How Good is Your Imagination?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:20
ThreadID: 90789 Views:4331 Replies:13 FollowUps:19

I received this photo taken by my son who is a Licensed Surveyor and who is working up in the Pilbara. At the moment he is getting paid to do what our great Mick O likes to do best of all when he is not stuck in Melbourne , driving completely off road out in the Chichester Range surveying a new route for a private railway for the Mining Industry. It has been very hot for him out in the field, 48 C, but like he said, you just get on with your work and drink great volumes of water.

We have seen those famous Eater Island Rock carvings, but did they perfect their art up in the Pilbara??

What do you think.

A Personal Seasons Greetings to all.

Who has been here

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:25

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:25
Yeah, It looks like my old man without his teeth in!
AnswerID: 473119

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:32

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:32
Hi Not so

That's not very nice about your Old Man.....LOL

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747937

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:23

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:23
I reckon the rock is probably is a bit softer than he was in his day?
FollowupID: 747942

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:26
Gday Stephen
Looks to me like someone dropped a rock on his head,,,or a heavy hat..

AnswerID: 473121

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:36

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:36
Hi Muzbry

Yes it looks like they were going to fashion an Akubra hat to keep the hot Pilbara sun off of its head but could not be bothered finishing it.

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747938

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:59

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:59
Stephen,

What do I think of the photo.

Short answer. Great. Very impressed.

Have a good Christmas,
RA.
AnswerID: 473124

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:03

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 22:03
Hi Rockape

When James saw the large rock and the shape of it, he said that he had to get a picture of it for me.

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747941

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:23

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:23
Hi Stephen,

It certainly is a very impressive rock form.
Whilst certainly natural, it is interesting how it is displayed on a very regular plinth.

AnswerID: 473130

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:04

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:04
Hi Allan

The rock formation sure is very interesting, that is for sure and to think the lucky bugger gets paid to find it....LOL

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747954

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:26
Hi Stephen,

Great photo, amazing what you can find and there are indeed some fascinating 'natural' features still to be discovered.

Your son is indeed fortunate, getting paid to do what some of us spends heaps on.

I can see the face well but he looks a little 'stoned' to me....boom boom

Have a great Christmas.

Michael
AnswerID: 473131

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:08

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:08
Hi Michael

Don't worry, I have already asked James if he wants a lacky to carry the tripod...LOL

He is seeing some unreal country, which was great for him at first, but now it is just a daily job with the unexpected find every now and then.

I hope you get some time off over the Christmas brake.

Seasons Greetings to you and your family

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747955

Reply By: dazren - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:39

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:39
Is it just me ??? or can anyone else see another face, in the rocks to the left ?
I can make out the forhead, then the eyes are hidden by the bush, then under that there is the nose and mouth, it is looking up, as if talking to the other rock ??? I have had a hard day !! But that is what i can see at the moment.
AnswerID: 473132

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 06:40

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 06:40
The one on the left and the one behind it look like Goanna's heads to me. Have me glasses on too. Bob
FollowupID: 747951

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 00:09

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 00:09
Hi Stephen

Are sure its not a lost Easter Island specimen.

Seasons greetings and ATB for 2012.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 473134

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:35

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:35
Hi Phil

They have found some very interesting finds up there it and it is unreal country that is for sure. All of the major Aboriginal finds have been pegged out and he said the country is full of paintings and rock art. Once the sites have been found and pegged out, no one can go near any of the flagged off sites and when I asked how can you tell, he said they use different coloured ribbon on 6' high droppers within 50 metres of the sites. He said anyone found in those sites it is instant dismissal and a very high fine.

At least James is out in the front of the field and gets to see all this first before the bulldozers and graders come in.

All the very Best to you and your family and have a great Christmas and a very Happy New Year.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747959

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 10:51

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 10:51
Hi Stephen,

Thanks for the extra info - your lad is lucky to see most of these sites first.

I guess the mining company wants to send a clear message to staff by instant dismissal and fines and be seen by the system to be serious about aboriginal art and heritage sites. The last thing they want is bad press and loss of exploration rights and permits etc.

All the best and maybe we'll see you in the deserts in 2012.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 747968

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 00:23

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 00:23
Hi Stephen

Wow, I have the Picasso Version.

Seasons Greetings to you too!!!

AnswerID: 473136

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:36

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:36
Hi Alan

That is a good one. Safe travels and Seasons Greeting to you and your family.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747960

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 01:09

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 01:09
Great pic Stephen L, and yes it has been hot up there, doesn't look like much relief on the horizon either.
Christmas Greetings you and yours.
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 473139

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:20

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:20
Hi Deanna

James just had to take that picture when he saw it.

Yes it had been very hot them out in the field. Like he said that with his job he is out in the field and does not have the luxury of air-conditioning, except when they have to drive to another location or gets back to their camp. He was saying the other day that he is drinking over 12 litres of water a day and if you don't, dehydration takes hold very quick.

All the best to you and your family.

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747957

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:13

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:13
Stephen,
Sound like your lad is a bit of a modern day Len Beadell in a round about sort of way.

12 litres! Crikey. Kind of throws the old water per pserson/per day ratio out.

Merry Christmas to you and your family.

P.S.: No Sunday Mail this weekend.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747970

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 14:29

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 14:29
Hi Fab

Thanks for that. Yes he is very lucky and at times I am green with envoy with some of the sights and places that he get to see.

As for the water consumption, it is because he is out in the full sun all day and with that very high heat, he said that water intake is a very serious issue. He said that one of the guys out in the field was not keeping his water intake up and collapsed the other day, so dehydration in the field is a very big issue.

Safe travels when you are on the road and it has been great reading your adventures during the year, and it was great to see you finally reached the top of Big Red.

Seasons Greetings to you and your family.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747988

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 06:05

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 06:05
Love it Stephen.
I immediately thought of a Toby jug. LOL
AnswerID: 473140

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:10

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 08:10
Hi Richards

Thats a good one.

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747956

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 09:48

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 09:48
Hi Stephen,
great photo by your son,
we have one of our own on the farm
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 473161

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:08

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:08
Howard,
That bloke looks a little Greek to me, if you NOSE what I mean.

Fab.
FollowupID: 747969

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 14:32

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 14:32
Hi Howard

Another great shot. Perhaps they used Australia as the trial site before heading over to Easter Island...LOL

Seasons Greeting to you and your family.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 747989

Follow Up By: True Blue - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:38

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:38
Prince Charles ???????

Wayne.
FollowupID: 748143

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:46

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:46
Hi Stephen,

Great photo of that Easter Is. statue. Your son is fortunate to have a job that lets him explore around those places in the Pilbara.

That photo reminded me that there are a few "rock faces" here and there. There is Queen Victoria at the western end of the Gibb RR, I think, (if my memory is correct) where the road goes through the Napier Range at Yammera Gap.

Hope you are having a relaxing Christmas break.

Val

AnswerID: 473345

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 20:56

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 20:56
Hi Val

Thanks for that. Yes that rock face sure looks like Queen Victoria. We have had a Great Christmas and another special book to the collection, Plants of Western New South Wales which will be very helpful for many outback areas.

Thanks for all your most valued help throughout the year and I wish you and John a Very Happy and Prosperous New Year.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 748179

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 02, 2012 at 20:06

Monday, Jan 02, 2012 at 20:06
Your're dead right there Stephen. Lucky young bloke. Thought you might be interested in this find out round Lake McKay. Had to borrow the head from another well known EO identity lol. Are our termites Egyptian trained?

AnswerID: 473900

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jan 02, 2012 at 20:35

Monday, Jan 02, 2012 at 20:35
Hi Mick

Now that a great picture, looks like one of your victims is being set in stone....LOL

Who has been here

FollowupID: 748747