Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 12:15
Member - DAZA (QLD)
The
Cook and I lead a fairly busy life style re: Business / Family / Playing ect.
And we both have different interests such as hobbies, she likes the girly things and I like the bloke things,
well maybe two or three girly things if you get my drift.
So it sort of hit me that in the next couple of months I will be retiring and the
Cook will have me at home more than in the last 42 years.
The plan is to do a lot of extended trips plus a few O/S.
We won't be travelling all the time, there will be all the usual things to do around the home ect.
Also catching up on my intersts & hobbies and checking out forums.
I was just looking at my Exploroz Profile and noted that in 4 years and 10 months I have notched up 5288 page
views.
That's roughly 2.99 per day, besides other forums of interest.
So why the thread heading How Did I Fit It All In??.
You see I don't mind having a drink or two when I'm using the Laptop and I calculated that I must have consumed a lot of beer just on Exploroz.
And with extra time on my hands means more Exploroz and you know what that means lol lol.
Question!!
Should I get help or stop viewing Exploroz??
Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 12:36
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 12:36
Get help now Daza.
I retired several years ago. Whilst still working I managed to raise 2 sons, renovate the house, landscape the 2 acres of garden, help in the community, and still take holidays etc. Now that all that is complete and I am retired, I can't figure how I even had time to go to work!
By the way, where do you find your personal statistics on this
forum? I can't see them in My Profile. But it may be better if I didn't know! LOL
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:25
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:25
Yes Allan I'll be kept busy.
We contract to the Federal govt and they offered a 6 week on and 6 week off deal.
I am still giving it some thought.
The
Cook will have the final say, a happy
cook makes a happy life lol lol.
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 12:51
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 12:51
Daza, the stats showing the page
views to your profile page are actually counters for how many times YOUR profile page has been viewed - not how many pages YOU have viewed. There's a difference, but I think you should be impressed by that. We don't actually track what you do on the site, that would not be relevant, or polite, or maybe it would? Anyway, best of luck with your retirement and entry into the realm of the very very lucky. To reach a point in life where you have both time and good health, as
well as sufficient wealth to be able to follow your dreams would have to be a
sign of a successful life, so
well done to you and your wife. May I get there too someday!
Michelle
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:27
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:27
Hi Michelle
Thank for your reply
Reply By: Lifetime Member-Heather MG NSW - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:06
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:06
Hi Daza,
Maybe you should join the Modsquad if you have all that time on your hands.
Or drink more beer....or both. lol
Enjoy your retirement and travelling. We have found ours to be some of the best years of our lives to date and our grown children are all envious of the way we spend our days (and their inheritance).
Heather
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:31
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:31
G/Day Heather
The
Cook and I have been following your adventures.
She has similar interests to your self.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:13
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:13
Daza - since you will soon have so much free time , you can drive slowly and economically down to Victoria and help me keep some 50km of tracks open.
Hand
tools only allowed , so I will supply you with a matock shovel and axe.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 17:15
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 17:15
"so I will supply you with a matock shovel and axe."
Robin, mate, he's a soon to be retired plumber. I reckon he won't want to see another shovel ever LOL. Maybe a chainsaw for the axe would entice him south.
BTW I heard a long time ago, that the top 3 money earning professions were Gyneacologists, Dentists and Plumbers :-)))))
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:50
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:50
Come on you blokes.
*I'll be happy to help with the digging.
Just leave the key to the Backhoe or Bobcat some where and I will clear a few tracks.
*As far as plumbers and the other professions mentioned, I'm not fussed on Dentists.
We did some work for a Gyno up in
Surfers Paradise and he made the same comment re: $$$, I told him I would do his job for nothing lol lol.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:16
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:16
G'day Daza,
I've stopped work in July last year, the bride says I'm unemployed but I've never been busier in my life. She still wants to work (i Know I don't get it either) so for now anyway I'm a kept man - does feel good too. The "to do' list I have observed just seems to grow it doesn't seem to shrink no matter how much effort you try to reduce the list. In actual fact I think there is a substantial increase in my list since last year.
What I've also found is that the "projects" are actually preventing me from maintenance chores and the extra 50 or so hours that work required (incuding travel to and from) does not directly relate to more boat time chasing fish in the river either.
The problem is that everyone I know does not sympathise with such dilema in fact some times they dowright rude. I better get off the computer before someone spots me wasting my time again.
All the best and hope to catch you along the road sometime.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:59
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:59
Someone I know has the same attitude re: work ethics.
Someone used to mention jobs to be done around the place.
I said make a list and put it on the fridge in the kitchen, so every time I get a beer out it will remind me.
Now I use the beer fridge down stairs lol lol
Reply By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 20:20
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 20:20
Daza and
Cook,
All the best on your upcoming retirement. The good lady wife and I retired three months ago and as others have expressed "how did we have time to go to work"
As anyone who ever owned and ran their own business will tell you it can get fairly hectic.
What with becoming full time babysitters for grandkids and trying to reduce the dreaded home job list who has time to get bored.
Cheers Pop
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:00
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:00
G/Day Pop
All these comments about how busy every one is in retirement is giving me second thoughts.
I'll have to concentrate on getting my priorities right.
First priority is to get rid of those jobs on the list the
Cook made.
When she goes out tomorrow i'll put the list in the office paper shreader lol lol.
Reply By: Axle - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:21
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:21
G/Day Dazza, ... Both of you do as much as you can that keeps you happy!!,
Mate, you never know whats around that bloody corner!!
Cheers, &Merry Xmas
Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:23
Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:23
G/Day Axle
Yes very good advice.
Do it while you can enjoy it.
Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:30
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:30
Daza,
on the question of retirement and the amount of time you will spend with the bride. Consider this. I have worked away for most of our married life and I am also going to retire.
1. I have now built a wife proof shed.
2. If she says anything about my love of alcohol, I bring up her lust for shopping.
3. I don't cramp her style, so I don't go shopping.
4. I am not going to get a part time job driving trucks. 2 days a week that turns into 6 days a week. She will actually see that I am home for the long haul.
5. I am going to pretend that I am actually interested in the magazine New Idea.
6. I have been to some training courses that teach the art of ducking hard objects.
Have a good one,
RA.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:31
Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:31
Geez RA
Might have to copy that list and Frame it.
Item number 6 could be a problem, the
Cook has a very good Aim.