Rego help

Submitted: Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 19:05
ThreadID: 90614 Views:4145 Replies:12 FollowUps:33

Just wondering if anyone has had this experience or knows of anyone who has and what the outcome was.
You live mainly in one state but have a vehicle in another, you change your licence to where you spend most of your time. The state where the car now lives refuses to renew rego as you now have an interstate driver licence. Apart from shipping or driving the car to the state where you have your licence what are your options.

Lyndon

PS, yes, the rego dept in question has been contacted, bang your head against the wall response!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 19:57

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 19:57
Hi Lyndon, It would help if we knew which state or territory you are talking about. As each state and territory have different rules and regulation's.
I have had a work ute rego in QLD and worker was driving it in Newcastle NSW, The police had noticed the ute had been in the area for some months and pulled my worker over, and charged him with driving an unregistered uninsured ute. But the ute still had 8 months QLD rego on it. After speaking to the police, I was told that the ute had been in the same area for more that 6 weeks and my company should have changed the rego. Although the company had offices in Newcastle, Gosford and the Gold Coast. This ute was brought down to Newcastle after the earthquake in December 1989 to help repair the city. But still had to pay the fines. But you can register a car in NSW without a licence.
Andy

AnswerID: 472384

Follow Up By: SDG - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:05

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:05
Don't know if it has been changed or not, but at one time years ago, children could have a vehicle registered in their name.
FollowupID: 747165

Follow Up By: SDG - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:06

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:06
Forgot to put in NSW.
FollowupID: 747166

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:11

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:11
A mate of mine just bought a car and still has no licence but was able to rego for it and it need a blue slip. Don't tell them you have a licence.

FollowupID: 747167

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:38

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:38

Sorry, NT and SA.

It is a joke. Does this mean you are not allowed to own a car interstate?

FollowupID: 747194

Reply By: Holden4th - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:12

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:12
When I retire in about 10 years time I will buy a vehicle that I can use to tour the countryside at my leisure. I will live in this vehicle and be both stateless and of no fixed abode as the vehicle will be my home.

The question for me is where and how do I register my vehicle to drive on Australia's roads? I am not breaking the law by having no permanent address yet somehow I have to register my vehicle in a specific State which requires an address etc.

Is there any such thing as a federal registration?
AnswerID: 472386

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:33

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 20:33
Holden,

That is exactly my scenario, and further, NSW RTA requires an annual roadworthiness inspection prior to rego renewal. This has to be done by an RTA-approved inspection station. They exist only in NSW as far as I know.

So if a NSW rego is due and you're on the other side of the country, how can it be done.

I delight in presenting such conundrums to mindless stupid beaurocracies. I will do that and await their answer.

Frank

FollowupID: 747174

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:29

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:29
Well Frank, it all depends on whether you are looking for a contest or a result.

If a contest, go ahead and challenge your bureaucrats. I know where to put my money!

If a result, find a friend or relative living in a State that does not require routine inspections (e.g. Queensland) and register to their address. Have them forward renewal notices etc to your current location.

FollowupID: 747189

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:56

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 22:56
Hi Allan

If you re read my post this comes about by the state in question not allowing you to renew you registration as you now have a interstate licence. They just don't post a renewal and refuse to allow you to renew.
If you had endless cash and time one would drive the vehicle without registration and wait to get booked, keep endless correspondence as to their refusal to allow you to renew.
Then head to the courts, would be fun, but alas I don't have either the coin or the time.

FollowupID: 747198

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:04

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:04
Hi Holden

You have little option but to choose a friend or relative and 'move in with them' then go away for lots of holidays. This will be the garaging address for insurance purposes, the state where you register your vehicles and the state where you hold your driver's licence. Unfortunately Governments have not moved with the times and although there are many people touring full time with some pretty good mobile mansions, they can only see no fixed address as the vagrant or drunk sleeping under a bridge. The Electoral Commission have their act together far better for 'itinerants'.

FollowupID: 747199

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:11

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:11
Hi Allan,

Your suggestion for a result, while eminently practical, is not a legal solution.

I could re-register (and perhaps get a new licence if required) in every state I visit if I stay longer than the maximum visiting period (whatever it is in each state). That would entail transfer fees and stamp duty perhaps every few months - rego for a year on that basis could cost some thousands of $.

So I'll go the contest route. I've already posed the question in an email to them just now. We'll see what they say.

I cannot be the first in this position, I suspect they will have an answer and you're probably right - it'll be no contest, they hold all the winning cards.

Frank

FollowupID: 747200

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:45

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:45
Didn't suggest it was legal, Frank. LOL

And I'll be interested in their response, if any.

FollowupID: 747203

Follow Up By: OutBack Wanderers - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:53

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:53
As far as I know one licence fits all.

Say you have a HC Licence in NSW, should you get booked in any other State, their points system goes onto your NSW Licence, 12 points limit or 14 if your a good driver for 3 years

One licence is only needed once, for all States, seems a bit silly to need to pass a licence test when-ever you crossed the border, whats an interstate licence anyway, never heard of them??

I know in the past some 'truckies' had 3 or 4 licences from different States, but the NSW RTA put a stop to that, by introducing the above, and with cross-checking computers, soon died out

Legally your suppose to have the registered vehicle at your place of abode, not your car in NSW, caravan in Vic, and you living in Qld, many c'vanners are registering their vans in Vic because, Vic classes C'vans as trailers, cheap cheap,

When I worked for K&S freighters in Sydney, all their trucks were registered in SA, yet they worked full time over several years and didn't have to change rego plates to NSW, even after the required time of 3 months, should you do the same

One Law for Businesses, one for Citizens-we get booked, they get away with it.

Just try it once, speed in the Top End, and check your NSW Licence when you get back, woo hoo, holy crap, I've lost points in another State

I remember when if you did something wrong in another State and didn't pay the fine, you just never went back to that State, period. They didn't chase up the fine, it just went through their Court System and turned into a arrest warrant,

Truckies from NSW use to do that a lot, just let the fine go through the system, paid doubled the fine, but lost no points, expensive, but smart.

FollowupID: 747204

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 00:02

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 00:02
Hi Frank

If your are in another state when your NSW annual inspection comes due, contact them for their approved providers in that state. They may allow any inspectors for rego matters in the state you are in.

Getting a licence in each state you travel would not work even if you wanted to go down that path - because once again you need to be residing there, not travelling through.

And we live on one country? Dream on :O

FollowupID: 747205

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 21:14

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 21:14
Thanks Motherhen. I'm awaiting a reply from the RTA - I'll post their answer when (if) I get it.

FollowupID: 747291

Follow Up By: Rob! - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 10:52

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 10:52
OutBack Wanderers

If you live in one state for more than 3 months your licence from another state ceases to be valid. This is not usually a problem until you are involved in an accident. No licence = no insurance.
FollowupID: 747689

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 11:08

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 11:08
From Rob's scenario, it means resides, not just touring through in which case the rego still needs to be in the state of 'permanent residence'. None of this considers people like Holden who make their home mobile.

Mh

FollowupID: 747692

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 23:18

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 23:18
It's been a week now and the RTA have not answered my question. It is clearly a matter of difficult interstate diplomatic policy.

I will give them a jog along.

Frank

FollowupID: 747758

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 23:30

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 23:30
Hi Frank

I reckon if you get a reply from RTA in under two weeks that will be an Earth shattering world record.

Mh

FollowupID: 747760

Reply By: The Bantam - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:47

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 23:47
The rules are pretty clear, but sometimes you have to know what you are talking about, because some public servants do not.

I have encountered this level of ignorance on several ocasions, upon speaking to someone who actually knows their business I find them amazed at what I have been told.

If a vehicle is continuoulsy garaged in a particular state for longer than the prescribed period, it must be registered in that state, regardless of where the owner resides.

To sugest anything else is plainly rediculous, because many businesses own vehicles that are used exclusivly in a different state to the registered office.

for a public servant to refuse to register a vehicle that plainly is garraged in their state because the owner is resident elsewhere, is plain and outright bullshit...tell them straight, they don't know what they are talking about and demand to speak to someone higher up the chain.

"The facts are simple...I live at XYZ address I am therefore clearly required to be licenced by that state and I can not be licenced in yours.....this vehicle is permanently garraged at ABC address and is therfore clearly required to be registered in your state deal with it."

There are specific arrangements for people who are on long term travels.....the laws may not seem to accomodate them but, they sort of do and this is sort of allowed for.

If say you are "traveling" in a foreign state, but you do not have a permanent residence you are "traveling" and you intend to return to you "home" in another state you are not resident, neither is the vehicle......that seems to be allowed for....othewise the transport authorities would be up to their armpits in people of a certain age processing registration transfers every 30 days or so.

AnswerID: 472400

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 06:14

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 06:14
Thanks for the input on this matter. Could you possibly elaborate on the following

"There are specific arrangements for people who are on long term travels.....the laws may not seem to accomodate them but, they sort of do and this is sort of allowed for.

If say you are "traveling" in a foreign state, but you do not have a permanent residence you are "traveling" and you intend to return to you "home" in another state you are not resident, neither is the vehicle......that seems to be allowed for....othewise the transport authorities would be up to their armpits in people of a certain age processing registration transfers every 30 days or so."
FollowupID: 747207

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 07:40

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 07:40
There are thousands in your situation, get on any of the caravna or motorhome forums and ask how they deal with it.
I met a bloke the other week in a large motorhome reg in QLD, his trailer on the back in Vic, the car on it reg in WA and his licence in WA.
The NSW RTA will accept a rego (pink slip in NSW) inspection from another state for everything except a heavy vehicle.
What lots of the travellers do is reg trailers, caravans, 5th wheelers ie towed vehicles in vic as it is cheap with no inspection. Vehicles in QLD or WA, just use a friends or relo's address where required.
AnswerID: 472410

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:29

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:29
""The NSW RTA will accept a rego (pink slip in NSW) inspection from another state for everything except a heavy vehicle."" When did this come in ?? when I enquired about purchasing a vehicle in Melbourne and bringing home here to NSW even though the bloke was selling with inspection certificate and the vehicle was registered Melbourne if I bought the vehicle I had to cancel the rego here in Sydney and get it blue slipped and then reregistered in NSW. This was 2 years ago when I was going to buy an 80 series T/D from Melbourne.........
FollowupID: 747211

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 09:32

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 09:32
They won't accept it for initial rego in NSW but will for annual renewals.
I've registered a couple of vehicles from interstate and the blue slip is mandatory.
FollowupID: 747217

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:12

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:12
Cheers thanks for that.....
FollowupID: 747220

Reply By: R.J.W. - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 07:52

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 07:52
Hi without saying too much I tried legally to run a tour business in two states NSW and Queensland years ago(seasonal work in both states). I might as well been in Russia and America. I had numerous in depth discusions with senior staff as to my predicament over many months. In the end I really had no practical solution. There are ways around it though. Some more legal than others. However if you register a vehicle in someone else's name (brother, parent, son or mate) and you get pulled over you just say you have borrowed the vehicle. If that is registered in a state without annual inspections even better. This allows you to be Licensed in your state and legal, you can also be the insurer of a vehicle that you don't own so no real burden on the friend registering it in their name. Just one other thing mail redirection really helps either permanent or just the month before registration. lots of renewals can be done on the internet as well.
Good luck Rob
AnswerID: 472411

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:32

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:32
""register a vehicle in someone else's name (brother, parent, son or mate) "" just make sure you remain good friends other wise if you have a fall out they can ask for their vehicle back. Its there's isnt it ?? Registered in their name ?? lol..........
FollowupID: 747212

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:44

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:44
" Just one other thing mail redirection really helps either permanent or just the month before registration. lots of renewals can be done on the internet as well."

Nope, don't work, they just refuse to renew either on the phone or online.
This vehicle has not been pulled over either, so it's not a case of them saying "it has been seen in x" either way this isn't relevant anyway as it is where the vehicle lives most.

FollowupID: 747215

Follow Up By: R.J.W. - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:54

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 08:54
"Nope, don't work, they just refuse to renew either on the phone or online."

Don't quite know what you mean They send a renewal notice out, you send them the money they then send a new label back or you pay online and write receipt number on rego papers and label. can't see how they can refuse.
FollowupID: 747216

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 08:56

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 08:56
"Don't quite know what you mean They send a renewal notice out, you send them the money they then send a new label back or you pay online and write receipt number on rego papers and label. can't see how they can refuse."

Nope, they won't send a renewal.

FollowupID: 747330

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:12

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:12
Hi Lyndon,
I have had several vehicles registered in vic and have licence and live in the NT for years. Despite what has been said above, legally the vehicle should be registered in the state where it is garaged and your licence held where you live.
I believe you have just come across some bureaucratic drongo and you may as well talk to a brick wall. Even the SA rego form has the option of different postal address ("complete this section if your registration renewals are to be sent to an address different to the postal address")
I would be calling a different office directly to attempt to deal with another person or going to a higher source such as transport minister, as what you are doing is the right thing.

Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 472422

Reply By: old mate - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:27

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:27
Forgive me if I'm wrong but I get lost in posts that have deviated from your original question - I assume you are talking car is in SA ond you live in the NT?

or is it the other way round?
AnswerID: 472423

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:51

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 10:51
Part of the issue is that there is an over simplistic view of peoples lives.
"They" think that people live at one fixed address and keep all their stuff there....they have to be able to cope with people spending time and keeping stuff at a place other then their "main residence"...and they definitely can.

They will have a lot of difficulty with the concept of "no fixed abode".

This issue has been well and truly been exercised between QLD and NSW, because there is a lot of cross border stuff going on there are lots of people with holiday homes or caravans located in the other state with various vehicles permenently stored there, and then you have the annual migration of the turtes ( caravanners) from NSW into QLD in winter, and QLD to NSW in the summer.

If ya realy want to get into it ya have to get into the wording in the legeslation which is pretty clear, in addition to the "arrangements" between the states.

What you need to address are the concepts of residence and uasage.

and different concepts apply to a person and a thing.

In this day and age everything requires PROOF.

If you are a RESIDENT of a state, you are required to be licenced there ( clear, plain and simple), AND you must provide details of your address and PROOF that you reside there. When you apply for a licence you will be required to provide proof of identity......part of that proof of identity can be such things as social security cards, bank statemants, rental agreements, rates notices, phone and power bills.

Part of proof of identity is proof of where you "reside". If that gets complicated like you are "of no fixed abode", or you don't have any regular bills or bank accounts, you are likley to have a great many problems in this society.
You are obviouly some sort of criminal and should be in jail......

You must be able to provide proof of a single fixed physical "primary place of residence" on land at any given time.......how you do that is your problem......the government does not care.......if you cant do that you must be some sort of criminal and should be in jail.

Lots of people have problems with the above, particularly yachties living aboard at anchor or free mourings........but ya gota come up with a place and proof or you will have a very difficult life.

So that sorts your "primary place of residence"... and those are the words to use when dealing with a public servant.....that is where you are legally required to be licenced.

If you are in another state for ANY period of time and you maintain that remains your "primary place of residence", you have to be licenced there.

now when you "travel" it gets complicated.

If you do not stay in one place for long enough to produce proof that you reside there, it can not be your "primary place of residence".....because to process a change of address application you need PROOF.

If however you stay in a single caravan park for 3 months, you are skating on thin ice.

The vehicles are a different thing.......if they are kept or used in a certain location for longer than the prescribed period, they must be registered in that state..that too is clear, plain and simple.

This is a very common case where people keep vehicles or boats at their regular holiday location.
Many people keep cars, boats and caravans in other states.

Again to register that vehicle in that location you need PROOF, both of your identity and that the vehicle is "garraged" at that location.

It all keeps comming back to PROOF.
If ya don't have it you need to get it or generate it.

So if you rock up to the transport department with nothing more than a licence from another state saying you want a vehicle registered here......you will have trouble.

If you have a holiday house, you need to turn up with a power bill, a rates notice or a lease agreement.

Then you can say..... I am a resident of xyz state as proven by my licence and medicare card and this tax return, and my vehicle is reqired under section xyz of your states regulations to be registered at this address where it is permanently garraged, proven by this document here.

As the relationship gets more obtuse.......it all gets harder to prove.
It may require statutary declarations, lease agreements or some such.

It all revolves arround the PROOF.

If the public servant does not understand......the qusetion is....."What PROOF do I need to produce to support this application?".

Believe me some public servants will not cope well with this...but if you keep hammering " regulations require" and " this proof shows" you should eventually get there........

Now to the deal of operating a business in two states.....again the government is blinkered into this whole adresses thing.

To operate a business you have to be able to show a permanent physical address of that business in that state......otherwise you must be a criminal and should be in jail...you also have to have various business regestrations, licences AND workers compensation in that state.

You can operate in one state and do work in another ( a little complicated at times), but you better be blowing back across the border pretty regularly.

Before you embark of such "suspect activity", you need to arrange your affairs so that you can produce the PROOF that is required to quietly get on with your life.

You may be nearly permanently traveling and have a free shed on a relatives place at Outerwhykicksamoocow, where you store your stuff...you could call that your permanent residence.....you may not need power there, but it could be worth getting it put on simply so you have a power bill to show as PROOF

Ya get where its all going.

You have to be able to show a permanent physical " primary place of residence" and produce PROOF, to do just about anything in this country.

AnswerID: 472425

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 21:07

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 21:07
So here's an interesting point. (I'm quoting a mate here) You were born in NZ but are an Aussie citizen. At this point in time you have still have dual nationality. You have bought a vehicle to travel the country but claim an NZ address? How would this go down?

Can you claim a PO BOX as an address?
FollowupID: 747290

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 00:16

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 00:16
I am not sure how the backpackers deal with it all, because lots of them "own" vehicles in this country.

many foreigners can drive here on the licence from their country of origin...even kiwis.

One thing is certain, a P.O. box is not a "place of residence".
You have to provide some other address to apply for a post box.

I am pretty sure there would be "enterprising individuals" providing "places of residence" for such people.

Hell the consulate may even have a roll.......

I don't have a good handle on the overseas stuff.

FollowupID: 747317

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 09:01

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 09:01
OK, sorted! Finally got someone with a brain! All that had to be done was to log on with the old licence number and change the details back to living in SA then it allowed an online registration. So easy, if only a lot of the public servants weren't such a bunch of .................

Thanks for everyone's input.

Lyndon

AnswerID: 472493

Follow Up By: Member - GRAHAM L (VIC) - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 18:10

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 18:10
I had a QLD reg car that rego just ran out and got it reg in Vic while car was in QLD and I was in VIC with another QLD reg car.

Now I have QLD reg car with QLD address and VIC license with QLD address living in QLD.

The first car I bought the plates and rego label to QLD put them on car and went to VIC no problems.

Graham.
FollowupID: 747539

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 12:29

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 12:29
Graham, you have me confused.

I have tried to sort it out but cannot. From my understanding of what you wrote; you have a Victorian licence with a Queensland address on the licence and two cars registered in Queensland at the Queensland address. Is that correct?

If this is a business issue and your business address is in Queensland then I don't need a reply.

FollowupID: 747697

Follow Up By: Member - GRAHAM L (VIC) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:28

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:28
I drove one QLD reg car to VIC where I was going to live. Went to VIC ROADS

and registered the car that was still in QLD took plates and label back to QLD

and put on this car then drove it to VIC. After time I had to come back to

QLD. Gave away one car in VIC , QLD rego ran out. Drove the other back to

QLD and traded it in on car in QLD. Renewed VIC licence with QLD address

and registered the car in QLD using customer number from old QLD licence

that was expired. The biggest problem was that they had two customer

numbers for me .

Hope that clears it up.
FollowupID: 747726

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:38

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:38
That was better. You broke it up a bit and got away from the SMS type text. But I wonder if the Victorian RTA staff actually realised that you had a Queensland address on your Victorian licence. Surely the postcode would give it away.

Quote "Renewed VIC licence with QLD address". Why did you use your Queensland residential address for the Victorian registration when you intended to live in Victoria?

FollowupID: 747739

Follow Up By: Member - GRAHAM L (VIC) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:03

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:03
I had moved back to QLD and then renewed VIC licence.
The car I now have was brought in QLD and registered in QLD.
To register a car in QLD I had to have a QLD customer number which I believe is a licence number from QLD. As I have had QLD licences before they looked on the computer and got the number but they found two and had to delete one. The woman from QLD transport wouldn't give me rego on VIC licence.
But gave me the rego on the QLD customer number without having a QLD
licence.
I sent for the VIC licence renewal from QLD and they said that I could use a QLD address. Who knows where one will call home in the future they should treat Australia as one place.
Interestingly RACV sent me a letter saying that they would not renew my insurance because I was living in QLD but still sent me a membership renewal.

Also the woman from QLD transport said that they should have licences like VIC. 10 years and cheaper.
FollowupID: 747748

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:13

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:13
They cannot treat Australia as one mainly because of the insurance. It is different across the states because the risk is different. Also just imagine if they tried to normalise it nationally what those with increases would say. Of course they would say a most definite "No Leave us separate". Everyone will agree until the hip pocket is hit.

I think if it was me I would cancel the Victorian licence and put the refund pay towards a new Queensland licence.

Thanks for the chat

FollowupID: 747750

Reply By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 17:45

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 17:45
In N.S.W. the cops will ask you where are you registered to vote?

As an example, where I live, we are close to S.A. In S.A. you don't need to have the vehicle checked mechanically each year, after the five year period expires from new.

So, we see a lot of wrecks being driven around town with S.A. plates attached, and I know they are local residents. Of course they will say that they have a rental property or a unit in Adelaide, so they are residents of S.A.

Well hello, don't have a prang, because the first thing the cops will ask you after you produce your driver's licence is, where are you enrolled to vote. If you say N.S.W. then you find yourself making a substantial contribution to the Barry O'Farrell Appeal, and a red or yellow sticker on your windscreen accompanied by a defective vehicle notice.

In addition, I recall being advised that the caravan etc. being towed must be registered in the same state as the tug, otherwise you void any 3rd party insurance should something happen.

As far as I'm aware the only state that will permit you to register a vehicle or hold a driver's licence with an interstate address, is Qld.

If you move from interstate into N.S.W. and you have a licence & vehicle rego. from that state, you have three months grace, then it must reregister the vehicle in N.S.W. & change your licence over. This was brought in some years ago so allow members of the ADF who get moved about a fair bit a little bit of latitude.
AnswerID: 472747

Reply By: menace- Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 22:33

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 22:33
I had the issue of trying to re-new rego into my name after having had bought a vehicle and my licence being from another state..after explaining I work between the two states they just classified me as a dual resident and allowed it
AnswerID: 472763

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 11:24

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 11:24
The rule was that you were licensed at your primary place of residence and your car had to be registered at the same place. That's what we followed for years. When did it change. And I am not interested in business situations. Full time nomads and gypsies, including those away for that "leeway three months or whatever" - that's another issue.

That was easy.

AnswerID: 472890