What is EO rear wheel cover made from?

I searched and did not find the answer. Nor is it in the item description in the shop. I don't want to put one on that will only last a short while. But according to one tyre specialist it will help to protect the tyre. I would not have one for any other reason. Not really into having a "pretty" car. We prefer a sound car and that means protecting the tyre.

I would like to know the material that the EO wheel cover is made out of.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 13:35

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 13:35
Hi Phil, I havent got one but most are made from that cotton reinforced Vinyl. I guess it would protect from UV rays.. Michael

AnswerID: 476200

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 13:51

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 13:51
Agreed, Michael. Mine is 5 year old & appears as new.......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 751202

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 15:20

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 15:20
Hi Phil, I have both use one as a rubbish bin, both are good quality, but next time I will get 2 rubbish covers and use one for wet towels and dirty cloths. Worth the money.
Andy

FollowupID: 751212

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 16:01

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 16:01
Cotton reinforced Polyvinyl chloride (pvc)

FollowupID: 751219

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 15:36

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 15:36
'We prefer a sound car and that means protecting the tyre'

From? What about the other four?
AnswerID: 476213

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 15:51

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 15:51
Gday Royce
Wheel covers are good, but you don't get many kilometres out of them.

FollowupID: 751217

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 19:26

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 19:26
Hi Royce

I saw this post earlier and thought what a stupid question. And then I thought that maybe he really does not know. Just like I had not thought about it.

A visitor and I were discussing all things model trains and 4WD. He is a tyre specialist and suggested that I get a tyre cover to protect the top bit at the top from excess UV and heat after being exposed to the sun all the time. The spare stays there all the time and the last time we had a flat was in 1969 at Oran Park.

A short answer is UV.

FollowupID: 751237

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 21:15

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 21:15
I had a spare tyre on the back of the car start to bulge. Never been on the car. Took it to a tyre dealer, he said some tyres suffer badly being on the back of the car. The air inside expands and shrinks being in the sun all day, uv rays etc. Not sure how true that is but the fact remains my tyre was stuffed having never been on the car. It was about 10 years old according to the date on the tyre.

Josh
FollowupID: 751246

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 21:54

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 21:54
Ouch. Lucky that you were not stuck in some remote place and had to use it.

FollowupID: 751253

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 22:33

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 22:33
Ha...what do you think happens to the tyres around the edge of the vehicle?
UV? They're all exposed.

I guess if you don't ever use the spare and it sits on the back of the vehicle for 1 or 20 years it will deteriorate. Strange not to be rotating it through with the others though. A waste of good rubber. It's there for an emergency so should be the least tread of all the wheels on the vehicle....unless it's waiting to be matched to a new tyre.

Yep... covers are for looks. or maybe security.

FollowupID: 751257

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 09:14

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 09:14
Royce
"Strange not to be rotating it through with the others though. A waste of good rubber. It's there for an emergency so should be the least tread of all the wheels on the vehicle....unless it's waiting to be matched to a new tyre".

I had only had the car for 12 months and was living in Tassie so not doing lots of Kms so there had been no need to rotate the tyres. The tyres were new when I bought the car second hand so the tyres were old off the shelf.
When we were travelling we rotated the tyres regulary. We did over 80,000 km, had 1 flat from a railway spike. The tyres still had good tread when I sold the car.

Josh
FollowupID: 751271

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 11:15

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 11:15
Royce

"Yep... covers are for looks. or maybe security." Now that's a red rag to abull and I feel that I need to respond to show how wrong one can be.

The car is not a house car. It sits in the driveway for weeks at a time with just an occasional short drive around the block. Very few miles until we "go bush". So the one side of the spare is exposed to the sun a lot.

Do not accuse me of prettying up the car. Who cares what it looks like. It gets used as a proper 4WD up in the mountains and the deserts. So we do not worry too much about it's looks. It gets washed as a normal part of maintenaence.

That's why I stated that I needed a sound and reliable car. Cetainly do not have pretty alloy wheels, blue bling headlights and leds all over it.

Not all of us are able or allowed to drive our car all the time. I have regular hospital appointments that means the car sits there for a long time. Therefore I have to protect it to make sure it's reliable, sound and safe to go bush when the doctors say that I can.

The wheel cover, for us, is a necessity not bling.

FollowupID: 751292

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 12:18

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 12:18
Yep... bling. Tyre rubber is UV resistant. Leave it as long as you like. No probs. Sorry to upset you. You have your opinion. I have mine. A 'response' shows nothing but another opinion.

Hey!... put a cover on. I don't care, but don't worry too much about your tyres exposed to the sun, [including the ones on the rims] they are made to cope. A pretty cover is nice though.
FollowupID: 751302

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 12:37

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 12:37
That's what I thought initially, that they are UV resistant. Maybe long exposure to UV is the problem and that's what the spare gets sitting in the drive. It's just the spare we are talking about.

Just like a watch that is supposed to be water proof/resistant. Wear it to the bottom of the pool and it may stuff up. Wear it in the rain and no problem at all.

But we can only go by what we are taught, studied, hear and find out for ourselves through experience.

No pretty cover though. Not going that far mate.

FollowupID: 751303

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:04

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:04
The way I see it is Royce, your comments are your opinion which you are entitled to. How ever in the big scheme of this post they are now really only inflaming the situation not really contributing to the discussion. Phil wants to put a wheel cover on his spare to protect it, as it his his money if it is a waste (which I don't believe it is) then it is his money to waste.
I took 5 tyres of a vehicle to sell it and put them behind the shed in the shade. I got them out some time ago and one side of the tyres except the bottom one had cracks in them. I checked where I had them and the sun actually shone on one side of tyres for about 4 hrs a day. The bottom tyre which did not have cracks did not get any sun. I can only suppose the tyres sitting there in the sun where damage. As with the tyre on my car. All the tyres were stamped the same so similar age but only the spare tyre on the back was damaged. The tyre guy told because the tyres on the car are used regularly they don't get affected as much which makes sense. An O ring that is left to sit there detirrates quicker than one that is used. Same with seals. If you leave a rubber seal sitting around it will shorten it's life.
Phil, in your situation I would put the cover and not worry if it looks pretty or anything else. We had the tyre cover with rubbish bag so was very useful aswell and trust me, it didn't look pretty lol.
Plus if you buy it from here you get to advertise this great site each time the doc lets you go bush which I hope is more often as it is a great place to be.

Josh
FollowupID: 751308

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:45

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:45
You know David, Josh. As tight as a Scotsman. He won't pay me.

I just prefer something plain. That's all.

FollowupID: 751315

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 14:47

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 14:47
Sorry to inflame you Josh.
An interesting scientific experiment.

Luckily my spare tyres don't suffer the same, so maybe you are in a sunnier climate.

and.... .duck....! :-]]

FollowupID: 751317

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 16:30

Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 16:30
"vk1dx posted:
You know David, Josh. As tight as a Scotsman. He won't pay me."

It must take one scotsman to know another Phil, as you use this site without paying David for the use ;)

FollowupID: 751324

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 18:14

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 18:14
They are made from PVC and as mentioned before they last and last. I have my original one in the garage still used it for 4 years then we changed the design a little and the next one is still going after 5 years - have not needed to change it it is still in good nick and we now have the rubbish bin one that I slip over standard one. I leave the standard one on under the bin one as we just simply take off the bin one when we are in town.

If you do not get a good couple of years out of one then let me know and I will give you another one.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 476227

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 19:11

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 19:11
Gday David
The one I have is just about shot. I would love to advertise for you . All donations gratefully received .
Thanks.

FollowupID: 751235

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 19:17

Saturday, Jan 28, 2012 at 19:17
Thanks David.

All food for thought.

AnswerID: 476230