esky covers\insulation

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 20:50
ThreadID: 91382 Views:6838 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Hello,

The mrs and I were talking about esky's today and was wondering if there is such thing as an insulation cover for them. We have a waeco 60 liter cool-ice.

Don't really have a problem with ours and so far no complaints. We typically cool it down before we use it and then almost always use block ice. However with the hot weather we're having lately just got to thinking we'd like one. Went to the shops today and couldn't really find generic ones. Saw ones for frigs but not for esky's.

Did a search online and on here and haven't found anything.

Now the mrs is thinking of making one. seems a bit much to me, but I've long ago learned to pick my battles so I won't discourage her :)

Reply By: br218885 - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 20:53

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 20:53
No guts no glory mate. Never seen one in 10 years on the road
AnswerID: 475723

Reply By: Member - Blaze - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 00:09

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 00:09
Made one for ours using the reflective front window shields, just the cheap ones about $5 or $6 each, cut them 12mm over size then put them together with thin double sided tape. It has been on it now for 4 years and has about 5 or 6 small rips but can replace if we choice for about $20.

AnswerID: 475745

Follow Up By: gordon_adel - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:42

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:42
That sounds interesting. Do your reckon it actually help?
FollowupID: 750743

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:12

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:12
If you are not worried about the look of it. Get some cheap closed cell foam / PE / EVA or common excercise matts from Crazy Clarkes. The cut to size and contact glue them to the otherside of the the ESKI. Works great and cheap.
FollowupID: 750798

Reply By: Gossy - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:11

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:11
Clark Rubber has a heat insulated and sound insulated foam. It's about 2-3 cm's thick with a relective layer on it. I replaced my carpet underlay in the GQ a couple of years ago with it and drastically changed the sound in the car and no more heat coming up through the floor aroudn the gear stick.

Anyway, once I realised how effective this foam was I have now taped it around my icebox and stuck it on. I did it from day 1 so no comparison with a 'before and after' but it can only help.

Wouldn't cost you much and about 10 mins of your time to wrap it around and tape it on!
AnswerID: 475765

Follow Up By: gordon_adel - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:21

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:21
FollowupID: 750763

Reply By: Gossy - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:24

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:24
I'm heading away this weekend with a mate who has an icebox (different brand). Will be interesting to see how it goes.
AnswerID: 475766

Reply By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 18:24

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 18:24
Before we got fully into the swing of travelling, we owned two Coleman ice boxes or if you are in N.Z., 'Chilly Bins'.

All we did was either make up block ice ourselves, or freeze empty milk containers, or try to buy it, get the stuff going into the thing either frozen, or at least very cold, wrap the esky in a woollen blanket, use a couple of okky straps to hold it tight, and kept the kids as they were then, out of the thing. It worked even in the hottest of weather, provided we didn't open it every two minutes.

You need to consider the heat coming up through the floor too. I used cheap sleeping mat foam, which is a beaut insulator.

With the milk containers being well frozen, as they thaw out you can drink the water.

This was a cheap and simple practice we did for some years, but then we went up market and got an Engel, and since then have improved on that.

On the odd occasion we got dry ice, but I think that product has ceased to be available for some time. But gee it was good.
AnswerID: 475912