Diesel Chips

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 17:22
ThreadID: 90627 Views:15547 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
Looking at "chipping" my Terracan turbo-diesel but am a bit over awed at all the various claims by the makers. Appreciate any feedback on the two I have narrowed down - Chip It"n" Go and DP Chip. Any other makes with good experience, please let me know.
Old Mal (and gettin older)

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 18:34

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 18:34
Mal,

You should really be considering adding the cip as one part of a suite of modifications to up performance. Your first consideration should be a superior exhaust system such as a 3” mandrell bent system. Most fuel chips work by simply dumping more fuel into the engine. This can have some pretty negative side effects. Firstly, an increase in exhaust gasses needs to be able to escape so if they can’t, the benefit of the chip is outweighed. Both extra fuel and a build-up of exhaust gasses will cause extra heat build up in the motor, particularly when towing and under load. This can cause them to go BANG in a big way so I’d also recommend having an EGT gauge fitted at the same time. Not essential but could be an engine saver by letting you know what’s going on inside the motor temperature wise.

I’m against the standard plug and play type fuel pulse and control type chips. I’ve had the DP in my Nissan Patrol and yes, it gave improvement but it also went bang (No EGT gauge). I’d prefer an integrated system that adjusts the tuning of your vehicle to suit the chip. A few hours on the dyno will ensure that the chip is tuned perfectly with the vehicles tuning and fuel systems and this will help prevent over fuelling, excessive temperatures and the “BANG”. I wrote up the results on chipping my Toyota V8T/D and I found the improvements in power to be very impressive. The write-up is HERE - UTE PERFORMANCE

There was also a very good article/compare in respect to chips in a more recent 4x4Action magazine. I’ve done a bit of a search on the 4x4A site but can’t find the reference. Someone else on the EO site will know it and may post up the Volume Number. A lot to consider and fortunately there are a lot more on the forum more knowledgeable than myself.

AnswerID: 472451

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 19:50

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 19:50
Ditto on Mick O's comments
FollowupID: 747280

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:14

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:14
"I’ve had the DP in my Nissan Patrol and yes, it gave improvement but it also went bang (No EGT gauge)"" ZD30 comes to mind ??? Steinbourer do a chip which has a lot of safety features built into it so it doesnt just throw in extra fuel, It actually goes after the factory module not before like others. It also has a cut out feature built into which at full throttle say pulling up a hill it will cut the chip out and revert back to the factory chip if the temps etc excede the settings. The steinbourer doesnt give the most amount of power or torque compared to some others (roughly 20%) but I think is probably the most reliable that I have read about and from a couple of friends that have them installed.............
FollowupID: 747300

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:21

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:21
Not overly familiar with the Steinbauer but the 4x4Action comparo rated it very highly. Mal, those are the safety features (as outlined by Kimba) that you need to consider so a bit mkore time spent on research may be well worth it.

FollowupID: 747303

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 11:40

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 11:40
Hi Kimba,

Are you sure its the Steinbauer chip that reverts back to standard settings if the EGT is exceeded? I thought only the ChipIt chip had that option, I have it on my ChipIt as I also have the EGT guage and at the time I installed it no-one else did, though this may have changed.

FollowupID: 747343

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 13:34

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 13:34
Hi Captain, thats what they told me ?? Not sure wether there is different setups depending on vehicle ?? but it was one of his big selling points to me as far as not damaging the engine while towing up hills especially where you normally have your foot buried to the floor. I never had EGT guage fitted so have no idea what temps it was running with out even having a chip installed(possibly why the heads go on the 1kz) I never actually had one fitted but a couple of mates did and were extremly impressed with them. I had driven there veicles and could really feel the pulling power difference. I was going to get one fitted but then the head went (cost me 4g) so after it was fixed I bleep it off as there was no guarantee it wouldnt happen again, couldnt afford the D4D without borrowing money so went the 120 4L V6 auto. If I was towing all the time (retired) then definately would go the turbo diesel for economy and have it chipped up but for the maximum 4 weeks a year that I would tow I'll cop the extra fuel costs.
FollowupID: 747351

Reply By: RobAck - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 19:04

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 19:04
We've got a DP in one Prado and a Steinbauer in the other one and I reckon the Steinbauer is the better one. Our engineers advice, yes I have one in my company who knows this stuff, is that the Steinbauer deals with the electrickery better than the DP does as the latter only adjusts fuel and the former works smarter. Driving both vehicles back to back shows benefits in both vehicles.

One thing we did like about the Steinbauer was that the performance gain does not need the added cost of a larger exhaust. As well we have seen marked improvements in fuel consumption and driveability including when towing our Ultimate

Yes I do agree this arena is very confusing. Just remember that when you walk in to a showroom they are in sales mode regardless of good intentions

All the best with the search

Rob
AnswerID: 472453

Reply By: Member - Minty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 20:21

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 20:21
Hi Mal

I think (stand to be corrected) the 'can has a nice stainless steel exhaust system so try these ideas first.
The simplest modifications are:
- remove the muffler...very little change in noise levels
- remove the plastic engine shroud and add a 10" Davies-Craig slimline fan to the intercooler...good for low speed power increase
- add a "power box"...most are pretty good, Chip It"n" Go and DP Chip. Steinbauer probably better. For the cheaper variety ($150) which only increase the rail pressure...keep these wound back a bit...still effective...just not as much
- a snorkel helps with cleaner and cooler air
- go here and look and ask under the Terracan sub-forum.

Brad
AnswerID: 472457

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 20:51

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 20:51
I was recently advised similar by a chip manufacturer , I don't know anything about your particular vehicle but his general comments were that replacing the muffler with a high flow one gives good results in conjunction with a chip. Having too big an exhaust diameter actually reduces ( baffles) airflow as velocity is lost so any potential benefit is lost.
FollowupID: 747286

Follow Up By: Member - Minty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 21:01

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 21:01
It looks like the Terracan has about a 2" (50mm) exhaust.
2.9 litre motor could probably handle a little bit larger exhaust...but is it worth it for the gain? Probably not.
The other modifications work well...including the muffler replacement, either with a high flow muffler or pipe.
FollowupID: 747289

Follow Up By: Member - Alan W (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:16

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:16
Hi Mal,

I had a Terracan with the Steinbauer chip, no other mod. The improvement was marked and fuel economy improved marginally as well .9ltr Km around town better. I now have a Dp chip in my common rail Patrol and although the the two vehicles are obviousy different. i reckon the steinbauer is better than the dp which i feel is overfueling the motor a bit with the black soot on the rear of the vehicle an indication, even though it is set at the factory setting.

When i sold the Terracan, i sold it to another terracan owner who was not happy with a chip he had installed. When he installed the Steinbauer, he coldnt believe the difference it made-loved it Between dp and steinbauer, I would go steinbauer, other chips I cant comment on.
Hope this helps,

FollowupID: 747301

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:28

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011 at 22:28
I spoke directly with the manager of Steinbourer and I informed him I was looking at the Taipan or Beaudesert for my 01 T/D prado 1kz, told me I was totally wasting my money, would probably gain about 2kw at the wheels as the prado already has a decent size exhaust, he said to gain the same as the above exhaust was to remove the centre muffler and get a free flow muffler fitted.I asked about bigger dump pipe at the rear of the turbo, again said for the extra couple of mills in diameter and having to replace the whole system (cant just replace dump pipe) it would result in nothing ?? I would imagine if getting a bigger exhaust was going to increase the power considerably he would have been pushing for me to get one and make the chip look better as well I suppose. Maybe the terracan needs a slight increase in size ?? wouldnt know but as above would be worth checking out the link and see what they say there. My mate added a chip to his 1kz 120 prado, all it did was blow black smoke and crap all over the camper and back of prado so he had to turn it back down anyway which defeated the point in having it, (wont say the brand) and he spent over 1g on exhaust, reckons it was the biggest waste of money he spent. He replaced the chip with a steinbourer and is wrapped in its performance and has had a tiny gain in economy (not worth bragging about) but said with camper on pulls heaps better up hills without excess black smoke like before.........
FollowupID: 747304

Reply By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 16:10

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 16:10
I sent a note to Chipit asking about their chip after reading this thread and got a very extensive reply which they asked me to upload. I have no affiliation with them but have been looking in to getting a chip one day i am posting it as it contains a lot of useful info if you are looking for a chip, hopefully others see it that way. I don't know much about them so hopefully this will give you some ideas.

There are also quite a few attachments which i will load up in a subsequent thread.
(sorry cut and paste did not work well)

The following is from Chipit

Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: LOGO 1

Diesel Performance Solutions

Power when you need it

The Chip It Performance Module Kit is DIY (plug in and drive away) and comes with full instructions on a little thumb drive provided. Installation is therefore easy. Fuel economy is usually increase by around 7 % depending on how you drive. I (director of Chip It) personally get 5% better economy however I do drive harder than most. Some of our customers do not get any fuel saving however their module is probably tuned with higher power tunes and they are more than happy with that.

Attached are some dyno results of different vehicles to show what power we get up to. On your vehicle you will get around 30% more torque from our standard tune. ( next thread Richard)

I should point out the many differences between the Chip It Module and our competitors.

On the newer Common Rail engine, the Chip It Module will connect to 2 sensors in your existing factory plugs One is the Fuel Pressure Sensor (which the other Chip Manufacturer also do) ... the other one is to the Turbo Boost Sensor (which is UNIQUE to Chip It). This second plug connection allows us to control turbo boost as well.

This gives us fuel AND air maps to adjust to get the best air/fuel ratios … which equals better tunes. It also means we are not just dumping a lot of extra fuel in like others. By adjusting both the fuel and the turbo pressure it means we also achieve less exhaust gas temperatures and less black smoke due to over fuelling!

If you are purchasing our EGT Controlled Performance Module then this would be the 3rd sensor we are plugging into. (2nd sensor for pre common rail vehicles).

This engine safety feature (again unique to Chip It), is explained in the 4WD Action Magazine Product Review.pdf (attached) and also further down in this email.

A little information on our competitors.

This bit removed by Richard. I will send it to you if you want.

Our Performance Modules are digitally tuned via a laptop computer which means each cell (or load point) is adjusted to suit the right fuel amount needed for YOUR family of engine and we develop ALL tunes directly on our own in-house dyno. If we need to add a good amount of fuel in the mid-range and only a little amount at the top end ... we can. Again, other chips cannot as a variable resistor will add fuel EVERYWHERE by the same percentage.

This professional tuning ability of our Performance Module allows us to better tune your engine and provide higher torque numbers safely.

These are the benefits we have in our favour:

1) More features, including Exhaust Gas Temp monitoring and control, (this feature de-tunes the engine when EGTs get too high)

2) Better tunes … (not only do we address the Fuel curve, but we also address Turbo Boost Curve (on Common Rail vehicles),

3) Aussie made product, (no other chip sold in Australia is made in Australia)

4) Tuned for Aussie cars with Aussie fuels,

5) Tuned by us with our own in-house dyno... no overseas tunes or non Aussie speaking 3rd party involved,

6) Australian Based Tech Support,

7) Better prices and much better value for money (prices start at $999.00 for NON EGT Controlled power Modules),

8) 30 days money back guarantee,

9) 5 Years warranty,

10) New Vehicle Engine Warranty Option,

11) Custom Tuning (if desired) ... which again, other manufacturers do not have.

Let me expand on point No. 11. As mentioned, our Modules are fully plug in and drive away with no extra tuning required. However, when you wish to have a full custom tune our Module allows this. With all the other Chips on the market, you just turn the knob on the front panel to increase the resistance value. This then is NOT a “custom tune” to suit your vehicle as changes are NOT made to suit your individual engine’s needs. This is NOT so with the Chip It Module. Real-time tuning capabilities are given to every Chip It Custom Tune Dealer and adjustments to tunes can be provided via email to you the customer … for free and the Chip It Macro Tuning Software allows YOU to flash the tunes to the Module within seconds.

The EGT Controlled Module allow you to run high performance tunes without risk of damage to the engine because the in-cabin display (and data logger) keeps the performance tune in-place ONLY whilst EGTs are at safe levels. It will change to factory standard tune IF the EGT's climb too high. Again, this is unique feature to Chip it.

This feature is highly recommended to those customers that are using their vehicle for towing caravans, boats or other heavy equipment.

We also have 5 years warranty and 30 day money back guarantee.

Check out this video of our Chip.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSgQp9-TiLU&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Considering the above, you can see that we provide really good value for money and why we are gaining a lot of customers from those who thought that DP Chip etc were the only performance chips on the block.

About engine warranty. Click on this link and go down to the bottom where it talks about the Australian_Automotive_Aftermarket_Association.pdf another link shows the Warranty laws in Australia.

http://www.chipit.com.au/product-info

The first paragraph of page 9 (in that link) explains that Dealers/Manufacturers CANNOT void Statutory Warranty simply from customers fitting aftermarket parts. BTW, I have a NS Pajero and had our Performance Module fitted for the last 40,000kms. No problems and Dealers have seen it. However, I ALWAYS recommend people REMOVE the Module (5 mins work) before going back to the Dealer for any warranty work. For normal service work, find a good local mechanic with whom you can start a good relationship with. He will take care of the vehicle better than the Dealer anyway.

Sincerely,

Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Jumping Triton.jpg

Robert

CHIP IT

Power When You Need It

Office: 1800 78 48 82

Fax: (02) 9807-9000

Address: 50 Buffalo Road Gladesville NSW 2137

Email: sales@chipit.com.au

Web: www.chipit.com.au

Be Green, read from the screen...

********** Confidentiality Notice and Disclaimer **********

This email and any attachments are intended only for the use of the recipient and may be confidential and/or legally privileged.

Chip It disclaims liability for any errors, omissions, viruses, loss and/or damage arising from using, opening or transmitting this email.

If you are not the intended recipient you must not use, interfere with, disclose, copy or retain this email and you should notify the sender immediately by return email or by contacting Chip It by telephone on 1800 78 48 82.

All sales from Chip It are subject to Chip It Terms and Conditions available upon request or viewable on the website www.chipit.com.au

Robert

CHIP IT

Power When You Need It

Office: 1800 78 48 82

Fax: (02) 9807-9000

Address: 50 Buffalo Road Gladesville NSW 2137

Email: sales@chipit.com.au

Web: www.chipit.com.au

u

AnswerID: 472594

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 16:32

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 16:32
here are the attachmennts

Some of the attchements could not be loaded as was PDF.

If interested let me know and I can email them to you

missing were
FAQ PDF,

PRODUCT review pdf

Why are EGTs important
FollowupID: 747435

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 17:05

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 17:05
This is fantastic info, Rich - thank you very much.

I hope it doesn't get moderated for advertising or whatever - it's the kind of info that people who are considering a chip need.

Thanks again

Frank

FollowupID: 747437

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 17:55

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 17:55
Frank,
No worries I hope you get something out of it.

I have more info which I could not load, pm me with an email address and I will send it to you.
by the way I do not have a chip in my car yet but was looking around and found the chipit guys who seem to be on the ball.

I am not sure I understand it all though :).

FollowupID: 747441

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 11:27

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 11:27
In my 200 I have the ChipIt chip and EGT guage. The EGT interfaces with the chip so in the event that the EGT gets above your target (I have set 560C) then the tune reverts to standard.

Normally my EGT stays well below 550C even when on full throttle, but when towing up say a long hill with a flat foot and overtaking, then I have had the EGT go above 560C and the tune revert back.

While backing off the accelerator would achieve the same thing, its a great comfort to know that the ChipIt does it automatically if you are not looking at the EGT to notice.

FollowupID: 747507

Reply By: Old Mal - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 10:22

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 10:22
Phew, lots to contemplate ! I really appreciate all the comments to my initial enquiry. Thanks to all and mMerry Xmas, Regards
Old Mal (older but wiser now)
AnswerID: 472659