If you turn the steering wheel anticlockwise the bottom will be moving towards the drivers door/or to the right. The caravan/trailer or ?? will go right also.

Same principal applies when needing the van to go left, just turn the bottom of the steering wheel to the left.
Makes reversing using the mirrors much easier I reckon.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 472194

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:42

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:42
Where do you live? Is there anyone around who gives caravanning lessons? These are good value, they will teach both of you to park the van plus heaps of other valuable info. Well worth the money.

AnswerID: 472198

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:45

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:45
Failing that, find a large parking lot that is vacant when you wish to practice. Take a load of empty drink cans to set out a course to follow.

FollowupID: 746984

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:57

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:57
Ray

another little trick is to reverse your van on your drivers side .....meaning if you have to back into somewhere from an angle,keep the van on your drivers side. its harder to see out your left hand side.
AnswerID: 472203

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 13:55

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 13:55
I will second that. Advice given to me frm an old truckie. Stuck by that ever siince and have never had a drama. We also have to UHF radios and this works well too. But the wife is very good directing me in just with hand signals.
Have fun.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 747043

Follow Up By: Meggs - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 14:25

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 14:25
I agree with one addition have your partner stand on the other side so you can see them in the mirror and they are your eyes where you cant see.

We do this regularly and I don't move unless I can see my wife in the passengers side mirror, if she moves out of view I stop and she knows why then moves back into view then I continue.

When you take your van off leave the jockey wheel pointing across the van center line as it is easier when you have to couple up as you only have to bring the towball to be in like and it is then easy to push it across.

All the above saves any arguments as this is what we have been doing for years.
FollowupID: 747141

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 00:23

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 00:23
Hi Ray - as Mark says - practice.

There are no tricks that will make it work like magic (sorry, couldn't resist it). Try and find somewhere without an audience and draw or mark the space on the ground, then back in. Try it in several different locations until you are confident to go to a busy car park and try your skills. Practice, practice, practice.

AnswerID: 472212

Reply By: toohey - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 06:40

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 06:40
g'day ray
start off with the tug & caravan in a straight line.
toohey.
AnswerID: 472213

Reply By: sweetwill - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:21

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:21
hello Ray.
Practice, Practice, and don't try to rush slow and steady and don't try and make it to technical after all it is only reversing a trailer happy reversing Bill.
AnswerID: 472215

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:36

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:36
Ray! A lot of good advice here and if you have a UHF fitted to your vehicle, buy a hand held for the person out the back guiding you , they can talk to you from the handheld to your vehicle UHF. It better than them waving their hands and yelling at you!! Michael

AnswerID: 472217

Reply By: Member - Vern - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 08:20

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 08:20
I give my misses the hand held UHF and this seems to work well, the other thing i do is put the 4by into low range as this will allow me to take foot of off the clutch completely so not riding the clutch or over heating any thing.

Vern
AnswerID: 472228

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 08:29

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 08:29
A lot of good ideas mentioned.

I just watch on my driving side.

Before we back it in I usually place a marker opposite the concrete slab where the van wheels should end up. (Drivers Side)

It's very easy then to park the van.

The Cook just keeps an eye on things with out any yelling ect.

Before you start backing the van take the WDHs of the draw bar.

AnswerID: 472230

Reply By: Member - Nolo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 09:03

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 09:03
Hi Ray

I believe the RACQ conduct a caravan driving instruction course in their Brisbane carpark Saturday mornings. May also be a possibility in your neck of the woods.

Regards and good luck

AnswerID: 472236

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 11:00

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 11:00
After practice the number one rule is No Shouting! That way lies divorce and entertainment for the park! Practice together with hand signals before going near a caravan park. The other rule is, when you are still a novice, or even later, don't be afraid to ask for help. Good caravan park operators will usually offer assistance if their sites are a bit tight. They don't want their power poles knocked over! Some use tractors. There is no shame in accepting help. One park in Tuncurry always offers the tractor as their roads are narrow. Last time there we (and others) happily accepted the offer and were quickly set up watching a chap with a large ego spend half an hour trying to get his large van around and abusing his poor wife! Inthe end he got the tractor too! Could have saved himself all the pain! So check the site on foot before attempting to back on, look for hazards and best approach angles. Relax! Go slowly! Everyone has had to learn! Lynne
AnswerID: 472249

Reply By: Member - Russler - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 12:06

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 12:06
Perhaps for starters (or myself if I haven't reversed a trailer in a while), try holding the steering wheel at the bottom instead of the top (ie. 7 and 4 instead of 10 and 2). Then, to push the van left, you move your left hand, and ditto for right.
AnswerID: 472255

Reply By: menace- Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 14:12

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 14:12
just jump in and have a go mate...make it a fun thing with the cook and laugh about the mistakes together..it will come to you what movement has what action ... and enjoy the humour of it...the idiots who yell at each other are only embarrassed because other people are watching so need to pass on the blame..most people there will assist if it gets too difficult...I would get in and do it for you and I think most others would also..people will also help because they dont want any damage either and if they are laughing then you guys may as well also...you will probably be sitting there with them later laughing about it....just relax and have fun with it ...after all...thats why you went away...:)
AnswerID: 472270

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 14:24

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 14:24
hi Menace.
Thats it in a nut shell.
FollowupID: 747045

Reply By: Axle - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 16:37

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 16:37
G/Day Ray, ..If backing in beside a slab, I reckon its a good idea to aim your mirror at the caravan wheel slightly, you can then place it right against the edge no worrys, and don't have to worry about the missus backing you up a telegraph pole!!!...LOL..LOL....Will now go and hide!.

Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 472283

Reply By: magic2 - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 19:57

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 19:57
Hi to all you happy caravaners. Appreciated the humour that was contained in some of the replies. It appears that practise is the key word from most of the comments. An understanding with the wife/boss/cook/knitter/lover/etc would also be high on the agender. Thanks to all for your comments they will be very helpful. Regards Ray.
AnswerID: 472305

Reply By: the redbacks - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 20:07

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 20:07
In my opinion, have a towball fitted to the front on your Car, best thing I ever done, little bit of messing around changing from back hitch to front, but well worth it when you need to put the van just where you need it, & just about most of the time without the WIFE !!!! shouting, "back,back,back CRUNCH Stop !!!
Legal ??? who knows & who gives a rats !!! it helps me

Miroku12g
AnswerID: 472307

Reply By: Big Al. Gold Coast - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 08:52

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 08:52
When you book in,just ask for a drive through site, most parks have them.
AnswerID: 472345

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:34

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:34
That doesn't fix the problem Al. If anyone can't back a van in both a straight line or around a corner then they shouldn't be towing one in the forward direction either, full stop.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 747129

Reply By: Croozerute - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:50

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:50
Use the big shiny things hanging off your doors a lot, they help you see backwards ;-)
AnswerID: 472354

Follow Up By: Croozerute - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:52

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 12:52
In all seriousness, I just prefer to position the thing myself, with the use of the mirrors, then the missus will let me know when I'm back far enough, rather than have to stand their flapping arms about..
FollowupID: 747134

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 14:15

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 14:15
Ray,
I am sure that you got the message - practice.

The thing you will probably find is that you don't know how to judge where the van will end up. Or, you won't know where to start to get the van to end up where you want it.

I found the following guide a great help, and although I don't bother with the "points on the van" after prcatisding it a number of times, it taught me the general idea of how to make sure the van ended up roughly where it ought to.

One time only, set up your turning marks.
They depend on the van and vehicle. Find a nice big car park somewhere!

With the van and vehicle straight and stationary, first you turn the steering wheel to RH full lock and then turn it back 1/2 a turn.

You then do a 180 degree turn to the Right and stop when the vehicle is at 180 degrees, and look back through the side mirror along the vehicle and put a reference mark on the front of the van in line with the RH side of the vehicle (from memory the mark ended up on the passenger side of centre on the van front boot lid).

This mark is left on the van permanently.

Parking from the Right side of the site is usually easier because you get more visibility. You can repeat the above from the LH direction to place a mark for the LH side if you want to park from the left of the site.

Measure up a site approach.

When you want to reverse the van on to a site you firstly take 2 large steps out from the RH front corner of the site and then 3 large steps down the road to the right.

You put a marker on the road in this position (put a stick on the road).

You then place the van RH wheel at this position on the road (rear wheel on a tandem) with the vehicle and van straight on the road at 90 degrees to the parking position.

Practice will determine the correct number of steps, both out and down, to suit your van’s turning characteristics.

Now to park on the site.

You turn the steering wheel to hard LH lock and then back 1/2 a turn.

You now reverse while looking in the mirror until the RH side of the vehicle is in line with the reference mark on the front of the van, and then stop.

Now you turn the steering wheel to hard RH lock and back 1/2 a turn, and reverse again, and (in theory) when straight, the van will be in position on the site.

hope this helps
Ken
AnswerID: 472360

Reply By: R Send - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 21:07

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 21:07
Arrange for you and your wife to go on a towing course (like TowEd) together. They'll show you ways to reverse that will greatly assist you both
AnswerID: 472390