Help needed with Shockies

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 16:58
ThreadID: 9107 Views:1636 Replies:6 FollowUps:5

I was wondering if anyone can offer some advise as to which is the better Shock Abosorbers to fit to my 2003 Mazda Bravo SDX. I'm looking at both the Tough Dog Heavy Duty Foam Cell and the OME Nitrocharger.
The vechicle doesnt carry much weight at present and is used mainly for delivery of mail over both bitumen and corragated gravel roads. I'm looking to improve the ride and handling of the bravo.
Any advise you can give will be greatly appreciated.

Les
Have beast - will travel!

Reply By: Mark - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:19

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:19
Go the OME's. The Tough dogs are very firm, especially if you do not carry much weight.

I had the OME's on my 80 series while a mate put the Tough Dogs on his 80 series. He changed to the OME's after a week as the Tough Dogs were too firm for his liking.

AnswerID: 39975

Follow Up By: Member - Les & Clare (SW WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:42

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:42
Thanks Mark. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.Have beast - will travel!
FollowupID: 257712

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:20

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:20
Les I have used OME on both my trucks and not had a problem.

The current pair have done about 150,000 ks and been over many vairied road conditions.
The live on a 60 s toyota .

4x4 tag alongs to the cape and beyond

www.capeyorkconnections.com.au Cape York Connections
AnswerID: 39976

Follow Up By: Member - Les & Clare (SW WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:43

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:43
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply to my post. It was greatly appreciated.Have beast - will travel!
FollowupID: 257713

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:20

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 18:20
Personally I would go OME, they have been around longer, have probably the best reputation out there... Have a mate has them on his around 94-96 model bravo dual cab.. He is happy, but he tows trailers with bikes a lot.

Also look at Koni, they are THE best, but you pay for that.
AnswerID: 39977

Follow Up By: Member - Les & Clare (SW WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:44

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:44
Looks like OME is the way to go. Thank you very much for your valued assistance.

FollowupID: 257714

Reply By: donk - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:30

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:30
What ever shockabsorber you chose i would go for a twin tube design on a 4wd because with a monotube 1 decent hit with a rock ect in the area where the piston runs & they are normally cactus

Regards Don
AnswerID: 40016

Follow Up By: Member - Les & Clare (SW WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:46

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:46
OME have the twin tube design that you mention. So looks like they are the way to go. Thanks heaps Don for your assistance.Have beast - will travel!
FollowupID: 257716

Reply By: Member - Les & Clare (SW WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:50

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:50
Looks like OME is the best way to go for shockies for my Bravo. So unless anyone has a better suggestion thats what i'll do. I have been quoted $725 fitted by ARB guy in Albany. Thanks everyone your help is greatly appreciated!

Les
AnswerID: 40090

Follow Up By: maverick - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:34

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:34
That is a very exy supply/fit quote. shouldn't be more than
$20-30/shock to fit. just buy them ($120 ea???) and get some one to fit them - you should be able to do the back yourself - very easy. bye
FollowupID: 257856

Reply By: Hilly - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 15:47

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 15:47
I've just had Cross Country shocks and King Springs fitted to my GU for just under a grand and I find them very good compared to the OME that I had on my 80 series and about $250 cheaper. OME is excellent for comfort and you will be happy but these are worth a look. Try K&N fabrications in Canning Vale, Perth. If that ARB price is just for 4 shocks then you could save a few bob.

Hilly
AnswerID: 40131