diff lokkas

Submitted: Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:03
ThreadID: 9165 Views:2733 Replies:19 FollowUps:6
gday i know its been done to bits but ive checked the archives and am after some specific info about the lokka.
does any one with a gq have them fitted to the front diff and how do they find it
how much is one and where do i get one
can i fit it myself
is it worth paying $1450 to get the arb diff lock and compressor fittted.
i mean are they really worth the price around $600 more for how much advantage.
ive read a lot in archives about being a little hard some times while driving on the road but thats probly on full time 4wd.
friend of mine is looking at one to fit to his 2000 hilux any info on them appreciated also.
thank you all .
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

Reply By: Member - Ross - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:31

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:31
Buy a real truck that doesn't need one ....... ;-DFidei defensor

Rosco
AnswerID: 40279

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:37

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:37
P.S.

Sorry ... couldn't help meself ... must be the JamesonsFidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257896

Reply By: ross - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:44

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:44
Jemima I think the real questions are ,is how much do you really need it,and how often will you use it? There is a lot of us out there who take our 4wds into some pretty tough places without diff locks, although there is no denying that difflocks do make it easier.
In answer to your questions ,I have considered getting a difflock and if I ever do,it will be the ARB air locker because it can be activated when the driver chooses to do so.My second choice would probably be a detroit locker because of their good name.
You can get them from any reputable 4wd shop but definately get lots of prices.Ask for separate prices on the labour and kits
I believe fitting it yourself is a no no.It takes experience to set the diff clearances for the backlash.
Your friend might consider getting a good quality winch which virtually guarrantees he wont get stuck,well not for long anyway.
AnswerID: 40283

Jemima I think the real questions are ,is how much do you really need it,and how often will you use it? There is a lot of us out there who take our 4wds into some pretty tough places without diff locks, although there is no denying that difflocks do make it easier.
In answer to your questions ,I have considered getting a difflock and if I ever do,it will be the ARB air locker because it can be activated when the driver chooses to do so.My second choice would probably be a detroit locker because of their good name.
You can get them from any reputable 4wd shop but definately get lots of prices.Ask for separate prices on the labour and kits
I believe fitting it yourself is a no no.It takes experience to set the diff clearances for the backlash.
Your friend might consider getting a good quality winch which virtually guarrantees he wont get stuck,well not for long anyway.
AnswerID: 40284

AnswerID: 40285

AnswerID: 40286

AnswerID: 40287

Reply By: ross - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:48

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:48
I hope I got my point cross;0) and if you need any more info just do a search on google under "difflockers" There is a wealth of info there explaining the types,operation,dis/advantages of various difflocks and LSD
AnswerID: 40288

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:19

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:19
thanks ross.
the main reason for the lokka is up in the high country and a bit of mud play.
i was out on the weekend and come accros a boged defender.
i managed to drive up over the bonet and on to the roof but after having a little trouble getting down the back i came up with the ideas of the lokka to help with a little traction lolyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 257905

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:20

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:20
gday ross.
sorry mate couldnt help my self
must be the bourbon.lol
all the best mateyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 257907

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:25

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:25
Cheeky bloody twerp ... that's all I can say ... hic.

Merry bloody Christmas anyway /... LOL LOL LOLFidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 257909

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:27

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:27
Hi Duck,
I had a ARB Air Locker installed in my GQ last week, Reason for choosing the ARB...simple, its the best ! It cost me all up with 2 new bearings installed just under $2000.00, thats with a compressor set up as well, and i got 10% discount off retail price because i became a member of ExplorOz. I ran a Detroit in my race car for many years...lots of fun in the wet, especially at over 200 kms, but Some others that replied to your question hit the nail on the head.....Its only on when you need it to be, that in itself is a good enough reason for me.
Good luck with your decision...I am very happy with the one i made.

Cheers AngeloI love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 40299

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:02

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:02
This must be a troll...

If you have read the archives, you would see that 90% say pay the extra for ARB.
AnswerID: 40306

Follow Up By: jtb - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 10:51

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 10:51
arb front & rear 4 me, no looking back, only look back 2 pull someone else out muddy christmas jtb
FollowupID: 257963

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:25

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:25
hi jemima... I asked a very similar question the other month and all my answers led to the air locker....
Dont even worry about the cost of the compressor needed because you need one anyway...even if you dont have a locker...
Mine is mounted under the hood and it has an extra outlet so i can just plug the airline into anytime i want for the tyre pumping....
The airlocker gives you such an advantage in sand i was shell-shocked... Sand dunes and beach driving... It picked up the vehicles ability of climbing sand dunes by about 70%.....
I havent tried it out fully yet but i made it over some pretty steep hills on sunday with overhangs at the top.....(dirt hills).....

Go the airlocker and dont mess about...._____________________________________________
Cant think of anything to put here just yet !

Reply By: P.C. - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:28

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:28
Hi Jemima,I have had two Lokka's fited to my '87 Hilux for over 125,000k's put them in at 260,000 and had no dramas at all,they do take some geting used to,for example,roundabouts need steady constant power or the vehicle tends to want to "pigroot",the clacking noise is quite audible and brings good samaritans out of the woodwork to tell you your vehicle is buggered,every now and then there is a louder than normal clack when I take off,I don't have power steering and when in 4WD the steering is extremely heavy wanting to return to centre,apart from these quirks these things have turned my old dual cab into a very capable vehicle and I don't regret fiting them.
AnswerID: 40313

Reply By: V8troopie - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 01:32

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 01:32
I bought a Lokka for the front diff of my troopie at a show when I saw them the first time. (My car has no special diffs on either end and bogs rather too easily in sand).
Had the Lokka professionally fitted (robson bros) and this was nearly as dear as the show price special diff cost me.
Had used it a few times off road and found the steering a bit harder but no strange noises at all. Wish I could get time off to go for a real long trip like the Canning again...

Anyway, the idea was to have the lokka at the front and an air locker at the rear, the latter is still on the wish list but the compressor for it is already under the bonnet.
I would not want an air locker at the front, too easy to break something if 'accidentally' engaged.
Klaus
AnswerID: 40331

Reply By: Dave from Fraser Coast 4WD Club - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 02:05

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 02:05
I got two lock rights

Love 'em

Locked is Locked
AnswerID: 40334

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 02:09

Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 02:09
dittoAllyn
Some days we are the flies; some days we are the windscreen.
FollowupID: 258101

Reply By: Time - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 08:31

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 08:31
Put a lokka in the front of the IFS Hilux, best thing I ever did, the 'lux has the bad habit of cocking a front wheel and thus loosing traction, have been caught out a few times, had to suffer the embarrassment of being snatched up a steep rutted hill by a Nissan!!

Bit of extra "feel" in the steering when 4WD in engaged and it likes to self centre, but otherwise no real problems. I have had no steering problems negotiating tight turns. Unlike some of my mates I tend to run in 2WD whereever I can and only engage 4WD when it is really needed, so the steering "feel" isn't constant.

I have never driven an air locked front diff vehicle so I can't compare, but for me I'm happy with what I have and am a $1,000 better off.

Buggerlux
AnswerID: 40342

Reply By: Ferret - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 08:53

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 08:53
Yep i've got a Lokka in the front of my 95 GQ. XLNT. I got it second hand from a mate who was running a 6.5 turbo diesel and managed to break just about everything in his drive train by thrashing the crap out of it, but the lokka still looked like new. Would strongly recommend.
Scott
AnswerID: 40345

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 11:03

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 11:03
If you can afford the ARB, get it over the lokka because you have the choice of locked or unlocked. Sometimes in mud or snow you dont want to loose steering with a locked front diff. Also on fast dirt it is good to run in 4 high, cant be done safely with the front lokka. Also windy tracks that need 4 high become mussle building exercises with a lokka,
I bent my bullbar/siderail and barked a full grown gum by loosing grip on the steeringwheel powering out of a corner on a winding uphill 4wd track with a front lokka. I now run double ARB's.
A snow trip by a local 4b club banned auto front locker cars for safety reasons.
Another bad thing they do is accelerate tyre wear and shockload drivetrain components. Imagine the extra stress on the steering if you need to fight it on corners.
Good side is cheaper and locked when you need traction ie takes the human factor of shell be right out.
Andrew wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 40357

Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 13:46

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 13:46
Jemima,

I had a GQ set up with 2 ARB diff locks. It was once an ARB Company car.

When I get the funds they are going into the GU. Using the rear makes a phenomonal difference to the places you can go, when you hook in the front as well it is awesome.

There is a noticeable reduction in your ability to stear with the front locker in but because it is so easily switched in and out that can be overcome with well timed tapping of the switch.

It is definately worth $1450 to have the diff lock fitted and the compressor is capable of supplying all the compressed air needs for the GQ. You CANreseat beads on 10R15 easily with the ARB unit. I recommend you get the compressor put under the front passenger seat. Keeps it clean and cool and you cn easily reach all wheels, including a trailer, with the airline.

I think the compressor is a must have item if you are going touring and the diff locks are worth every cent.

Like I said earlier give me the cash and I'm on my way to the shop.

Duncs.
AnswerID: 40372

Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 13:46

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 13:46
Jemima,

I had a GQ set up with 2 ARB diff locks. It was once an ARB Company car.

When I get the funds they are going into the GU. Using the rear makes a phenomonal difference to the places you can go, when you hook in the front as well it is awesome.

There is a noticeable reduction in your ability to stear with the front locker in but because it is so easily switched in and out that can be overcome with well timed tapping of the switch.

It is definately worth $1450 to have the diff lock fitted and the compressor is capable of supplying all the compressed air needs for the GQ. You CANreseat beads on 10R15 easily with the ARB unit. I recommend you get the compressor put under the front passenger seat. Keeps it clean and cool and you cn easily reach all wheels, including a trailer, with the airline.

I think the compressor is a must have item if you are going touring and the diff locks are worth every cent.

Like I said earlier give me the cash and I'm on my way to the shop.

Duncs.
AnswerID: 40373

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 23:30

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 23:30
JPD,
I had twin ARB lockers in my GQ and I have a rear one in my Rangie, they are great, I like the fact that they can be disengaged, I've come unstuck a couple of times using them on the beach, ending up with the turning circle from hell. Used correctly after some experimenting they are priceless. I got stuck once on my own with the camper trailer just simply turning around on some soft ground, I was put down as a lost cause by a Tojo diver who happened to luckily drive past, he was getting the recovery strap out whilst I let the tyres down. I got in and drove straight out, camper trailer and all, the lockers I believe have paid for themselves many times over. They need to be respected they can do a lot of damaged when they are usd incorrectly, or installed incorrectly, I would advise getting ARB to look afterthe installation it's worth it.Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 40435