Nissan Patrol

I'm now broadening my search for a new vehicle and Patrols are now on the radar as being within my price range. ($30-35K tops)

Now my questions are:
a) what are years of manufacture that fall outside of the "Grenade" era? In other words what are the good years to be looking at.
b) Is the 3 litre CRDi as powerful as it makes out to be?
c) what should I be looking out for etc.

Would like a 4.2 but are as scarce as hens teeth.

Still looking at Yotas in particular Troopies but to be honest they are bloody expensive for what you get.

Anything else you oricles can pass on would be greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 16:58

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 16:58
Hi Dunc,
If you do a bit of looking on here.http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
You will get all the info you want.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 475787

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:33

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:33
Thanks for that Dave, I have had a brief look previously and was overwhelmed by all the info. My problem is that I'm a total Nissan novice and thus a lot of what they talk about goes clear over my head and the use of vehicle codes and jargon doesn't help.

FollowupID: 750817

Reply By: Whirlwinder - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 16:58

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 16:58
Duncan, I think you are taking a big risk with any of the 3ltr Patrols. They are great while going but do have a terrible history. Have you considered the petrol patrols?
A 100 series may be a bit expensive but what price is reliability?
Good luck anyway with what ever you choose.
AnswerID: 475788

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:02

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:02
X2

We have an auto 100 4.2TD. I don't mind paying for the comfort. It happens when you get a few years under the belt. One son has the same and the other has a 2008 GQ(?) 4.2 TD patrol.

All three are good cars.

FollowupID: 750795

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:37

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:37
Ian & Phil thanks for the comments. The 100 series are a proven car but I've also heard that some of the earlier 100's were a bit hit and miss as well.

I think I'll be looking for a while and hopefully the clouds of confusion will dissipate. Fortunately I'm not being forced to sell mine at it still goes extremely well.

FollowupID: 750818

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:13

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:13
The CRDi has the same torque and power figures as the DI models but from comments I have heard it has better power delivery. It seems to be less economical than the DI but this is a very subjective view.

There is plenty of info on this site.

The Patrol Forum
AnswerID: 475789

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:41

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:41
Hi Notso. I'm fairly familiar with the CRDi's as the Terracan comes in the CRDi and I've done a number of outings with fellow Terracan owners so I can compare the difference between my petrol and the CRDi diesel. The CRDi is streaks ahead in power and torque compared with mine. But as the Patrol is much heavier I've got some reservations. Maybe ok in the Hilux and Navara?

FollowupID: 750820

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:53

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 17:53
I would go for anything after late '02 (series III). There were a few engine changes made around this time.

I had one for 8 years and 130K+ with no issues whatsoever. Excellent performance, ruggedness and economy.

Nice to drive for a full day out on the open road, engine is eager, unlike the 100TD I had that was more of a grunter. I didn't think it worked well for towing anything more than a camper trailer though. The 100TD was better for heavier towing.

I'd fit an EGT and Boost gauge for peace of mind since the engine does not seem to self handle problems with over boost or over fuel situations very well and gets hot and cracks pistons. Maintaining the MAF sensor seems to be key.

From what I understand the CRD was added for pollution control purposes and like some other vehicles it actually increased fuel consumption.

OBT
AnswerID: 475793

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:43

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:43
Thanks OBT, but what is an EGT & MAF sensor.

FollowupID: 750822

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:55

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:55
EGT = Exhaust Gas Temperature or Pyro. Measures how hard the engine is working and can also indicate over fuelling.

MAF = Mass Air Flow Sensor. Sends computer info regading how much air is being sent into the induction system. It can get dirty and causes false signals and havock. 10min DIY job to clean.

Regds

FollowupID: 750826

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:10

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:10
Thanks Bill I'm now enlightened.

FollowupID: 750833

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:28

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:28
I'm not sure you are. Owning a 3l patrol is like owning a 40 yr old rover. You need to be mechanically minded, and keep an eye on it at all times. Even then they blow up with no notice.
The only good things you'll hear about them are from those that own them. Like rover and cruise craft owners.
You watch how defensive they get now........
I wouldn't recommend a zd30 powered anything to anyone.
Buy a 4.2, 4.5, or 4.8 if you really need a patrol.
FollowupID: 750834

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 23:17

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 23:17
GBC what I meant by enlightened was I now know what the abbreviations stand for.

FollowupID: 750850

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 19:05

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 19:05
I loved my Nissan Dunc. They are a great Off road tourer that are basically bulletproof in the drive train department, are amazingly capable off road and will get you there in a degree of comfort that can make you feel guilty. HOWEVER, mate the problem extended past the 02 models as I can personally attest to. Take some extra time and if need be, spend that little bit more to get the 4.2. If you go down the 3 litre path an EGT and boost guage are a must.

They are a great car but the 3 litre is just not up to big stresses like heavy loads and heavy going.

AnswerID: 475803

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:50

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:50
Hi Mick, ah just noticed somebody fixed my spelling of Nissan.

Haven't looked at any 4.2's as yet in any detail as the ones that have popped up in the yards are beyond my price range. Could spend more but then I'll have to sacrifice on after-market stuff and accessories, unless of course a modified vehicle falls in my lap - NOT.

It would be nice to have a new vehicle prior to my Easter trip but no big deal on that one, but in late August and early September I'm planning of doing 3 weeks in the GVD & GSD so a larger kitted out vehicle would be very nice indeed.

FollowupID: 750825

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:20

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 20:20
Hi Duncan,

May I inquire as to the use that you intend for this vehicle? If it is for towing and you need a heavier vehicle for its capacity then the larger sizes will be a must.
The reason I ask is that there are several manufacturers that make 3lt turbo diesels that don't seem to have the "grenade" feature of the Patrols. Most, if not all do seem to have a much smaller body size/weight though. I must admit it has always puzzled me why none, or at least very few, of the others are being reported to have self destructed like the Nissan product. If it is just a problem of the location or quality of the MAF sensor why has the problem persisted for so long?
Could it be that Mr Nissan just does not have an engine suitable for the size vehicle?

AnswerID: 475818

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:00

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:00
Hi ya Pop. Most of my travelling is remote touring often off road (read no roads), and usually involves a certain amount of serious low range stuff. Typically I've been carrying around 250L of fuel, that incl 60L in jerry's, 140L of water and all our food tents, chairs, cooking gear, bedding, clothes, booze etc, etc. So fitting that lot in my V6 Terracan is a very tight squeeze.

I occasionally hire a camper trailer eg Pioneer or Cub and we tow my wife's horse float with nag on board. My wife hates my Terracan as I've fitted it out for touring and there's no place for all her horse riding gear when she goes off competing. (Bugger that aye. LOL)

A larger capacity vehicle is what I'm looking at. Agree with your comments that other models and makes have a 3L engine that may be worth considering. Guy close to where I live has a 3l Hilux fully kitted out and it looks sweet and tuff as well, so haven't discounted them as an option. If I went down that track would want a canopy and at least a spacecab.

FollowupID: 750828

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:07

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:07
Having had one of these for 8 years with an EGT and Boost gauge fitted I'm of the opinion that this engine is not over stressed in the Patrol under normal use, including sand. It is such a willing performer however that it will keep trying hard when asked to tow heavy things or maintain 110K up steep hills and so forth which is where I think it has heat problems and there are dramas if you don't monitor its performance. The engine management system does not seem capable of backing it off or detecting MAF related problems so you need to do it yourself.

OBT
FollowupID: 750831

Follow Up By: Member - John - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 22:48

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 22:48
Pop, you will find that the pre CRD 3lts in Patrols had variable vane turbos, they could boost very highly if MAF got dirty etc, before grenading. The Nissan Navara, same motor, except no I/C and fixed blade turbo, didn't seem to have the same problem as the Patrol, it was also a much lighter car.

Have no idea about the CRD 3lt being fixed or variable vane turbo. The use of the EGT and boost gauge goes some way to preventing grenading, if you keep an eye on things that is..............

FollowupID: 750846

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:23

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 21:23
Duncan,

You say that you could go spend a bit more to get a 4.2 but then you would have to compromise on aftermarket stuff and accessories.

Can I ask what aftermarket stuff you think you may need.

I have a 4.2TD and love it. It really has very few accessories. Most come with Bullbar, driving lights and towbar and almost all that I have seen have a snorkel. Apart from that mine has a compressor, which I fitted very early after purchase. Yeah I also have a suspension upgrade and a winch but they have not been on long.

I did trips to the Simpson Desert and Vic High Country in a vehicle with bog standard suspension and drivetrain. The GU is a great vehicle off road, very comfortable and capable. It is the same on road.

The accessories I have fitted have improved the vehicle. They have made it more comfortable and provided me with the security I wanted to do trips on my own but I was pretty confident before I spent that money.

What I am saying is that you could buy a bog standard 4.2TD and have a very capable tourer. It took me 8 years to get my car to where it is now. Most of my touring was done before those 8 years were up.

AnswerID: 475828

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 23:15

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 23:15
Hi Duncs. Agree whole heartedly with you and I'd hope I could snare a vehicle with at least what you say I should be able to get.

My immediate need if the car didn't have it would be a duel battery system, suspension upgrade, minimum A/T tyres, snorkel, winch bar (winch can come well down the track), LR fuel tank over and above the standard 2 tanks. A full length set of drawers and diff lockers.

I made my last drawers and they've done me proud but a nice set of Black Widow or similar would be nice and having got used to front and rear ARB diff lockers I'd some how feel lost without them.

I want a diesel, for the economy, range & safety. I've currently got a very thirsty petrol car & it can be very restrictive with where I go and for how long I go. Catalytic converters and spinifex also don't mix and carrying the amount of fuel I've sometimes needed to do on the roof rack also ain't that safe either.

To get my current car to where it is now cost me a fortune and 6 years or so to do it all, but hey that's part of the fun.

FollowupID: 750849

Reply By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 01:14

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 01:14
hi duncan
there was a good late model low km 4.8 petrol patrol in a wa paper last 7-10 days but cant remember which paper think it was a southwestern times or such
robin miller swears by this model on this sitewhen i saw the add i thought gee its rare to see one of them for sale as afaik you cant get them new any more
AnswerID: 475841

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 01:59

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 01:59
and have you considered looking at the very reliable 3.2 deisel pajero good towing ability and offrd on great on fuel
FollowupID: 750863

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 10:04

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 10:04
Hi Mazcan, yes there are a number of petrol vehicles for sale and markably cheaper than a diesel, but for what I want to do I would much prefer a diesel for the range, economy, and safety factor.

I haven't looked at Paj's at this stage as I'm looking more at larger capacity vehicles. I've done some trips with people who have Pajero's and they went extremely well especially the current and recent models.

FollowupID: 750880

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 11:40

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 11:40
hi duncan check your emails i have sent you imfo on a 4.2 patrol that advertised
barry
FollowupID: 750891

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 15:42

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 15:42
Thanks Barry, checked the companies website and it's a 1992 model. Sent you an email reply as well. Thanks very much for your interest.

FollowupID: 750914

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 10:00

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 10:00
G'day Duncan

I know it's past your price range and it's in Qld but have a look at the EO classies mate - there is a 2002 GU 4.2Tdi for sale as well as a couple of Toyota's that might be a better option for you. If you've already had a squiz then - oops.

Best of luck with your search - I got lucky and got my 05 GU at a local auction.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 475863

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 15:43

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 15:43
Thanks John the Classifieds was the first place I looked, and yes QLD is a tad far for me to look.

FollowupID: 750915

Reply By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 12:59

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 12:59
Mate I can vouch for the pajero 3.2 T/D but maybe still not big enough in the cargo area for you ?? Brilliant for towing, heaps of grunt and great on fuel. They will out perform a prado and this is coming from a prado owner. Comfortable little bit noisier then the prado's but go extremely well with or without a load and will pull all day. The only issue i have really ever heard about them engine wise is the timing chain tensioner but mitsi do a revised part for that $100... Great 4wd and reckon if you drove one you wouldnt be dissapointed. They will scrub inside rear tyres due to the IRS but this can be rectified when you set it up properly for towing...............
AnswerID: 475878

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 15:45

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 15:45
Thanks forthe comments Kimba, I've seen the Paj in action and as you say a very capable vehicle. Shame they did away with the full chassis though.

FollowupID: 750916

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 16:08

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 16:08
The 3.0 diesel Patrol could probably be described as a slug moving a truck.
It's power and torque figures are abysmal.
118Kw and 380Nm. Boy! While most smaller petrol motors have more power, the Falcon even has better torque @ 389Nm moving a much lighter vehicle.
OJ
AnswerID: 475893

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 16:09

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2012 at 16:09
3.0l patrol.....don't' do it. It's not a matter of if but when the engine fails. It might be a cracked head, piston failure or a combination which is what happened to me. So 100k km's isn't many for a diesel engine and now hoping to get more than that on the second engine.

Leroy
AnswerID: 475894