Gibb River Road

Hi we are thinking of traveling from Innisfail NQ to Broome in June/July next year 2012. We are still trying to decide what sort of camping Trailer to buy, there are so many, we were thinking of a Jayco with independent suspenmsion, i was wondering if anyone can give me thoughts on this, we have a 09 Toyota Hilux SR5 and my husband wants to put a boat on the roof of the car as he is a mad fisherman! Is it worth taking a boat or can you get fish from the bank and will it be too much for the car to have this on the roof and how do you think a Jayco Eagle would go? Can someone please answer my questions who has done this before!

Reply By: Member-George (WA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 18:26

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 18:26
Hi Chanel B
Several things, forget about fishing from river banks in the Northern regions of Australia unless you want to become dinner for crocodiles.
The Hilux should be ok to carry a dingy, depending on how much other weight you carry.
In my opinion a Jayco Eagle should be ok for the Gibb R R but once again it will depend on the condition of the GRR, i.e. Late wet season, high river crossings, has the grader been through. etc... Road conditions can change from one week to the next so it is better to check closer to the date you are leaving.
If you happen to have a HF radio in your car and are a member of VKS-737 you will be able to get daily weather and road conditions.
It is also a good safety back up if you intend doing some off-road remote area driving
Hope this helps. Cheers
AnswerID: 473197

Follow Up By: Chanel B - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:31

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:31
Thanks everyone for the advice, we are fully aware of Crocs as we live on the North Johnstone River. Sounds like we wont take the tinny as we will have enough of a load as it is. So long as we can catch a fish he will be happy! We do have a UHF Radio in our car, I think it will be best to ask people who have just been on the road before we decide to go, also is Broome worth seeing we were only going to go as far as Derby, I heard Broome is very expensive!
FollowupID: 748028

Follow Up By: KevinE - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:23

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:23
Hello! :)

IMO, the fishing is better around Kununurra (Ivanhoe) & the Lake Argyle Spillway than the GRR.

Re taking a boat on the roof; the road will shake the tops off your stubbies in the esky. I'd hate to think what it would do to the roof of your vehicle with a boat on it. Same goes for the Jayco, I'd leave it in Kununurra & tent it along the Gibb.

Just my 2 cents! ;)

Merry Christmas :)

Kevin..........
FollowupID: 748054

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 21:01

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 21:01
Hi Chanel B

We don't take a tinny as you can take a charter with a suitable craft in most fishing locations, and they know the waters and where to get the fish. Costs a bit, but offset by not having the extra load. Otherwise you can generally hire suitable craft in key locations. We went out with the people from the campground near Kalumburu and had a ball - as you can only take what you can eat whilst there, lots of magnificent fish went back to live another day.

Husband went fishing from the bank on the Pentecost, but with locals who practically knew the three big crocs eyeballing them by name. They slept on the back of the utes, and when on the ground day and night, the crocs and the fishermen watched each other. Travellers lost their dog at much the same spot a day or two earlier.

The Gibb River Road is a fantastic trip and i have Blogs here in my blog section (2008). As said, it depends on the conditions at the time, and the best way is to ask those who have just completed the trip before deciding whether to take your camper or deciding to leave it in Kununurra and take a tent. You need to do a round trip anyway taking the highway one way, and seeing Geikie Gorge and Purnululu on this stretch.

AnswerID: 473200

Reply By: Member - JASON (WA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:03

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:03
Hi Channel B

We did the GRR in June this year started at Derby end. Road conditions were pretty good we thought as the grader had been through the week before, wet season was pretty big this year and the Gibb was late opening and there was plenty of water still around. Highest water crossing was at Drysdale river on the Kalumburu Rd at 1.3m. As far as road conditions what we thought was pretty good other people we met thought the roads were terrible, so l guess everyone's perception is different to what is rough and what is not.
As far as towing on the Gibb I seen plenty of people towing big vans and off road campers but if you could get away with not towing I personally wouldn't but each to their own. Seen a few high end off Rd camper trailers come into Drysdale Station on the back of trucks, one a Tvan with a broken spring hanger so the suspension had collapsed on one side.
We fished from river banks no problem, obviously care must be taken but I look at it no different than standing waist deep in water fishing off the beach anywhere in the Northwest knowing their is sharks and other nasties lurking around.
One of the things that blew me away was other travellers tyre pressure's. We ran with six vehicles from one end of the Gibb to the other with 25psi in our tyres and not one puncture between us, obviously adjust speed to run these pressures. Our tyres ranged from vehicles with highway terrain to mud terrain, so I don't think it matters which tyre you run as long as you drop your pressures. We would come across quite a few people repairing or changing tyres roadside to find out the were running 40 - 45 psi , worse offenders being euro travellers in their hire 4wds.
AnswerID: 473234

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:37

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:37
Tyre pressure is also a matter of preference. It blows me away that people lower their tyre pressures for gravel roads. Never had a flat yet with 40-42psi, including a few GRR runs.

Each to their own, and as long as each is happy with their choice.
FollowupID: 748034

Follow Up By: Member - JASON (WA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:16

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:16
spoke to a ranger at Mitchell falls who said if people aired down when they start the Gibb it helps to stop the corrugations from forming so quickly after the grader has been through , also softens the ride for the vehicle occupants, stops track degradation and gives the suspension half a chance rather than running Hwy pressures but as said each to their own !
FollowupID: 748053

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 16:44

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 16:44
Lots of different opinions about, but, wheel alignment specialist at Derby advised me to lower the tyre pressure for the GRR, but really slow down on the creek crossings and dips. He said that is where most tyre damage is caused on the GRR. Also, just after they grade the road can cause problems as sharp rocks are exposed. Tyre repairer at Drysdale Station also said to always lower pressure. That said, I did lower my pressures to about 28 and suffered one tear in the centre of a tyre on the Gibb. I had at that time Maxxis Bravos, about half tread left. I now have Bridgestone’s 694’s.
What camper you take may also depend on where you want to go when doing the Gibb. We did over 3,000 k’s on the Gibb after doing most of the roads/tracks off the Gibb, some were really rough. We came across campers with busted springs on the Mitchell Falls Road, and several on the roads on the Dampier Peninsular. The trailer at Mitchell Falls was a new one, but it may have been a tad overloaded for the springs?
But the Kimberley is just a magic place, we will be back. Definitely doing the Gibb again!

GRR

Road to Kulumbaru, good section.

Road on Dampier Peninsular
AnswerID: 473253

Follow Up By: Chanel B - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 16:54

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 16:54
Thanks for that info! Nice photos to!
FollowupID: 748047

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:01

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 18:01
We travelled from west to east on the Gibb in July.

Here's my blog entry on it.

Gibb River Road

I'm glad you decided not to take the tinny. I reckon you would have suffered some damage with that weight on your roof.

AnswerID: 473258

Follow Up By: Chanel B - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 16:02

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 16:02
God you towed that big caravan along there, we should be right then with a camper trailer, I hope! Great photos and story, thanks! Chanel Blennerhassett
FollowupID: 748236