WANTED: Off road adventures near Adelaide

Hello all,
Finally on Annual leave after a very busy year.

Before the silly season fully sets in and to make the most of today's rain, I'm after some moderate tracks around the Adelaide area. Happy to travel about 100kms from the CBD.

Have tried a Google search which comes up with Saunders Gorge, but at $50 entry fee, I'll give that one a miss. The treks on here are a bit more than a half day drive too.

I remember a good one I found up between Eudunda and Waterloo, but be stuffed if I can remember where. I'm getting tired with just driving around on the flats near Wasleys etc and Humbug scrub just doesn't excite me.

Anything....anyone?

Thanks in advance.

Fab.

Reply By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 23:49

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 23:49
Interesting..... Mate I don't think there are any 4WD adventures near Adelaide. Infact hardly any adventures at all close by.

I use to drive around near Cape Jervis and Talisker mines Etc but that was years ago you probably can't get on any tracks there now.

I also drove from Brown Hill creek to Stirling but I did that in Me Brand new Sigma, rough it was! but not nearly a 4WD track.

AnswerID: 472765

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:00

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:00
Cheers Roughasguts.
I know there's a bit of a hack about track down Deep creek way, but even that is pretty tame from what I've heard. The dreaded grader sorted that one out.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747614

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 00:59

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 00:59
An episode of My 4X4 on tv a while ago commented that there were no longer any four wheeling opportunities close to Adelaide. All closed for various reasons....sorry.
AnswerID: 472768

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:03

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:03
Thanks Mike.
Might have to drive to Eudunda, set a course on the GPS for Waterloo and deselect preference for bitumen and let the old bag guide me. I think that might have been how I found it last time.

Sure beats sitting around here watching the grass grow.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747615

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:14

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:14
I live in the Blue Mtns NSW and there are lots of 4wd tracks within an hour of me but where do you think I take off to whenever I can?....South Australia. Nowhere near Adelaide though :-)
FollowupID: 747616

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:21

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:21
Agree South Australia has plenty to offer for the off road enthusiast. After being born and growing up in Whyalla, my mindset is still programmed to think that there are tracks everywhere. Not so here in Adelaide.

The Flinders Ranges, Eyre and Yorke Peninsulas have lots on offer. Around here, it's becoming private property, graded roads or dry weather only council signs popping up everywhere.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747618

Reply By: Member - nick b - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:08

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:08
Gooday Fab :saunders george is well worth $ 50 its a good drive with great views ,it will take most off the day maybe BBQ on the way around , the hosts are very nice .
All other tracks are just short or closed down ..
cheers nick
Cheers Nick

AnswerID: 472771

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:15

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 07:15
Thanks Nick.
I did look on another site called 4X4 earth that lists a few other tracks around near Woodside and a few down south near McLaren Vale but as you said, they are all 5-10km long tracks. Not worth the time to wash the car afterwards.

I'm going to head out today looking for random spots but have decided to do Saunders Gorge, as you suggested, with the family and a BBQ or picnic lunch. Make a day of it I suppose.

Today's mission is to find Boggy Creek road up near Eudunda. I reckon that was the name of the track I went along. It had some off camber slippery stuff, a few good rises, 2 creek crossings and a few wash-aways. It was about 30kms long but there were plenty of side tracks too. Not very well used and with the weather we had overnight, might just allow me to get into low range....hoping so.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747617

Reply By: Member - Vern - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 10:40

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 10:40

I am also from Adelaide and to my knowledge there is not much close by. Have heard you can still get into the Morgan dump area. can't be totally sure but maybe some one else might know.

Have you been to this place ?? just out side Naracoorte. might be a bit far.
http://blackcockatoobushcamp.com.au/fourwheeldriving.html
AnswerID: 472789

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 11:55

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 11:55
G'Day Vern,
Nope ...haven't been to that place.
Speaking of Morgan, the old Morgan mail road up through Dangalli is a nice drive. Not challenging in the dry but might be fun in the wet.

Thanks.
Fab.
FollowupID: 747631

Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:13

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:13
Hi Fab, are you taking the IO for a run?
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 472837

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 07:52

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 07:52
Absolutley Kevin.

I've driven it around town the last 3 months just to get a feel for any potential problems, and I'm happy to report that the only "glitch" I've had was that the A/C wasn't getting real cold. Turns out the heater tap wasn't fully closing, so I adjusted the cable and now it works great.

I want to progressively introduce it to some off road stuff because I don't think it's ever been off the bitumen. But still be close enough to home to call for back-up if things go pear shaped.

As I gain confidence in her and she seasons herself to the rougher stuff, I'll spread my wings a little further. (Not as far as the CSR...hehe), but the Simpson isn't off the cards - in convoy of course.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747679

Reply By: Gossy - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 17:20

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 17:20
Border Track
Argadells
Saunders Gorge
Coorong
Robe to Beachport
Loveday 4x4 park

AnswerID: 472911

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:28

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:28
Thanks Gossy,
I'll have a look at all of those on the map.

I went for a short (10km) blast up and down Golf Links Road at Lobethal. The road is just basic graded dirt for the most part, but the side tracks on either side got interesting.

Got the baby Paj on three wheels at one stage and another time had to rock it back and forth to extract myself from a bog. Even got to use low range....once.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747735