landrover
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 21:20
Beer4bob
hi again all i have a 96 2.8dduel cab hilux and looking at trading it on a 98 discovery 4cl diesel turbo 120000k for $21000 got offered 14000 on the lux i live in the country and do a lot of dirt road driving to get to town i have done 185000 in the hilux and find it bullet proof but... need a bigger car for the growing boys and i would like more power i know landies have oil leaks but is there any think else i should be aware of . cheers Bob
Reply By: Alex H - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 21:45
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 21:45
A landy of that age should be a really good buy. It really depends who you talk to about them, people seem to either love them or hate them.
They do't leak oil, they seep oil!! I'm rather on-eyed about them - i love landy's, but even putting that aside, you should be happy with it if you go ahead and trade up.
Alex
Follow Up By: thomo - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 21:48
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 21:48
Or down.
Follow Up By: pathfinder - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:54
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:54
mmm, yep, you're right thomo...I would much prefer the kidney belt experience of a horsecart sprung Hilux to the coil comfort of a Disco...not to mention gutless performance and greater fuel consumption of the former...
Reply By: Beer4bob - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:06
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:06
thanx i test drove it today and was wrapped in it s performance i rekon it goes as good as my mates 4.2 gu to me it seems to be good value
Follow Up By: pathfinder - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:51
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:51
and much better fuel economy than a GU...
Reply By: Member - Ross - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:52
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2003 at 22:52
Don't listen to the Nippon brigade ... go for it. Had a V8 for 6-7 years and think very highly of them. 'Cept the 8 loved petrol .. but probably no more than the big Japs. Oil leaks ... not a prob .. they even have a part number for them.
Only kiddin .. not all that bad really.
See the earlier thread about performance bog standard against nips with lockers ... ;-DFidei defensor
Rosco
Follow Up By: Wil - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 05:31
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 05:31
G'day all
Mate has a Discovery..but I am more a Defender person. Took a new Defender (Diesel) for a test drive and the Rep told me that they don't need oil change for 20000K. Heard the same being mentioned to my mate when he bought his last Christmas.
I questioned the rep and he mentioned something about a centrifugal oil cleaner or the likes..a new BMW design?? Any idea if that is right? Or it is a way to shorten the life of the Landie so we have to upgrade more often?
Wil
Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:18
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:18
Thats right - 20,000 km. I've been changing the oil at 10,000 anyway though. Beats the hell out the LX470 which needs to be booked in for its next service when you pick it up from the last. Or some even worse at 5000km intervals!Bob
Follow Up By: TonyY - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:32
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 08:32
When I bought my Defender the dealer recommended 10,000km oil changes as the Defender is expected to have a harder life than the Discovery.
Yes, they have a centrifugal oil filter in addition to the normal one which is supposed to remove virtually all microscopic particles from the oil.
And....contrary to popular belief, the Td5 is NOT a BMW engine. It had already been designed before BMW took over the company.
Reply By: SimonIT - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 09:43
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 09:43
Hey Bob,
Have just bought a 98 Discovery TDi myself in the last 3 weeks. Have already done a couple of trips up to the high country in it plus another trip down to the bay towing an 18ft fishing boat. Couldn't be happier. Great offroad ability, comfortable and extremely fuel efficient.
Am just in the process of adding bits and pieces to it,
snorkel, Cooper AT's, OME
suspension, bar etc...
I also upgraded from a ute and about the only thing I miss is that you can carry a lot more gear in the ute.
Follow Up By: Member - Alan- Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:11
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:11
I had a '96 300Tdi Auto and it was a good vehicle,. Towed a 1.5 tonne van
well and was economical, comfortable and good in the dirt.
Worst leak was from the rocker cover.
I wasn't impressed when the heater core went as that is a pig of a job to change and the cost bought tears to my eyes. But that was it, over 5 years very little went wrong.
I've now got a new Defender Td5 and others have said about thee 20000 klms for oil changes, but not for me, 10000 max. and both filters will be done.
BMW did nothing worth while with Land Rovers and they certainly didn't design the Td5 engine, but they may have funded it's manufacture.
Reply By: thomo - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:55
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:55
Yes they did they sold it.
Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 19:18
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 19:18
You dont like them do you thomo?
Learn to drive in them many years on a sheep station then did lots of
miles in them while I was in the Army. Actually the Army is still using them, (and I know they have tested every thing else) so you guy's who have one good on ya, all I can afford is an old MU.
Bruce.MU-ving on
Reply By: thomo - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 20:13
Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 20:13
Im only joking around no i dont like them , but i dont have to buy one if other people like them im happy for them.Mate of
mine has one he hates it with a passion but his old mans got one he loves it.
Reply By: Beer4bob - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 14:40
Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 14:40
thanks for all who replied