ARB Aircompressor installation

Submitted: Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 10:49
ThreadID: 9152 Views:3058 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
I have an ARB air compressor which I am thinking of installing in the engine bay. It will fit snuggly next to the black cannister on the right hand side but appears that it will be reasonably close to the turbo (say about 15-20cm away). (Will need to make a bracket that will be at right angles to the cannister holder).

I was wondering if this spot will be too hot a place to install it and whether the heat generated from the turbo will affect it in anyway or melt the wiring, etc. Does anyone have any comments on its placement here? Also whether it will get destoyed too quickly uder the bonnet. As yet I don't do water crossings (no snorkel!!) so water shouldn't be a problem.

I can't put it on the drivers side as I have installed a Piranaha dual battery system there. I can't put it behind the black cannister as I have ABS and that takes up the best spot to put it. I can't see any other locations apart form inside the cabin, which I don't really want to do. I only use it for pumping up tryes when we go on sand.

If this spot is too hot and not recommended then I guess I will leave it in the box and use it that way.

Thanks for your help.

S Man

Reply By: Member - Bob - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 11:04

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 11:04
In my Pajero I ditched the cannister (actually kept it for later refitment) and put the compressor there. If the cannister can hack the heat then the compressor can.Bob
AnswerID: 40226

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 11:08

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 11:08
Bob,

Thanks for the advice. I have a 2002 GU Patrol 3ltr turbo diesel. As it is still under warranty I am a little reluctant to do that kind of mod at the moment. After reading some of the other stuff on this site I do not want anything that Nissan can use to void the warranty. However, I agree, if the cannister can hack the heat hopefully the compressor can too. Guess I can only but try.

S Man
FollowupID: 257846

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 11:26

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 11:26
Under the Drivers Seat.

Common place on GQ/GU's to fit it.. Also away from water, mud dust and crap.
AnswerID: 40227

Follow Up By: Gerry - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:14

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:14
Or under the passenger seat of course... this location also makes it easy to connect through to a reservoir tank of some description (old gas bottle or truck reservoir) mounted under the vehicle - providing you don't mind a small hole through the floor under the seat where noone will ever see it. This will let you inflate tyres much more quickly if you turn on the compressor in advance and also gives you a good air supply for blowing things out or cleaning parts using a nozzle.
Gerry
FollowupID: 257853

Reply By: Member - Ken - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:44

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:44
I have an after market turbo'd 1HZ with an ARB compressor situated in that exact spot for the same reason you put forward.

To date it hasn't melted, warped, had the wiring vapourise, exploded etc etc etc and it has been there for 35000kms.

It has all the airlines for the front and rear lockers coming out of it plus an auxilliary line to a air tank, and has not missed a beat.

Also 15 - 20 cms is 6 - 8 inches which heaps of clearance.

If it still bothers you just fit a heat shield bewteen it and the turbo, off of the bracket you are going to make.

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 40232

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:53

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:53
Ken,

Thanks. Sounds like the go to me. It's good to hear of no problems after so many kms. Just need to find a spot to plumb in a hose outlet so that I don't have to lift the bonnet each time, just clip in the long hoseline and away you go.

S Man
FollowupID: 257857

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:18

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:18
Hey Ken, you got my mind working again mate, Can you give me more details about this air tank you have? Is it home made? or purchased it.

Sounds like a great idea. I am definately interested in fitting one of those, very handy indeed.

Regards AngeloI love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257870

Follow Up By: Mickl - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 17:16

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 17:16
Angelo,

I am going through the process of installing a compressor and also want a small air tank.
One idea that came to mind was to buy one of those small 240 volt home air compressors (available at most hardware shops and even Super Cheap Auto for less than $100. I've seen tank sizes from 9lt to about 20lt depending on brand) and strip off the motor and compressor. What you have left is a nice tank with is fitted with a pressure switch (keeps tank at around 100psi), water drain, 150psi safety release valve, plus some fittings, a tap and a couple of gauges.

what do you think?
FollowupID: 257879

Follow Up By: thomo - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 17:34

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 17:34
Hey ken have you had any problems with the 1hz since putting the turbo on and what brand kit is it,Im thinking of doing it to mine and would like to know as much about it before going ahead. thanks
FollowupID: 257883

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:17

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:17
Hey Mickl
I think its a great idea, hope you get it sorted out real soon, let me know how you wnet please mate, I am definately interestedI love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257927

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 00:14

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 00:14
To all of the Above .

Firstly I must point out that I fully intended to have 2 external plug in air hose points (one either side somwehere near the side steps) however Brad at OUTBACK 4WD in Bayswater, Melbourne advised against it for the following reason:-

'things' have a habit of coming up under the body and regardless of how good your installation is, there is always reasonably high risk factor of damage to these type of fittings, because for ease of access they usually have to be in the open somewhere.

So! mine are under the hood on either side, and yes it does give me the S...s opening it to access them, however I look at it as a postive, in that it forces me to have a look under the hood more often than I most probably would.

Query 1 (Air Tank)

This an extract from a previous post ( 7927) It has soime very interest points from other members, so try and read the whole thread.

''I have an ARB compressor in the engine bay that runs both the ARB Rear & Front lockers.

It also has a speed coupling mounted off of it in the vicinity of the top of the air cleaner housing (75 series).

A short while ago I had a tank built to fit underneath between the transmission protection plate and the floor.

It was built by a crew in Kilsyth,Melbourne out of 4.5 inch steam pipe with mounts, drainage and two inlet/outlet ports. Fully engineered and rated to whatever the standard is for that material. ( Bloody High I believe.) Total cost $100.00 How much does it hold? No idea, it was built to fit the space available.

I took this gizmo down to Outback 4WD where I was having something else done and had it fitted it at the same time. (I must mention that I had researched this with Outback 4WD prior to having the tank made).

The man fitted it and also added a second speed coupling on the other side of the engine bay at my request.

I don't know how the whole apparatus was setup but the ARB pressure switch controls everything and it works like a dream.

Takes about 45 seconds to fill it all up. Once I get into territory that may need a locker or air for either tyres or blowing dust off, I just switch it on and leave it, so there is always air if you need it.

Its just ace for blowing all the dust off of back of the troopy when your finished for the day or out of a High lift jack if you have one.

I had the said 'pressure vessel' specifically manufactured by C.J. Compressors, Kilsyth(manufactures of compressors and relevant pressure vessels) to ASO 9000 standard to fit my vehicle size and safety wise.

Query 2 - After Market Turbo

I turbo'd a 1HZ troopy approx 2 years ago which weighs 3.5t when fully loaded.

The conversion included pump, aneroid and injectors. No Dyno.

Fuel Consumption prior to conversion was:

0 -100Kph 12.5 Litres per 100kms
100 - 120kph 13.5 Litres per 100 kms

Post conversion:

0 -100Kph 13.5 Litres per 100kms
100 - 120kph 15.5 Litres per 100 kms

I then had a mandrel bend, straight though exhaust fitted.

Did dick all either way on the fuel consumption, however it almost eliminated the turbo lag entirely which is great. It spools up really smoothly which gives the impression of extra power. Whether it does or not I don't know.

Now this is something that still amazes me.

In the Simpson switching from 4H to 2H to 2L, but driving very carefully and keeping the engine on 2000rpms or under it averaged 12.5 Litres per 100Kms

On the way to the Simpson this year I ran into a guy on the Banks of the Cooper at Innaminka who reckoned he had 'been every where man' in 4B's and that this was the trick re fuel consumption on diesels.

Take your time, drive carefully and keep the engine at 2000 or under without labouring it and bobs your uncle so to speak. Can't fault him so far.

If any of you would like more info re the Turbo conversion, email me at

ken_3149@yahoo.com

Posts 8540, 7927 and 8780 take the turbo thing a bit further. I have posted a full detailed blurb on my conversion, however can't locate it at the moment.

Ken Robinson

FollowupID: 257937

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 14:43

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 14:43
S Man,
As the "T man" mentioned under the seat should be considered, I've had the air compressor under the bonnet in my Rangie and yes it does get a bit of a work out and so far it's survived but I've also installed the compressor under the seat on my GU, the dust and I suspect eventually water will be it's down fall, the compressor under the seat always looks 100% better than one that has been kept in the elements. If you do go for the under seat option don't forget to use the best wiring, despite using what I was advised was the right wire the under seat application runs slower than the under bonnet option especially under load. My opinions as usual.Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 40246

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 14:49

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 14:49
Martyn,

How easy is it to mount and does it get in the way of the underseat heating vent? Is is a matter of tech screws or the like?? Is it noisy. I would use 6mm wire from the aux battery via a relay and a switch in one of the spare slots in the dash.

Thanks for your comments?

S Man.
FollowupID: 257861

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 14:59

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 14:59
S Man,
ARB do a specific wiring loom for this application, it's not that noisy the thing is when you are inflating your tyres you're out of the vehicle anyway so you don't notice it, when I was using the lockers it used to give my wife a bit of a start on the odd occasion that it came on, but it usually runs for about 15 secs so it's not that much of an annoyance. I wouldn't put an compressor in the engine bay again, I'm going to be moving the one in the Rangie as well. I've fitted an external air point on the bull bar so you actually plug the hose in outside, make sure the hose reaches the trailer tyres as well if you do this, I didn't ho hum ho hum. If you have the compressor under the seat it's best to have the doors open to allow air to circulate and cool the compressor. Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 257862

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 15:06

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 15:06
Martyn,

I will look at this as a real possibility. The trailer will be an issue for the hose as we take a tralier load of wood when we go off road. Always creates a bit of fun with 1/2 ton of wood on soft sand/shell girit at a place called Salt Creek (SA).

Will be looking at a Camper Trailer in the near future for the family touring!!

S Man
FollowupID: 257865

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 15:12

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 15:12
S-man,
Don't know where you are but I've got an OBrien off road trailer that's definately worth a look, has some very good features, have a look at the website, I'm not affiliated with them or anything I just have one and find to be a great trailer, have a look. Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 257868

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 15:16

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 15:16
Thanks, will do.

My brother in law has a Cavalier Camper off road I have used - damn good thing. I'm in SA and have used it in the Flinders Ranges and looking to do lots more.

Steve - or as my brother in law calls me - "S Man"
FollowupID: 257869

Reply By: Bazza - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:10

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:10
G'Day S Man,
Have you concidered leaving it in/putting it in the plastic box? I intended to mount mine someware in the vehicle but decidered not to because of the amount of times I've used it on someone else's rig, on their power souce. Unless your using it on lockers, you might find the portability an advantage, as I have. It does'nt take up much space.
Bazza.
AnswerID: 40253

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:30

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:30
Bazza,

I have had it in the plastic box for years. I do not use it for lockers as it is the basic model that does not have the cut out etc. The main reason I have thought about moving it elsewhere is after pumping up the tyres, the compressor is so hot I do not want to put the hose and electrical cable back in the box for fear of heat damage, vapourisation, melting or just plain stuffing it up!! I have to leave it all dangling in the back f the car until it cools down. I'm a slack bugger and wanted ease of use without hassles. However, if the hassles will be greter by mounting it somewhere (ie it won't last as long) then maybe I'll just live with it in the box.

S Man
FollowupID: 257875

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:16

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:16
S Man,
I had my ARB Air Locker supplied and fitted last week, they put the compressor under my seat (GQ). I am so glad they did, Its a perfect place for it. I considered under bonet fittment but i realised that last thing i want to do out bush is open the bonnet just to hook up a line.

Alsowas impressed with someopnes comment about a reserve tank fitted ...sounds like agreat idea. Might just look into that one too.

Good Luck And Merry Xmas To all .. Angelo I love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 40255

Follow Up By: The S Man - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:36

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 16:36
Angelo,

Presumably, by mouning it under the seat you need to drill a hole for the hose to get to the outside of the vehicle. How does this then go for rust and water coming in if you go though a creek etc? If I mounted it in the engine bay I would (as someone suggested earlier) mount an external outlet to connect the hose to so you don't need to lift the bonnet. Unsure yet on what to do.

Has got me thinking though about making an enclosed box with a cooling fan in it that activates when the compressor operates in the engine bay. Alternatively, make it easily dismountable so it can be used on someone elses power supply. Now I feel I'm getting way to complicated and may as well leave it in the box it came in and put it in the back of the car!!!

Merry X-mas and happy 4WDing

S Man
FollowupID: 257876

Reply By: Cumbo - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:48

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:48
S Man

I recently bought a blue tongue and mounted it in my GQ Email me and I will send some photos I took tonight.

Two bolts and a small bracket and I hope to hook it to a seperate tank when I find something suitable

jcumberl@bigpond.net.au

CumboTD42
EFS
TX4400
Safari Snorkel
Rola Racks
Milford Barrier
Engel 39l
AnswerID: 40289

Follow Up By: Cumbo - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:08

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:08
Look at

http://community.webshots.com/user/cumbo106
TD42
EFS
TX4400
Safari Snorkel
Rola Racks
Milford Barrier
Engel 39l
FollowupID: 257922

Follow Up By: The S Man - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 10:27

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 10:27
Cumbo,

I have just sent you my e-mail address and didn't see your follow up until afterwards. Have had a look on the web site. Looks good. I can't believe how much more room you have under the bonnet to instal things. So many options. The space I have in the GU is very limited. Gives me a good idea on what to do.

Thanks. Happy x-mas and 4WDing.

S Man
FollowupID: 257961

Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 14:14

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 14:14
S Man

Have ARB Compressor in GU TD42T. It was originally mounted under the bonnet but I had it moved under the front passenger seat.

Under the bonnet it was cutting out because of the heat. After running at highway speeds the ambient temp under the bonnet was close to the temperature cut out for the compressor. So when I stopped to pump up tyres on a vehicle that had left the road and punctured a tyre I could not do it.

Under the seat is the go. The noise is not a problem and the hose will reach the trailer but it won't if it's under the bonnet.

AnswerID: 40380

Follow Up By: The S Man - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 14:19

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 14:19
Duncs,

Thanks for the advice. Sounds like under the seat may be the best alternative. Did you install it yourself and was it hard to do?

S Man
FollowupID: 257971