Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 13:16
buzzz
heya,
now i guess we all do it to some extent, but how safe is it to travel with bottles and cartridges inside a vehicle? what if you are on a tour, its 40 degrees in the shade and you
park up for whatever reason and leave the vehicle for a couple of hours or so, will things go boom?
jamie
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 13:33
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 13:33
jamie,
If gas bottles or cartridges are inside the vehicle the possibility is always there.
Cheers Dave.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 14:18
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 14:18
Recent thread 90605 had lots of discussion on this Jamie.
All I can say is that 1 million vehicles will travel just that way over this holiday period , so what do you reckon !
Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 15:20
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 15:20
Hi buzzz, If you leave a bottle of LPG in your car and lock it up in the sun it would have to get to 500 deg before (as you say boom). That the ignition point without a spark or flame .
http://www.propanecarbs.com/propan4.jpghttp://www.propanecarbs.com/propan10.jpg I have
mine in a vented box and it gets hot.
Andy
Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 15:29
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 15:29
If the frequency of exploding gas bottles increases, the insurance companies will get involved, and we will all be forced to have "explosion safes" in our vehicles. Just like they do in Telstra, Gas, and power supply companies.
Capt.
Reply By: Jo K1 - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 16:11
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 16:11
Hi Buzzz,
You will find if it gets too hot in the car the relief valve will start to expel gas. This is why also cyls are only filled to 8o% to allow for expansion.
Reply By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 16:15
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 16:15
I reckon if a gas bottle goes up in yr car the cartridges will be the least of your problems. Both are fine but I try to avoid carrying gas in the car just the same.
Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 18:49
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 18:49
Whats the difference with travelling with these containers in them, compared to storing them in your shed when not travelling? I know my shed gets hot. With all the bas bottles, aerosol cans, fuel, etc, its a wonder they don't go bang more often, especially with those people who enter the shed with a lit smoke. How many other people have sheds like this?
Reply By: Whirlwinder - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 21:14
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 21:14
It is perfectly safe to carry gas bottles/cartridges in your car UNTIL you have any sort of leak. Leave the car closed for a while with a very small leak and you will blow yourself into the next street when you open the door and the light switch spark ignites the "bomb". I know this for a fact as our immediate neighbour did just that and died instantly.
If you choose to take the risk please don't
park near me.
Follow Up By: urbanus - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 23:43
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011 at 23:43
This is what happens with a leaking acetylene gas cylinder so use your imagination what propane or LPG might be like.
FJ Cruiser goes Boom!
Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 03:40
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 03:40
buzzz
Do not store them in direct sunlight.
For peace of mind, just chuck some clothes over them, to act as insulation.
Cheers Bucky
Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 09:00
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 09:00
So what do you do about the LPG storage cylinder at the servo, or the one outside your motel unit? Was this advice from the "Minister" or entirely your own idea? LOL
Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 10:08
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 10:08
There might be a couple of considerations worth thinking about,
Firstly if you need to carry it inside be aware that as the temperatures rise the gas may vent into the vehicle. Most explosions in vehicles occur because gas has vented from bottle and then been exposed to a spark, which could be created by opening a car door.
The second is that make sure it is secured just in case you are involved in an accident. And bear in mind if involved in an accident it authorities might investigate the carriage of the gas cylinder contrary to regulations...
Cheer’s The Landy
Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 11:20
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 11:20
Unless the gas bottles are damaged or overfilled they should be safe from explosion because of pressure buildup as they heat up. Have a look at the front of any van and you will see them in direct sunlight at whatever the ambient temperature is. They will be hot to touch but still safe. The main issue is that as the temperature increases the pressure also increases and you may get slight leaks from the valve. If the bottle is in an enclose space then you get a build up of gas in that space. If the mixture of gas and air is correct (by the way the range where gas burns is quite narrow) then any ignition source will set it off.
So there are a number of conditions that need to be met to generate an explosion. That explains why this rarely happens. But if you carry a bottle in an enclosed space the risk is there and the effects are very destructive. I have only heard of this happening once where I was sure of the source. It was in a trailer and everthing in the trailer was destroyed with minor damage to the trailer.
The gas cartidges may be a different kettle of fish, read the instructions on the outside of the can.
Reply By: bob smith 1 - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 15:18
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 15:18
What about the fella that got blown to pieces by some kind of gas leak in his van the other day, poor bugger !
Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:54
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:54
He was carrying oxyacetylene from memory... a little different to LPG.
Reply By: bob smith 1 - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 14:20
Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 14:20
I see another person was blown up in
Darwin today from presumably gas.
I suppose no matter what the gas, lpg, cannister bottles, wifes hot air, etc. Once it builds up in an enclosed area anything is possible.
Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 18:15
Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 18:15
The tragedy of 2
young men being blown to smithereens inside 1 week & the discussions on this
forum have prompted me to reconsider how I carry gas containers.
I have recently been carrying butane gas canisters in the box on the back of the ute thinking things were fine because it is in a separate compartment.
Now I think I will get the welder out & knock up a lockable vented box under the tray & go back to carrying gas bottles.
I was reluctant to carry gas bottles in the box because of the volume of gas that could vent. For some reason I thought the smaller butane canisters might be safer. They probably are. But still dangerous.