waeco 110 litre
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 22:20
jemima puddle duck
been done 100s of times i know but interesed in the 110 litre do they use heaps of power compared to say a 50ltr(theres 6 of us)so we really need the room.
we have duel batts and go away on day trips while we
camping just intereded in thwe power use .acordint to waecos web site they use 70 watts is that heaps.
thanksyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter
Reply By: Member - Ross - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 23:27
Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 23:27
No idea about the fridge cobber, but 70 watts isn't a great deal of draw .. only 5.8 amps ... allow say 6+ to account for losses etc and it's still quite reasonable.
I had an old 3 way which was rated at 160 watts, but it died a year or so back.
I would suggest you wire up for it using heavy wire and a circuit breaker rather than fuse. 6mm wire is way over the top but you will get much less loss due to voltage drop if it's a few metres long. I always reckon bigger is better when it comes to 12V wiring. It's a completely different kettle of fish to 240V where 10A equates to something like 2400W. (Because it's AC you can't just use the old P=Vi rule).
Anyway .. to answer your question 70W not a real problem for dual batts.
If they're duElling .. what is it .. lightening rods at 20 paces ;-]
Fidei defensor
Rosco
Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 23:30
Tuesday, Dec 16, 2003 at 23:30
Gem ima, I've a 70 litre Trailblazer that I can do a stationary
camp for 3 days running off a 90 amp Deep cycle if that info is much use.I turn it off overnight only because it will freeze up on me if I don't and I can't run it any higher.I.E. Ikeep it around 4-5 degrees.
Your problem will be keeping the fridge door shut long enough with that tribe.
A 110 litre might be a bit of overkill.ne cede malis
Reply By: Member - W.Wallace - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 02:24
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 02:24
Don't know about the 50 litre, but I have a waeco 110 litre. The last time I used it
other than as a bar fridge in my office when not
camping, was in the Flinders not that long ago & I had it set on about 3-4lights(about half cooling capacity).
It was run off of a thumper battery pack(48amps) for nearly 3 days no problems. The battery pack still had about half capacity left afterwards.
Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 07:52
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 07:52
could freeze a lot ducks with a 110 litre
i have trailblazer and can get 2 days running on freeze mode (-15)
110 litre as a guide should use aaround twice as much for 50.
A couple of skinned ducks, a cray and some ice cream together with meat for 7 days for 5 blokes soon fills up 70 litres fridge. We use an esky for the drinks Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
Reply By: Dave from Fraser Coast 4WD Club - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 08:39
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 08:39
I have a 110, the secret is to ensure that it is full, of cold stuff all the time, are you planning to use it as a fridge freezer, or just fridge, they seem to actually work better as a fridge freezer. I'm yet to do exhaustive testing on this however.
Don't skimp on the cable to power the unit, an extra $10 for heavier cable and fittings will pay for itself quickly. I would also suggest ditching the cig style plug for something more suitable. The plug is also Hella Compatible, but I went for the T shape low voltage plugs
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 09:38
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 09:38
Jemima,
110 lites!!! that just about fills upn the back of a fourby. We have 8 in our family 2 adults and 6 kids 10-17 year old and we haqve a 40litre and a 20 litre fridge. The small one keeps the cans of drink cold and everything else in the 40 litre. We use long life milk etc and wrap vegies in newspaper and keep in a dark space. That is plenty of litres to keep us going for a week. Just got to think about bit a bit. remember a half empty fridge will use more power than a full one so buy the one that best suits. Bigger is not always better!We have so little time to enjoy our land
Follow Up By: Dave from Fraser Coast 4WD Club - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 17:35
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 17:35
Two people in a troopy (and often feeding 80 people for work, who actually own the fridge anyway) and you'll find that 110 litres isn't that big after all.
We're looking at a second one early in 2004.
Reply By: Blackie - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 16:46
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2003 at 16:46
Waeco have just released a 60 litre model it is much the same as the 50 litre just a bit taller (10 litres taller) Probably 10 litres dearer too.
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 01:38
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 01:38
maybe you should do a group buy deal with daimond on this
forum i think he was looking at a 110 litre waeco?
good up in the high country i hear?1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 12:28
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 12:28
Hey now that's a good idea!"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"
Wombat
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 13:02
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 13:02
I think you could be right Toonfish. I wonder if Jemima wears faggotty pants?Just Do It!
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 13:33
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 13:33
I really don't think Diamond and Jemima would see eye to eye."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"
Wombat
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 15:11
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 15:11
maybe if he bent right over?????
lmao
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 15:11
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 15:11