lights "On" Warning

Submitted: Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 10:56
ThreadID: 90799 Views:9166 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
I remember some time ago, a thread on installing a headlights on warning light to a vehicle.
I am unable to track that info down, so if anyone is able to shed some light on the subject it would be very much appreciated.
Last week in Port Hedland I left my headlights on and never realised until about 4-5 hrs later, a good habit to drive with lights on I reckon, but it does have drawbacks with my cruiser ute not having the "lights on" warning light.
Thank you in advance and please enjoy you festive season

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:00

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:00
G'Day Paul.
I can't find the previous thread either. But from memory ther two popular choices were to install a headlight reminder buzzer thingy available from Dick Smiths, or to have your headlights wired to take the relay trigger from your ignition, hence ignition off=headlights off.

The first option seemed to be the most poular one.
Hope that helps.

Fab.
AnswerID: 473168

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:21

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 11:21
I think Dick Smith stores have got out of electronic bits and pieces and now only sell electrical retail like TVs and such. I have heard there is a headlight warning buzzer from Jay-Car.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 747973

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:42

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:42
Here you go...from Jaycar.

Jaycar headlight reminder
FollowupID: 747984

Reply By: Hugh D - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:40

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:40
Try Jaycar. I haven't checked lately, but they used to have a kit
AnswerID: 473176

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 14:43

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 14:43
Hi Paul

Has happened to me a few times over the years :(

We now use the keep it simple trick of if the lights go on, the driver's door get locked. That way you can't get out of the car without remembering to turn your lights off. Works for every vehicle we have.

AnswerID: 473186

Reply By: Timla - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:00

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:00
Don't quote me on this one, but...

"ignition off=headlights off" would essentially be a total loss system which is frowned upon by most traffic authorities...

Jaycar sell the reminder units relatively cheaply:
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=KC5317&keywords=headlights&form=KEYWORD
AnswerID: 473192

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:24

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:24
Yeah, on the 120 Series Prado if the lights are on and you turn the key off the lights stay on until you open the drivers door, then they turn off (and stay off, of course!)

Merry Christmas

Frank

FollowupID: 747994

Follow Up By: OzTroopie - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 23:41

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 23:41
Although these systems (e.g. Prado 120 series, Toyota Camry) turn the headlights off when the driver's door is opened, they will allow you to turn back on the lights say for example you needed to leave your parking light on in a particular situation (as per the Aus Road Rules).

FollowupID: 748070

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 17:03

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 17:03
Go to Jaycar or similar.
1 - 12volt relay with normally closed contact about $5
1 -12 volt piezo buzzer about $7
In the 70 series Toyota, under the bonnet on the driver’s side is a terminal box.
Refer to your owner’s manual and select the motor run or auxillaries connection – connect this to the relay’s coil.
Take a connection off one of your front park lights – run this to one side of the normally closed contact. Connect the other side of the contact to the buzzer.
Hey Presto – If head lights are on and ignition is off the buzzer will squawk.
AnswerID: 473194

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 17:28

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 17:28
Dennis
That sounds just like the article that I read.
Will it also work with a small led indicator lamp mounted on lower dash level?
Vehicle is a 79 series.
Am thinking it should but, a silly question doesn't always get a silly answer.
The jaycar unit as suggested above seems a good go, but my vision and patience would not make it, as it appears to be a "Put it together" and then fit.
But all suggestions are appreciated with thanks to all for their input.

Cheers & Regards

FollowupID: 748004

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:03

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:03
I use a buzzer but the circuit will also work an indicator light as well.
FollowupID: 748030

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 08:48

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 08:48
The lights on my 80ser. go off automatically when I get out of the vehicle but then again it is a Toyota.
AnswerID: 473215

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:06

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:06
Flighty,

How about this? It even has a over ride option too!

http://redarc.com.au/products-and-services/kolo-daytime-running-lights

I'm thinking of installing it on my Cruiser

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 748031

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:08

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:08
Ray I have a 2008 Troopy - but they don't have any of that flash stuff. I bet you have even got ABS brakes too.
FollowupID: 748032

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 13:45

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 13:45
Hi Flighty,
Here is a circuit for an auto headlight reminder which is activated by opening the drivers door. I have designed in an over-ride so that if the ignition or accessories switch is on it will not alarm. This is so that you can drop someone off without turning the headlights off to avoid the alarm.

At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 473240

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 16:05

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 16:05
Bruce
Thank you for that option between that and the option from Dennis and other, ideas supplied, I think I have got half a chance of making something happen from this.
Thank you all for your input once again and wishing you all the best for the festive season.

FollowupID: 748044

Reply By: Pebble - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:01

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:01
An old Mitsubishi Lancer we brought makes a sound if I turn the car off and the headlights are still on, it works great. It must be that buzzer thing people mentioned. I certainly reckon it's a more sure way of not forgetting to turn them off, in my opinion a warning light could be easier to overlook when you're just concentrating on getting out of the car.
AnswerID: 473259

Reply By: swampy460 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 06:45

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 06:45
Its really easy,, I drove my Navara into the auto leccy and he fitted a buzzer and I gave him $70

Problem solved

Swampy
AnswerID: 473453