Mt Isa to Alice Springs

Submitted: Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 15:55
ThreadID: 90610 Views:2360 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Hi Folks
Wanting to do a trip from Mt Isa over to Alice Springs and wondering if any members
have done it without going to Tennant Creek.
Will be travelling in an 80 series cruiser. Time of travel will be May 2012
Any suggestions welcome
Cheers 4 now

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 16:01

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 16:01
G'day Mike, your obvious alternative is the Sandover/Plenty route & this shouldnt pose any problems, except rain. We intend going to Alice enroute to Exmouth etc
that way, but coming from the south via Boulia..probably around May as well. Trek
Notes are available on this site. cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 472367

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 17:05

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 17:05
Agree with Baz - we found the run across the Barkly last July to be cod ordinary in most respects (and we can generally find good interest anywhere).......very flat, tall grass and dry as a limeburner's boot. We had hoped to come up from SA via Innamincka and see Birdsville, Bedourie, Boulia and then into the Isa, but rain mucked up all such planning - it knocked out the Plenty / Donohue option as well, hence our run on the seal all the way via the Alice, Tennant and Barkly Homestead.
AnswerID: 472369

Follow Up By: rumpig - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:39

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:39
atleast you got to see tall grass, we came through the Barkly a couple of months after you did this year and it was all burnt out (just days before we passed through). klm after klm of blackened earth was probably less scenic then tall grass....lol
FollowupID: 747195

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 17:32

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 17:32
Mike,

As well as the Plenty/Donohue route, you can go through Urandangie and Manners Creek Station, and meet up with the eastern end of the Plenty, near Tobermorey Station.

We came back from the Rock, in August, along the Sandover, up through Austral Downs, to Camooweal. Was a good run, with only a few short sections of bad corrugations.

I'd go along both routes again, with more scenery on the Plenty, but heaps of different vegetation, and wildflowers along the Sandover.(at that time of the year)

The 80 will handle both routes, no worries!!!

AnswerID: 472372

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 17:40

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 17:40

FollowupID: 747151

Reply By: Member - Heather G1 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 23:33

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 23:33
Goodluck on your trip Mike. I live on the Plenty Highway. Road not too bad.
Heather
AnswerID: 472478

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 01:03

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 01:03
I note it is curently closed due to wet conditions at the Georgina. Is this likely to be the case until next dry season. I am looking at traveling Perth - Townsville in Mid Jan via GCR and Plenty highway. If closed I will go via Tennent creek.
FollowupID: 747319