Second-hand soft 4wd - what to choose

I am looking at buying a 'soft' 4wd - like most people I guess trying to get the best balance between fuel economy (it will be my only vehicle), ability to go on rough roads (I'm moving to the NT and like to camp) and storage space. I don't have much of a budget so am thinking of something around a 1997 - 2000 model. After reading up on forums and car mag reviews, I was leaning towards a Forester, but I've been told that Foresters of that period have too low clearance and an X-Trail would be better. What do you think? I'm open to other suggestions too. Also, I've been reading a lot about auto versus manual and am a bit confused what to go for - or doesn't it matter too much and I should just take whatever I can get the best deal on? I've never had a 4wd and am a bit worried I might risk damaging the clutch if I get a manual. Finally, it's been a long time since I've bought a car and in those days I had lots of blokey friends who knew about mechanics. Sadly I don't nowadays... Any pointers on what I should look out for? I'm aiming for not much more than 150,000km. Is an RACV 4wd check worthwhile? - it seems like it's pretty basic and I've heard mixed things.

Apologies if these are stupid questions - appreciate any advice you can offer.

Thanks!

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:00

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:00
What about a Suzuki Grand Vitara? It will be most probably be cheaper for the equivalent year Subaru/X Trail. Plus it has a true low range box as opposed to the Subaru (there is no transfer in the auto but the manual has one) and the Xtrail has known problems of overheating in the sand.

The Grand Vitara would be stronger then the Subaru/Nissan as it has a proper chassis and has higher clearance.
AnswerID: 472729

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:47

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:47
I would agree - from what you have indicated I would also go for a Grand Vitara and then the Forester.

Alternatives are the X trail (reliable but does have trans heading issues), Honda CRV (not a good 4wd system in the early models). RAV4 solid and reliable, Escape/Tribute (Ok nothing special), Freelander (stay away from petrol versions - diesels are excellant and the most capable of non low range softroaders), Suzuki Jimny (capable 4wd with low range but a bit small)

Go a Grand Vitara.

FollowupID: 747576

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 13:02

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 13:02
Air intake on Escape and Tribute is VERY low too. Watch out for water crossings.
Rav 4 doesn't have low range either. Heaps of after market stuff available for them though.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747578

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:44

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:44
Freelanders are cheap for a reason. Heaps of drive train issues costing thousands. Can't remember off hand but it was either the centre diff or the gearbox. I just remember that when I researched them, the word "Lemon" came up a lot.
Fab.
FollowupID: 747588

Reply By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:52

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:52
I was faced with the same problem a while back. I needed something that was tough enough to do some off road work, but not so heavy that I'd be living at the service station.

In the end I bought a Pajero io (the QA model). Japan built/Australian delivered (they're not grey imports). Got mine with 130K on the clock in mint one owner condition for well under $10K. Since then the price has come down even more.

The pluses:
A real 4X4 with a transfer case
Fuel economy is brilliant
Has all the mod cons of more expensive cars
Is powered by the same family engine as Lancers (reliable and common for parts).
Factory centre diff lock.

The down side:
After market accessories can be a bit hard to source.
The fuel tank is a bit on the small side (55 litres) - still good for 450-500 on the highway and 380-400 around town.

Nothing wrong with the Suzzies either but I wanted something a bit different and a bit less expensive to buy. Try one, drive one, look at the specs sheets. Read the internet reviews. Apparently the biggest bitch is that they were discontinued and poorly marketed, otherwise a very under-rated, very capable off roader.

They sell like hot cakes overseas and go by the name of Pajero Pinin, TR4, Montero etc.

My 5cents worth.
Fab.
AnswerID: 472732

Follow Up By: rambling - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 18:33

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 18:33
Hi fab, I've done lots of reading & the io definitely seems to suit what I'm after. Only thing is there aren't too many around & I'm wondering if this makes it difficult / expensive to get parts. How have you found it?
FollowupID: 748914

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 23:23

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 23:23
G'Day rambling.
After market accessories are definitly a problem trying to source. Other than that, pretty good really.

The reason I found that there isn't many around is because (A) not a huge number were delivered into Australia, and (B) the people that buy them generally hang onto them.

Parts are no harder or any more expensive than those from your run of the mill Mitsubishi Lancer, and available through any Mitsi dealer. Compared to products like Nissan, Subbie and Honda - they're very cheap.

I haven't had to buy anything other than service parts like filters etc, and from speaking to fellow io owners, that's generally all you'll need to buy.

Very under-rated, very capable car. You'll have to try pretty hard to get one stuck too....and I have tried, believe me!

Fab.
FollowupID: 748957

Follow Up By: rambling - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 08:55

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 08:55
Thanks, that's a relief to hear. Hopefully there'll be a couple more on the market soon!
FollowupID: 748983

Reply By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:59

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 12:59
Couple of other things. Anything with a Subbie badge on the front is expensive for parts.

X-Trail...very capable car, and I might be wrong here but I believe they are front wheel drive with a viscous/electric centre coupling. Not necessarily all bad, it's the same as a Holden Captiva set up and I've managed to get into the Simpson Desert with a Captiva twice so can't be that bad. Parts again are expensive.

RACV inspection....A MUST!

Try and get something that has been potted around town with a full service history. Avoid anything that's come down recently from Queensland (floods).

I prefer manual especially if teamed up with a petrol engine any smaller than around 2.5 litres. Although Autos in sand are the way to go.

That's me done. I'm sure others will add to or disagree with what I've said, but take my word for it....have a serious look at an "io".

Fab.

AnswerID: 472733

Reply By: stevie1947 - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:43

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 16:43
Have a look at a Nissan Pathfinder v6. A great reliable 4wd and u could pick up a good one for around the $10 grand mark.
AnswerID: 472740

Reply By: Member - Anthony W Adelaide - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 00:00

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 00:00
Its a bit hard to go past an 80 series toyota. Good solid reliable 4wd. Plenty around under 10k, some on gas. Don't let high kays put you off.
Wooly VKS-737 Mobile 0058

AnswerID: 472766

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 00:04

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 00:04
We lived in Darwin for years and my wife firstly drove a Suzuki Sierra - great little car that went everywhere - just not a lot of room.

Later she bought a toyota Rav4 - now that was really good. Still went everywhere but with a decent amount of room inside for gear and a whole lot more power.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 472767

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 08:48

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 08:48
Young fella here just bought a Nissan Terrano, turbo diesel, economy, clearance and neat inside - $1000 all up

AnswerID: 472778

Reply By: old mate - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 11:13

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 11:13
1999 - 2004 R50 Nissan Pathfinder.

It will do everything you want it to,
AnswerID: 472794

Reply By: rambling - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:13

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:13
Thanks everyone. I had originally looked at other vehicles like the rav, jeepny etc but decided they were too small. Thought the forester and x-trail were the most storage space for the smaller 4wds. But sounds like I might have to go back and have another look at some of the others.
AnswerID: 472840

Follow Up By: rambling - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:18

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:18
um... jimny that is... it's late :-)
FollowupID: 747668

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 23:28

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 23:28
I also looked at the KJ Jeep before I bought my io. The price of parts and the fact that most reviews said it was hit and miss on whether you got a good one or not, kind of put me off. Build consistancy appeared to be a huge issue. Luggage space was suprisingly small too for what appeared to be a mid sized vehicle.
Fab.
FollowupID: 748960