port augusta to mackay

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:15
ThreadID: 90813 Views:2844 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Gday ,
WE are travelling from perth to mackay leaving boxing day and want to know if the roads via broken hill , bourke ,charlevile are affected by floods ?
Thanks Brad

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:57

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:57
Hi Brad,
Check out this site.
Live Traffic

Have a safe trip.
AnswerID: 473232

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:59

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 11:59
Brad,

Have a look here,
Qld DMR
South AustraliaNSW

This may help,
RA.

AnswerID: 473233

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:56

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 12:56
Hi Brad,
We've allways had a good run with the Explor Oz 'check road condition' which is under 'treks' is the blue bar in the home page. My quick scan of that indicates at this point you should be ok PA, BH, Cobar, Bourke, Cunnamulla. Watch Cunnamulla to St George if you want to go that way. Otherwise, go into Dubbo and up the Newall Hwy.

regards John
AnswerID: 473237

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 13:19

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 13:19
Hi John,
Most of the roads from Outback NSW Road Conditions, EO Site the comments haven't been updated since the 22nd. Most of the country around there has had more rain since then.

Brad ,
It may also pay to check out the Local council websites along your planned trip. as well. with more rain predicted conditions can change quickly. which you can find from the Live Traffic site link I posted.

FollowupID: 748037

Reply By: Travellin Ranger - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 15:20

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 15:20
Just checked out the live traffic site . Fantastic all the info i need.

Thanks for your help

Cheers Brad
AnswerID: 473247

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 17:29

Saturday, Dec 24, 2011 at 17:29
No worries Brad,
Merry Christmas and have a safe trip.

FollowupID: 748050

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 16:14

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 16:14
Port Augusta to Broken Hill is no problems.

If you want Woolworth's fuel, when you get into BHQ, turn right at the first round-about (Galena Street). Woolies to about .5 km down the road.

Caltex (Coles) you will pass it, it's at the third round-about on the road in.

Forget Wilcannia, they see you coming. We locals don't even bother stopping.

You can get a good meal at Emmdale, between Wilcannia & Cobar, and they sell fuel, but they are exxy too. Cobar fuel prices are always up, a captive audience see?

From Cobar, head of into Qld. but don't use any unsealed roads, as we are getting a bit of rain of late, and in any case the councils will close them, and if the cops catch you, you will be booked for 'Drive Contrary to Notice' - which is Road Closed.

Observe speed limits, particularly in S.A. the little joints between Peterborough and Broken Hill are all 50 or 60 KPH, and at Mannahill there is a SAPOL HWP bloke, and he'll be working over the holiday period, as will the drones in Broken Hill.

Other than that drive carefully, and have a good trip.
FollowupID: 748165

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 17:53

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 17:53
"Forget Wilcannia, they see you coming. We locals don't even bother stopping"

If you need fuel in Wilcannia, don't get it on the main road. Turn south, last street before the bridge. There is a fuel depot down there considerably cheaper than the bloke on the main road.

FollowupID: 748171

Follow Up By: Travellin Ranger - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:49

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:49
hi , thankjs or the advice on the fuel . we have 155 litres on board so hopefully will be driving straight through wilcannia .

cheers Braqs
FollowupID: 748304