2008 3.2 DID Triton SURGING PROBLEM

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:01
ThreadID: 90883 Views:22186 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
Hi, My 08 3.2 GLX Triton has just turned over 30,000ks and I have just started to notice the surging at 90 and 110km/h. It also has very bad turbo lag on take off, and when cold and at low speed if you take your foot off the throttle it won't stop accelerating for about 4 seconds, it still does it at low speeds when it is hot aswell. Could I get some suggestions on what to do, the stealer that I bought it off doesn't want to know about it, it took them over 12 months to replace the stuffed steering column so who knows if they will ever fix these problems. Thanks for your help.

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:11

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:11
The best thing is to get onto this forum, there is heaps of info there on the problems.

New Triton Forum
AnswerID: 473556

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:13

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:13
Just had a look and see you've been there!
FollowupID: 748400

Reply By: escapesilv - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:43

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:43
Hi 249

I had similar surging problem with a Ford Ranger, and it was a problem of water in the fuel filter.

In my case I just replaced the filter and all good.

Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 473559

Reply By: Macca44 - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:57

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 16:57
Gday 249. If you have changed all the fuel filters and still have a problem . Check where the fuel line connects to the injector pump, under the banjo bolt that holds the pipe there could be a fine mesh screen that is blocked, not very easy to see or get to. Regards Macca
AnswerID: 473561

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 18:37

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 18:37

Don't you have Mitsu's 5 year 300km warranty? They were offering to me when I was shopping for a Pajero in 2007. If so, take it to another dealer or contact Mitsubishi's Aus head office. I'm sure you are entitled to more help that you're getting.

Frank

AnswerID: 473566

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 18:38

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 18:38
Gee, I wish you could edit on this forum.

That should be 300,000km warranty

FollowupID: 748409

Reply By: Mark&Sue - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 21:26
G'day Mate I have seen a triton outer part of inlet manifold clog badly up with carbon and and partly seize up the butterfly valves , this would more than likely to be the problem as I was told it is very common. The manifold has to be removed and soaked in acid to clean it out properly, and yes this was on low km 3.2 tritons.
AnswerID: 473576

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 00:21

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 00:21
Yep definately heard about this a few times and was even in the 4x4 monthly magazines as been an extremely common issue with this motor, It has supposidly been modified in the newer engine/model.......Was all about carbon build up and for memory was some thing in regards to a pipe that ran back into the manifold ?? Could be wrong but rings a bell. I dont have the issue any more I pass them onto the young boys next door but fairly sure they throw them when they have finished with them. Im sure if you google it you will find the same answer..............
FollowupID: 748422

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:07

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:07
hi
my mate has the pajero 2010 3.2 and what you have experienced is the same problem they put a modified intake on his under warranty it is a very very common problem the tritons he was told by the honest serviceman are also having same thing occur
the service manager took him into the workshop after the salesman claimed no one had had any problems before
and showed him about 15 intake manifolds laying in the rear of the service bay
my mates paj had only done 40 000k's when he first had the surging symtoms and then after it was fitted with mod 10 000k's later it played up again and they replaced another fuel sensor that the first dealer tried to avoid changing its all ok now
you'l have to keep pushing through the negative dealers bs

as mma are well and truely aware of the surging and blocked maniflod problems on both triton and pajeros which is caused by recycled carbon which slowly builds up and blocks the intake valve ports and slowly builds up a thick layer on the internal walls of the intake manifold several mms thickand all associated part within etc
there is so much polution gunk going back through the motors there choking on there own excreta thats basicly it in a nut shell
that is how it was described to my mate
the euro polution standards have gone overboard trying to put crap back through the intake that should be going out the exhaust pipe
cheersand good luck
FollowupID: 748476

Reply By: Kimba10 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 00:25

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 00:25
http://www.caradvice.com.au/15067/mitsubishi-triton-diesel-super-select-4x4/

Bit of reading for you......................Not sure if it will help or not........
AnswerID: 473582

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 09:00
I'll throw another thing into the mix for you to consider. I don't have any experience with the Triton at all but like all engines (ICE - reciprocating piston or gas turbine) they are largely air pumps......so don't forget about that side of the equation. A faulty air flow sensor could also cause the engine to surge as too could problems with the EGR setup.
AnswerID: 473594

Reply By: peteC - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 10:00

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 10:00
Unfortnatley I have been thru the same issue with my 2007 Triton. Mitso tried numerous times to fix it. It was becomming dangerous in wet country roads as you would have little power and all of a sudden get full power. Mitso cant fix it and have the same issue with the new 2.5ltr - we have a number of them at work and our fleet has officially complained to Mitso. I also had 6 steering columns replaced, inlet manifold, numerous spring fixes for squeaks amoungst other things. After 80,000 km Toyota fixed it by giving me a new Hilux. Sorry to be blunt with the painful truth.
AnswerID: 473599

Reply By: Steve D1 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 15:27

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 15:27
Inlet manifold and EGR... Both have modified versions that any decent Mitsu Stealer will know about. We,ve done hundereds of them.

Donks
AnswerID: 473625