Dobinsons Suspension for 76 series wagon

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 20:15
ThreadID: 90661 Views:8029 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Hi there everyone hope you all have a great Christmas.I have a question regarding Dobinsons suspension im getting a 2 inch lift on my 76 series wagon, to increase load carrying performance and give me more clearance.Im thinking of putting in firestone air bags in the back , so i can keep my general driving comfort the same hopefully, and then when carrying loads i can use the air bags, to increase the load carrying so im not dragging my bum on the ground.Just wondering what other people think of this is it right? Im no expert or are there other people out there with a 2 inch lift,on same vehicle, and what way did you go.Has anyone used Dobinsons suspension before at all ?

Thanks Nic

Reply By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 20:56

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 20:56
G’day Nic, I have heavy duty Dobinson torsion bars, Dobinson gas shocks front and rear, Dobinson coil springs rear and Polyair Springs. I gained about a 60mm lift when that wasn’t necessarily the intention. I tow a heavy camper trailer but love the desert with everything loaded on the cruiser… no trailer. I pump the air bags to 30psi while the vehicle is unloaded. After loading I let out enough air to lower the cruiser to its unloaded height. Highly recommend what you propose.
Myles.
AnswerID: 472613

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:07

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:07
Thats a nice rig you got there mate
FollowupID: 747464

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 23:04

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 23:04
Thanks Nic…. I quite like it. There are some good comments on this thread. I have read several over the years where contributors know of damage caused to chassis but I’ve never read of damage to a cruiser’s chassis caused from air bags. I have heavy duty suspension that has very little sag when under load before I put the bags in. I had bags in a previous 4wd and I believe they extend the life of your suspension and that is the main reason for investing in them. I also agree with Serendipity comment about them reducing body roll when fully loaded.
Myles.
FollowupID: 747544

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 22:57

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 22:57
Yes I am going the heavier set up with the airbags that will be my final decision thank so much for the help
FollowupID: 747612

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 21:47

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 21:47

Why would you pay for new leaf springs and then have to use air bags to carry the load?

New aftermarket leaf springs gaining a 2 inch lift should be longer than the factory spring so that the rear shackle is still sitting around the 30 degree mark when empty. The spring should be two stage so only the softer top stage is being used when empty.

Air bags and leaf springs are a recipe for disaster.

Dobinsons supply a quality product so I would hold off on the air bags untill you try their suspension. If you find it sags when loaded then another leaf in the bottom pack may be all that's required.

Leaf springs can be supplied in a variety of ratings ie comfort ride , part time load carrying , or constant load carrying.

Many people on this forum will disagree but you only have to look at the chassis damage to vehicles with leaf springs and air bags.

I run constant 600kg leaf springs and the rare times that I drive empty the ride is still quite good

There are various spring works and aftermarket suppliers but if you were to make a list and a weight estimate accordingly of your proposed load it would help in your spring choice.

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 472617

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:05

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:05
I will be totalling my future weight that i will be carrying and my current weight which i drive around on and see what they come up with
FollowupID: 747463

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 22:40

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 22:40
Having used airbags previously my concern was about focussing the load on one place on the chasis rather than two when the leaf springs distributes it over two places. I changed to a two inch lift and ditched the airbags, caster correction bushes and an adjustable bearing in the hub to make it track straight. Happy with the end result but I prefer to avoid unnecessary weights if I can avoid it as I reckon this can be a killer. Cheers, Leigh
AnswerID: 472624

Reply By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 22:57

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 22:57
Ok different views thats interesting.I have heard many good reports on air bags did not know that they are creating damage?Funny i wonder why ARB and another really big 4wdrive shop here in perth suggested the air bags they do hundreds of mine fit outs with them on the air bags .
AnswerID: 472625

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:17

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:17
From what i gathered from the 2 shops i went to,there main point was as it will not be loaded all the time,that when it did get loaded the heavy leaf springs would work. But the the comfort level would not be so great.So that is where i thought the air bags were a great idea so then when i load up and tow the camper trailer everything would be fine as i would have the airbags pumped up
FollowupID: 747466

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:19

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:19
So the medium leaf springs were the go they reakon the people i spoke to today
FollowupID: 747467

Follow Up By: Geoff H (Q - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 15:28

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 15:28
I haven't heard of the sir bags affecting Cruisers, but they have snapped a few dual cabs.
FollowupID: 747528

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 16:00

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 16:00
How from just big loads creating a weak point?
FollowupID: 747532

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 17:54

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 17:54
Yep, never heard of airbags busting a Landcruiser chassis so don't worry about that one. On the dual cabs, people load too much weight behind the rear axle and the chassis flexes too much between the cab and tray. Patrol chassis bend because the chassis is a bit weak - especially the coil towers on the coil cabs.

I've had airbags in my 79series for a few years now:
- don't use them as a substitute for strong springs - weight still needs to be supported on the spring eyes as the manufacturer intended. Use them to fine tune the rear height.
- Be prepared to lose about 80mm of rear articulation, so you'll start lifting wheels
- Don't put any more than say 25 psi - if you put more in, they will become rock hard and that's when chassis damage will happen. The airbag mobs sometimes tell you 100psi is OK!
- They reduce the sway considerably on a 79series because the 79's don't have a rear swaybar. Probably will reduce sway on a 76series but less so.
- Your 76 series has shorter rear leaf springs than the 78/79 series, so is more likely to get a hard ride from stiff springs.
FollowupID: 747537

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 19:05

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 19:05
Thanks Phil for that so I think I will be going the heavy leaf springs.
FollowupID: 747541

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:40

Thursday, Dec 15, 2011 at 23:40
I have a 79 series ute and had the similar problem. I originally went for just air bags but then was a bit concerned after seeing some cars bent in half over their air bag lift points - admittedly they where not landcruisers but the smaller lighter duty mid range 4x4.

I then went for a 400kg heavier leaf spring kit with added heavier front coils. They have been great - I can fully load the ute and it barely moves down. I have kept the air bags and still use them not to lift the load but to tighten up the body roll when I am fully loaded. Works well. See my forum entry 82744

I hummed and hahhed about going to the max of a 600kg lift kit but balked at having the suspension that hard all the time. It might be different in the station wagon but with a ute when there is nothing on the back they are very light and tend to get a bit tail whippy. With out anything on the back it can be a bit stiff but with even a light load it is great.

It has been a year since the 2in lift and upgraded suspension and all is well. I chose to go with a local spring manufacturer in Perth - West Coast Suspention cost = $2000 - upgraded leaf springs, upgraded coils springs, new shocks all round, new steering dampener, new shackles, U bolts, poly bushes, greasable shackle pins and fitted. I was pretty happy.

Hope that helps.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 472626

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 13:38

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 13:38
Hi Nic, Our ARB Toowoomba advised against airbags. Instead they completely changed the springs to heavy duty with Oldman Emu suspension & 2 inch lift with the intension of towing a heavy van. To be honest with you I hated it at first. Very rough ride but after picking up our new caravan yesterday with a tow ball weight 230kg the whole ride was different. I'm not one to go to sleep while travelling but I did. When the van went on it dropped a bit then the leveller's went on what a difference that makes. The whole set up is expensive but piece of mind is a huge thing to have. The test coming up the range i was particularly interested in. It was great still in third up the steep section then a truck pulled out in front of us and the rest of the ride turned to sh**.
Good luck with your 76 wagon
Sharon
AnswerID: 472674

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 14:41

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 14:41
I dont think il go the airbags il have to find a harder spring that works and is half comfortable when im not loaded.
FollowupID: 747523

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 18:31

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 18:31
Ive had airbags on my Fully loaded 3" lifted Rodeo for 4 years now - No issue

I have Dobinsons shockies

Regards Tony
AnswerID: 472694

Reply By: turbo 79series - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 19:08

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 19:08
Ok I think I'll go the heavy leaf springs and the whole package to suit that for the lift.
AnswerID: 472695