Solar powered battery trickle charger

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 23:45
ThreadID: 9067 Views:21221 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Spotted an ad in Repco catalogue for ICP Global Technologies, BatterySaver PRO5W, a 12V solar powered battery charger. Ad says "Trickle charger, maintains battery level. Ideal for boats, 4WD's, light trucks, small tractors". Cost $119 and comes with 5 yr warranty.

Admit to being a solar novice but it struck me as the perfect thing for trickle charging/maintaining our camper battery when not in use. Currently hubby uses a 240V battery charger which he has to remember to hook up and unhook at regular intervals. Thought the solar thingy might alleviate this chore...kinda hook it up when we get home and forget until next trip. If so, it would be a great Christmas present for him. Spoke to 12V shop in Perth...they have a similar product/price and reckon the 5 watt rating is ideal for trickle charging but that's about it which is OK because we have no need of anything else.

So my question is has anyone got one of these ICP panels or similar solar trickle charger and how do you find them?

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog

Reply By: Member- Rox - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 00:17

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 00:17
Melissa, Ive got the 3 stage charger from 12 vt shop (20 amp) & can have that on perment charge as it will Trickel charge. Don't need to disconect!!!!I don't save My daylight
AnswerID: 39798

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:47

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:47
Thanks Rox. Hubby has a trickle charger but doesn't like leaving the 240V extention cord permanently lying around across the yard or carport (depending where the trailer is) because of our curious toddler.

FollowupID: 257590

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 08:56

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 08:56
My old man and I built a solar powered trickle charge unit for the tractor and ride-on at my nan's farm. It was a Jaycar kit. Works a treat.
AnswerID: 39814

Reply By: William - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 08:57

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 08:57
We have three of those iSun solar panels we use to trickle charge the battery on our portable DGPS units we place on top of hills while we do survey work in the area, and to charge NiMH batteries using an iSun battery charger.
It would be ideal and will also help to keep your battery charged while camping. Any power into the battery while camping is a plus and saves using non-renewable fuel. Solar is an excellent way to go.
www.isunpower.com
You can buy the iSun NiMH battery chargers from DSE www.dse.com.au
AnswerID: 39815

Reply By: Member - Ross - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 10:53

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 10:53
I bought one from Tandy/Dick Smith for about $60. 125 mA which if all you need and an inbuilt regulator which is very important. Leave it hooked up to the CT battery and you're in business.Fidei defensor

Rosco
AnswerID: 39831

Follow Up By: Member - NOBBY - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 14:36

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 14:36
Ross.. I have a Camper Trailer that has two 105 DC Trojan. Would your set up keep them charged at home without any drain on them? I had to charge them yesterday (which I do every month) and it took me all day.
FollowupID: 257500

Follow Up By: William - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 18:30

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 18:30
You would be far better off using a 5w panel for batteries of that capacity. A 125mA panel is really not sufficient. A 5w panel is around 400mA depending on how they rate the 5w output.
You should not let your Trojan batteries get to a state of under 60% capacity. If you do they will not last long.
FollowupID: 257513

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 19:21

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 19:21
I'm not an electrical whizzbang so you're asking the wrong bloke.

I've got a 100AH aux battery which is brand spankers and have hooked up the solar gizmo to keep it that way. Purely trickle feed. If it's part flat I've no doubt you'd be sitting in the sun for quite a while waiting for it to recharge at that rate.

I use it purely to keep the bludger in shipshape order between trips, where it's charged off the beast whilst in transit.Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257520

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:45

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:45
Nobby,

I'm no solar expert but when I was at Supercheap yesterday (see post below) I noticed they had 10W solar trickle chargers which according to the blurb on the box was ideal for maintaining multiple batteries. I think they were around $129 but probably on special for less as was the 5W panel I got.

FollowupID: 257589

Follow Up By: BrianR - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 10:49

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 10:49
A 5 watt panel is a bit small to trickle charge 2 x 105 AH batteries. Generally you would charge at maybe C/200 rate. C is the battery AH size, so here it is 210, so a long term trickle charge is 1.05A (approx) (say 1A). Now the solar cell wattage rating needed is 1A x voltage, which assuming there is no charge regulator is close to 15V, so a 15W solar cell is needed.

Certainly a 5W cell will help but might not be enough.

FollowupID: 257656

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:54

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:54
Thanks to all who replied to my post. You convinced me that this was the way to go so I now have one stashed under the bed to go into hubby's Chrissy sack, LOL. In case anyone else was interested, I ended up getting a 5W unit from SuperCheap Auto for $79. They are currently on special (about $20 off normal price) as well as different output panels (2.5W, 10W). Repco and 12V Shop (Perth) had the next best price at $119, Dick Smith $129. Moral of the story...shop around!

AnswerID: 39959

Follow Up By: Member - NOBBY - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 16:23

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 16:23
Thanks for that. I will go see Supercheap to-morrow and see if they are the same prices in Bris.These forums sure beat having to hunt around different shops at this time of the year.
FollowupID: 257596