planning a trip

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 21, 2012 at 01:00
ThreadID: 91349 Views:1769 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi, i'm planning a trip from Perth to Broome, to Uluru, to Brisbane, down the east coast, then back to Perth. I have never done a long trip, so i'm after all the info i can get, from which accessories, brands, to places to see along the way, tracks to explore, etc.
I'll be travelling on my own, in my 80 series Landcruiser. It has dual fuel, a two inch lift, roof rack, UHF and Ironman winch bar(no winch as yet). I plan on getting an in dash GPS, rear drawers, snorkel, dual battery system, awning, shower, air compressor and diff breathers. I'll be camping out in my swag, and i have the basic camping accessories. Planning on taking about 3 months, unless i can find work along the way (i'm a roof plumber). Got a budget of 7 to 10k to spend on accessories/setting up, and 7 to 10k for the trip.
I'm after as much info/advice as i can get.
Cheers
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 21, 2012 at 08:36

Saturday, Jan 21, 2012 at 08:36
Hi. Just my opinion but I reckon it would be better to break your research up into sections and do each bit as you go. Otherwise you will have too much info to digest and it may become blase.
I think your first section to Broome would almost overload you, especially if you take your time. There are many towns up the north way screaming for tradesmen and I think if you wanted work you would be lucky to get past the tropic line in 12 mths, let alone one. Good luck, I;m sure you will enjoy it. Bob

AnswerID: 475563

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 21, 2012 at 14:56

Saturday, Jan 21, 2012 at 14:56
Hi Jamdan

Check through the wealth of blogs here, on both setting up and on trips. Three months? You could do the Kimberley and Pilbara justice.