Cobb .. what a beauty

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 19:49
ThreadID: 9086 Views:2212 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Fired up the Cobb 1/2 hr ago and now in pride of place on the kitchen bench attending to the needs of a free range chook. What a bloody marvellous piece of equipment. Wish I'd discovered the little sucker yonks ago.Fidei defensor

Rosco

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 20:42

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 20:42
not married eh?
hahahaWow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
AnswerID: 39887

Reply By: Member - Ross - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 20:51

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 20:51
Oh ... if only you knew........Fidei defensor

Rosco
AnswerID: 39889

Reply By: Phil P - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:47

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:47
Hi Ross,

Have you tried lighting it up yet ?

I'm interested in how easy it is to light the heat beads, did you use the self starting heatbeads, is it smoky and how long does the heat really last for ?

Phil P
AnswerID: 39906

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:59

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:59

Just finished .. bloody great tucker.

Easy as pie to light. Been using the easy light beads but noticed tonight they seem to have lost their oooomph. So reverted to a fire starter below.

No probs ... wait 1/2 hr till beads are well alight then OK to shift inside.

Cooked a lump of lamb the other week and there was enough heat left to knock up a damper for afters. ... Clotted cream and home made strawberry jam .... eeehah.

No smoke .. just mouth watering aromas. All on 8 heat beads.Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257545

Reply By: V8troopie - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 01:32

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 01:32
Yes, I got one of these beauties too recently. The fire starters (the white lump variety) are a pain, heaps of big flames, noxious smell and black soot when they burned out. The heat beads make comparatively little mess. The cooking was excellent, BTW.
What I am wondering, has anybody tried metho to light the heat beads? I know, the manual advises against doing so. What I had in mind is to place a shallow metal lid (10cm diam., 1 cm high) in the bottom of the fire chamber. Fill that perhaps 1/4 full of metho. Place heat beads on top and light metho. I would assume the metho to burn a lot cleaner and with less high flames than those b...y fire starters.
Why dont I like big flames at start up? Well, I intend to use this cooker in the cockpit of my boat on occasions. The insulated design of the Cobb is perfect for this but big flames are a no no.
Klaus
AnswerID: 39924

Follow Up By: trikidiki - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 06:05

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 06:05
I've had a Cobb for about 9 months, given it a fair bit of use, and as instructed by the manufacturers I've used Heat Bead brand beads and fire starters and had no problems at all. It does flame up a bit but not for long.

Dick.
FollowupID: 257557

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 07:38

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 07:38
Have you ever tried dried tea bags soaked in kero, works a treat, easy to cary in a sealed container, good for bush walking or just lighting the fire at home.

With heat beads on top they do not flare up at all, and burn up to a minute.
FollowupID: 257558

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 09:03

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 09:03
As far as I'm concerned I can see no reason why you wouldn't use metho. I've used that system for years in the Weber.Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257567

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:02

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:02
I don't use the white fire starters - too much kero in them. You can buy non-kero firestarters from any supermarket and they are excellent.

CheersKevin - sitting here, thinking of there
------------------------------------------
2002 GU Patrol ST 4.2TD
2000 15' Supreme Getaway
FollowupID: 257583

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:39

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 14:39
They are fantastic the Cobb's aren't they? I am inclined to go and get mine out and cook some Damper while Jen is out and give her a treat when she gets home. I have found that the best way for me to light them is to take the little cradle out that the firelighters sit in, and put the whole lot over a gas burner for a couple of minutes. The hard part is lifting it back with the tongs and getting it back into place in the Cobb. Sometimes is a bit hard because the metal of the cradle expands and will not fit, but when it cools a little it has been fine.
Have used the self igniting heat beads too but they seemed to have got the holiday spirit just like me after a trip to Cape York and back. Had to put them on the stove as well to get em moving.
AndrewMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowupID: 257588

Reply By: RussellV - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 10:23

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 10:23
Hi Fellas

Have had a squiz at this Cobb thingo and it sounds mighty impressive! Where do you get them from?? What price are they going for, and is there a distributor in Brisbane!

AnswerID: 39943

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 13:08

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 13:08
Russell

Try http://www.cobbaustralia.com.au/welcome/page2.shtml

Available from shop in the Valley about $170 incl carry bag.Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257578

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 16:55

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 16:55
Suggest you buy the pizza tray (optional extra) it is great and worth the $$$
AnswerID: 39971

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 20:58

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 20:58
KA

Thought about it at the time but passed it up for no particular reason.

What do you use it for ... apart from the obvious, and I tended to feel it wouldn't get quite hot enough for pizza ???Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257615

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 16:03

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 16:03
Ross

I have used it for pizza, damper and I buy the 'just add water and shake' pikelets all go well on the pizza tray
FollowupID: 257682

Reply By: PUDESTCON - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 22:18

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 22:18
G'day People,
Just checked out the Cobb site. Seems to be a really useful piece of equipment. I was most interested in using the Cobb for space heating as we had an experience at Karajini National Park some years ago. It was bitterly cold and no fires allowed so we cranked up the gas barbecue in the park to try and keep warm. It worked ok for a while until the gas bottle froze up! We were in bed by 8pm doing other things to stay warm. Heheheheh
Has anyone had a bad experience with the Cobb?

Cheers from Pud....just a visitor at this stage. Like the site tho'
AnswerID: 40003

Reply By: Martin - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 23:18

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 23:18
WWow some people must have a lot of disposable income to pay $170 for a cooker!! Then again I suppose i'm lucky because i have gas and electricity supplied to my home and I have a good oven and hot plates installed in my kitchen. When I go to the bush I use a cast iron camp oven on coals from wood - yes WOOD - no kero, soot, metho, fire lighters, heat beads or even dry tea bags soaked in kero!!!!!! Just plain old tried and proven wood! LOL
AnswerID: 40010

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 07:24

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 07:24
I guess with the money you save you can afford lace up boots and pearl shell shell buttons ..... ;-DFidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257649