Where are all the Flies ?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:02
ThreadID: 90684 Views:3913 Replies:14 FollowUps:8
They are noticeable by there absence here in the Hunter Valley NSW.

Very few flies compared to our normal invasion at this time of the year.

Maybe they will be back with a vengence once it actually dries out and warms up a bit. It's a very comfortable 22C here this morning.

So how is the fly situation in your part of Oz.

Reply By: Member - Michael N (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:35

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:35
Fred G

The flies are at the Fassisfern Reserve Rest Area near Aratula in Queensland. My wife and I spent two days there this week and I thought about putting on my head net LOL.

Mick
AnswerID: 472722

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:38

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:38
On an 9 week tour of outback QLD (via NT, and home through NSW) in school term 3 of this year, I think we could have just about given names to the few we saw - quite amazing, when we think of the impossible plagues we've endured at times on outback trips. As for here in Adelaide ?......... we don't do flies (anymore).
AnswerID: 472723

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:40

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:40
We've got a few billion to spare in WA - give me you address I'll send them over - lol.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 472724

Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 15:21

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 15:21
Funny, no one has posted their address yet Phil.
You might not have to share after all.
FollowupID: 747585

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:08

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:08
philB is right on the money with flies in WA. I just did a Karratha to Geraldton trip and overnighted at the lookout at Gladstone, to say there were millions of the blighters would be a gross underestimate.??

Sue
Karratha WA.
FollowupID: 747587

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 22:23

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 22:23
Any one know Sir Kevs address.. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

jOSH
FollowupID: 747611

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 09:20

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 09:20
Josh :-))) that's naughty LOL.

BTW where is he?
FollowupID: 747622

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:45

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 10:45
Mosquitos frightened em off?
AnswerID: 472725

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 11:49

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 11:49
G'day FG, theyr'e all here at my place on holidays - I'll be sending 'em all home to you soon! hoo roo
AnswerID: 472728

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 20:48

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 20:48
g'day dingo.

Mate, just send them to any address with a postcode starting with 6 LOL.
FollowupID: 747602

Reply By: Member - nick b - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:25

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:25
Gooday All : from south Australia , flies are absent here ...." No flies on us "....

cheers nick
Cheers Nick

AnswerID: 472730

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:53

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:53
Yeah, but you can see where they've been though??
FollowupID: 747577

Reply By: landseka - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:44

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:44
No shortage of them here in Pinjarra WA. A net is a requisite when mowing lawn, walking dog etc & definitely no bbq til after dark.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 472731

Reply By: the_fitzroys - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 14:43

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 14:43
We had the same reaction in late October while camping at Hattah Kulkyne and later on the Darling north of Pooncarie. Flies were noticeable by their absence. Some years on the Darling they are insane. We were nearly driven mad by them in early Spring here in Melbourne though.
Lou
AnswerID: 472736

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 14:50

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 14:50
Hi Fred, I was surprised that there are no flies at Lorella Springs NT. But drove past a dead bull the other day and you would need the Mortein factory.

AnswerID: 472737

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:52

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:52
Fred

We had to use a long drop just north of Albury this afternoon.

Use your imagination. LOL

FollowupID: 747591

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 20:40

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 20:40
Thanks Boo Boo....LOL.

I'm gonna have nightmares now.....:-)))))
FollowupID: 747601

Reply By: Paul V1 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:57

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:57
Mate they are all here in Mandurah along with the damn mozzies still.
AnswerID: 472742

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 20:44

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 20:44
Looks like they are enjoying that WA hospitality.

Clever little buggas aren't they?

Maybe we could institute a Fly Watch, here, just like Weather Watch, and avoid them pesky blighters :-))))

AnswerID: 472755

Reply By: Gavin M2 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 03:10

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 03:10
Yes, we noticed them in abundance on a recent trip through the south west to Busselton. Looks like it's a WA plague this year (?)

Is it true that the Government is no longer funding dung beetle releases in Australia? Seems pretty short-sighted if true. Hoards of flies do nothing to impress tourists or enhance an area's desirability as a tourist destination!

Gavin
AnswerID: 472770

Reply By: landed eagle - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 09:07

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 09:07
Lots of those big 'heavy bombers' here in Hobart at the moment. Quite unusual for this time of year. Lots of friends asking whether everyone else is experiencing them too.
We nuke a whole bunch of them and an hour later the house windows are full of the flying maggots again.......weird for Tassie.Weather conditions must be just right.
AnswerID: 472780

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 18:23

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 18:23
Now you've stirred the 'nest'.... they'll be there tomorrow!

Round here I've noticed the dung beetles are going great guns... maybe kept the fly popn down?
AnswerID: 472818