MQ Rear drum brakes on a GQ?
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:30
Littleborgy
Hi everyone, I have a mate who bought a set of drum brakes for his MQ Patrol a couple of years ago, but sold the vehicle before he fitted them to it. He has offered them to me, but I want to make sure they'll fit on my GQ before I grab them... Does anyone know if they'll go on?
Thanks in advance & Merry Christmas
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:41
Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:41
GQ are discs front and back.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:00
Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:00
Muzbry,
Do they also have drums for the hand brake?
Some do!
Mike.
Follow Up By: Brad (S.A.) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:17
Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:17
Mine is an '88 GQ, and has drum brake rear... My brother also has an '89 with drums.
Cheers, Brad
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:51
Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:51
Not all of us are rite all the time and I am one who is willing to admit wrongness.
Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:56
Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:56
Are we talking Nisan Cab Chassis/ute or Station wagon?
My belief is that all GQ wagons came with disc front and back with a rear driveshaft drum brake.
The Cab chassis or ute came with rear leaf springs and drum brakes from the MQ
my 2 cents worth
Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:02
Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:02
G'day Tony
Some of the early GQ Wagons did come with drum brake rears...
Cheers......Borgy
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 01:36
Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 01:36
The earlier DX versions came with drum rear brakes, the ST version came with rear discs. All had a drum handbrake on the rear of the transfer case.
Not sure if the later DX had discs at the rear. I think the RX had rear discs.
I'm guessing, but I think the GQ had a wider track than the MQ, therefore different axle assembly. Therefore one can't guarantee that even the drum brakes would be the same.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:22
Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:22
Thanks guys,
I had the 89 Maverick version which was disc all round, most of the Patrols I saw with the exception of the Ute's were also disc.
This is a great place for information, hope it helps littleborgy out.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 11:35
Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 11:35
Yeh,
mine was a poverty-pack '88 LWB Maverick, with drums at the rear. The corresponding DX-spec Patrol had much the same equipment.
I recall the only mechanical repairs I did in the 12 years I owned it was to replace an oil seal on a rear axle and a viscous coupling on the fan.
Fine machine!
Gerry
Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:15
Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:15
G'Day Brad,
Ring up a brake place and ask for the part numbers for the brake shoes and drums for a MQ and a GQ, perhaps try the wheel cylinder part numbers too.
If the numbers match, I reckon you're in with a good chance.
Fab.
Reply By: Littleborgy - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 01:50
Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 01:50
Thanks for your replies everyone, I found out that there is actually quite a big difference in drum sizes, plus the MQ has a different set up anyway...
Cheers & Merry Christmas
Brad