Internet radio station query

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:08
ThreadID: 90625 Views:2696 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Just doing a bit of market research, as I've been approached by an internet radio station that requires you to "subscribe?" It's called Speed FM. I know I live in a bit of a black hole when it comes to this sort of stuff so just interested to know if many of you listen in to this one, or know of its reputation etc. They love our site so are giving us a plug so decided to look it up to find out more. Interesting...

Thanks Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:23

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:23
Hi David, Only know of them as a motorsport racing orientated organisation. They promote themselves as the Voice of Motorsport if you like. I don't believe their online station would attract non-motorsport listeners despite what they may say. I would think their business has a role to play in the motorsport industry and marketplace, not sure how they would be relevant outside of this?
AnswerID: 472439

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:48

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:48
David. I might be interested if they promoted the Caravan, Camping and 4x4 industry but it looks like they are Motor sport people.

FollowupID: 747258

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 17:04

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 17:04
Yes that's what I was wondering, TerraFirma.
Esarby... have you listened at all? I wondered why they approached us, from the website it didn't give any indication of camping/caravan/camping etc.
Thanks for your responses so far,
Michelle

FollowupID: 747261

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 17:08

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 17:08
Hi Michelle, I think the average sales person would see your site as motoring orientated, which it is to a point, however motoring to the outback is vastly different to Motorsport. I think they are simply looking for vague similarities to market their business to.
FollowupID: 747263

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:44

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:44
Just fishing for advertising leads me thinks.

FollowupID: 747307

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 08:43

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 08:43
Michelle. Is the interest in ExplorOz to drag people away from this site. I am a avid V8 fan and would only watch it on T V or attend a race. It looks like they want to promote there own site, rather than promote E O. How many people would want to have Motor sport running in the background while surfing E. O.

FollowupID: 747329

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:58

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 16:58
My opinion

I listen to the radio on a radio, whether it's at home, in the boat, at the beach or in the Simpson. It's also heaps cheaper. No download cost. And I don't have to have an internet or mobile connection for it to make noise.

Sorry mate but I for one am not going that way.

AnswerID: 472442

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 18:26

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 18:26

I listen to internet radio on my andriod phone using an app called Tune In. Radio stations local and Global.

Its excellent and uses little band width, especially as I utilise my home WiFi.

There are a number of Internet and DAB radios coming into Australia now, these also are very good, I have an older version from Logitech that allows me to play music from my computer hard drive as well as listen to any internet radio around the world.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 472450

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 19:22

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 19:22
Like you Tony, I use Tune In as well and has been great, when no other options are available, and I want to listen to something in particular, which is not very often, but I have that option.

My favourite during the footy season is ABC Grandstand on the internet, when I cannot get audio of a normal radio live broadcast.

I particularly like it when I can listen to the Knights flogging Parramatta :-)

I have no knowledge of that particular station, but I wouldn't discourage any legit corporate input to this site. After all, this is a business, bottom line, and I think management know how to run their business, and corporate support is important.

At the moment as I am typing this, for example, I can see a big Discover Auckland ad, which no doubt brings corporate dollars to management, but has no real relevance to the nitty gritty of explorOz. Just part of any business these days, particularly those conducted on a website.

BTW those wanting to come on board, would have also done their homework, and want to be part of someone elses success.

Thats just MHO.

Fred.
FollowupID: 747276

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 09:13

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 09:13
David,

I have just bought an iPad, resisted it for some time. Like Tony and Fred above, I use Tune-In radio to listen to all sorts of stations streaming on the internet.

But I only listen to music that interests me, sometimes aviation and police scanners from overseas. I don't think I would seek out a radio station because the subject matter (EO type of subjects) is more a visual thing than verbal. Websites that can put their info on my computer screen are a beter choice, and you've got one of the best of them.

Just a clarification: are they wanting to advertise on EO or wanting you to advertise on their radio?

AnswerID: 472494

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 10:14

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 10:14
Thanks for your response Gone Bush. To answer your query, neither is the case. This isn't about advertiisng. I am just trying to find out who they are in the market.

Thanks, Michelle

FollowupID: 747336

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 10:21

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 10:21
Well there's a whole world of research out there for you David. Your black hole will soon fill with light. Overwhelming too.

I am just amazed by the whole internet radio thing.

I have 3 or 4 stations on my iPad that broadcast ONLY Beatles music. Yes, tragic I know, but being a teenager in the early 60's, they were a big influence.

Classical music stations stations from all over the world.

You should have an iPad next to you with Tune-In Radio on it while you are tweaking away at your various web projects.

FollowupID: 747338

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 11:47

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 11:47
Hey ...nothing tragic with that!
Actually, when we were in the states, the car radio was digital FM and I just loved being able to tune into my preferred style of music - there was top 40, rock classics, classical, country etc. That's even better than plugging in your ipod to the car, which I do when driving.
Oh well, think I've got enough feedback now on this issue.
Thanks all once again for your contributions to this topic.
Michelle

FollowupID: 747344

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 10:12

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 10:12
Thanks all for your varied responses.
Just to clarify, they've sent me an email and I"m just doing some background research as I'd never heard of them and didn't know who they were. Being an eastern states production I wasn't sure how well known they were nationally, or indeed what they air on their station. So thanks all for answering my question.
Michelle

AnswerID: 472499