new mazda bt50 bullbar near falls off

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 08:34
ThreadID: 91648 Views:7910 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
my dealership fitted bullbar on the new ute near fell off today as three fastners where looser than a kings cross hooker and two bolts missing....talk about bout bleep e workmanship or design or just both!!!!! plus scratch me car on both sides .... call to the dealership tomorrow

well took it back and they couldnt tighten it more than i did ,,so they reckon its all good...my arse its all good it still moves an inch backwards and forwards and sqeels more than a julia gillard??? i see a fight coming on on!!!! any advice?????

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=3251651055373&set=vb.1389901162&type=2&theater

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 08:43

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 08:43
Hi Don,
Just viewed your facebook video, I can certainly understand your distress.
Keep your cool when communicating with the dealer, take photos & this video as evidence also keep a note of all dealings, names & outcomes of this dispute.
Post the outcome,..... will be interested to hear..... heres hoping it is fixed with a minimum of iinconvenience & further distress.
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

AnswerID: 476822

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 09:00

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 09:00
thanks tony will definately post the on going saga to let other know wot sort of bleep e these idiots try to get away with it.....i have two toyota's so i should have just bought another ....have had me 80 series for 13/14 yrs and has never ever broken down.....so much for the mazdabaiter......glad i kept it to tow the mazda with ....lololol
FollowupID: 751983

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:16

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:16
i must say i am very happy with the car(bt50)and its capabilities and this bullbar is the only issue i have with it(better explain meself after the cruiser remark) just waiting to here back from head office monday or tuesday to sort this out ......
FollowupID: 751987

Reply By: stinky stabi - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 08:56

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 08:56
that's Wat the guys from EGR who make the bullbar said is acceptable, so the guy from dealership says, I rang egr but they never bothered calling me back.... Next will put on you tube under "2012 bt50" as will promote the dealership ;(((
AnswerID: 476825

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:13

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:13
Don,

I don't know if this is the actual situation with the Mazda but I had a similar problem with the Navara. The Bull bar is mounted to captive nuts welded into the front horns of the chassis rails. If these are nut-certs or spot welded, the nut inside the chasis can work or break loose through over tightening. This will then prevent the bar from being tightened further.

Another factor is that the bars are not supported against vibration by any form of gusseting. If the bar is simply mounted with four bolts into the chassis rail without any form of support extending from the bottom of the bull bar to anchor points further down the front chassis rails, then you may have issues.

I'll endevour to dig out a photo of the issue.

AnswerID: 476833

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:18

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:18

The captive nut has eventually cracked right out of the chassis horns due to vibration.

Mick

FollowupID: 751988

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:32

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 10:32
thank's mick for your input,have spoken to a few other blokes with the same vehicle and they state theirs are solid as a rock (which mine was the day i picked it up) went up to double island for the day(i did get out a couple of times as i heard thumping under the car but couldnt see anything there, which turned out to be the bullbar banging) got back to the servo at noosa and the bar was moving six inches or more, so three hours later and thats as tight as i could get it........even after workshop had it for a full day they could do no better(if they did)??????..

it does have these strap looking things coming across to near the wheel arch, hard to see in there so much plastic..lolol

hope nissan looked after you promptly
FollowupID: 751990

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 21:11

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 21:11
Gday MickO
Just put more glad wrap on and it will be ok...

FollowupID: 752038

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 13:19

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 13:19
I had a similar situation with my Tow Bar. They had used bolts with too long a shank on them which meant that when the bolt was fully home up to the shank in the nut it wasn't tightening up against the tow bar.

Took em out and replaced them with shorter shanked bolts.
AnswerID: 476845

Reply By: Member - MIKE.G - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 16:13

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 16:13
Hi don d1. I have a 2008 BT50 fitted with the Mazda aluminium bar. Had done 75000 klm and both the mounting brackets snapped off at the same time on the CSR last year. Much to the delight of other travellers we met, continued with the bar tied to the roof rack and had the mounts repaired at Kunnawaritji.
Advised Mazda in Brisbane and was requested to drop the vehicle in for inspection when I got back.
Mazda not only replaced the bar and the LH wheel guard at no cost, they lent me a car for the day and even refunded the $100 paid to have the welding done. I can't speak highly enough of their service.

Good luck,

AnswerID: 476860

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 20:56

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 20:56
Good to hear, you most likely had a good attitude & didn't make threats about forums & YouTube!
FollowupID: 752036

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 20:18

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 20:18
When this type of thing happens the dealer/Mazda has a duty of care and a direct responsibility to you to rectify the situation.
You said you can't speak highly enough about their service.
What they have done for you is the absolute least what should have been done and possibly a lot more eg new vehicle without repair and traces of faults.

Did they xray or crack test the chassis on both sides so they know it is ok????
OR is it just repaired and you now have to use it to see if it lasts.
ood luck with that.

Ross M
FollowupID: 752204

Follow Up By: Member - MIKE.G - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:56

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:56
Shaker, you are quite right. No good getting upset and stirring the possum if you want to get a positive result?

Ross, the chassis is not the problem, the mounting brackets are what failed as per my post and the vehicle had done 75000 klm, well outside the warranty period!
Mazda are doing a full review on the bar mounts and are keeping me posted re the results.

FollowupID: 752323

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:31

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:31
don d1

Bloody hell mate ....

Get all the Video evidence you can !
Get every conversation on tape.

Find an honest Dealer, that will pick up the Warranty, and above all let Mazda themselves know

AnswerID: 476931

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:45

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:45
Opps
Almost forgot....

Ends of 4x4 vehicles have crumple zones..
Can you get it strengthened ?

Replaced first, then Strengthened. All should be done under warranty. ????

FollowupID: 752071

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 21:20

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 21:20
Don

Just in case that video is stored in the Facebook file server, download a copy to your PC in case faceboook "clean" up. PC/laptop at home is preferable to a mobile device. A lot less chance of losing it either accidentally or by theft.

If things continue being pear shape get a report from the NRMA or your state car motoring body. Just have it handy.

Don't be a bit surprised if the apparent "shrugging of" is a ploy. Stick with it and don't blow your boiler at them. Cool, calm and collected and make notes if you cannot actually record the conversation. Be diplomatic in asking if it is okay if you do any recording. Just to protect your interests is a good one.

Best of luck. We just made a claim on a set of four mud tyres and the dealers met us half way. We are happy with that. I shut up for once and it worked.

Hopefully I am not telling you to suck eggs mate.

AnswerID: 477041

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 07:53

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 07:53
thanx phil have it all under control for the time being lolololol will let ya know how its all goes ,should know by wednesday
FollowupID: 752252

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:13

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:13
Hi Don,

Interesting to read your post & noticed that you mentioned EGR. I have just bought a 2010 Ford Ranger & it came complete with front & rear ARB bars, but was fitted with an EGR canopy.

The car has been fantastic, but I have had constant issues with the canopy. Leaking windows that were replaced but still leak and a crack in the corner of the canopy that is slowly growing. I must admit though to both Ford & EGR's credit, they have both been fantastic. Ford chasing up the initial replacement of windows then again with EGR re crack & windows. An EGR rep came out & looked at the cracked canopy & immediatley agreed to replace it free of charge - I was expecting nothing less, but have not had any problems with their service so far.

Hopefully the newly fitted canopy will be better than this one - they assure me it will be? Good luck with your bar....

AnswerID: 477108

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:39

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:39
gday jo Q im sure its not egr that are to blame it is the way it was fitted , wat peevs me they had the car for the whole day which is a bit of a drama to organize with my work and their hours opened, that they can state that that is acceptable movement ...see how we go ...can only wait to hear back from them
FollowupID: 752278

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 at 16:41

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 at 16:41
ECB now have an alloy bull bar availably for the new BT 50, starting price $2220, just in case anyone is looking for an alternative to the Mazda one.
AnswerID: 478333

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 at 16:58

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 at 16:58
G'day don d1

Don't keep us in suspense,,,,,,,how did it end.

Did they finally fix the bullbar???????

FollowupID: 753832

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 16:55

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 16:55
yes all sorted but couldnt tell me why , everything is sorted for the time being ,,here hoping it stays tight
FollowupID: 753989

Follow Up By: stinky stabi - Monday, Mar 12, 2012 at 19:53

Monday, Mar 12, 2012 at 19:53
well it loosened up again and rubbed a heap of paint off the guard......their going to get back to me after i took it in an they took some photos and had a look ????
FollowupID: 755678