Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 13:28
biscuits
Hi Everyone,
Was wondering if any of the MQ owners out there could tell me what the biggest sized tyres I can run on my SWB MQ with stock (low)
suspension?
I'd really like to be able to run 12.5" wide (32's? 33's?) tyres for the sand work I usually do. I am running 31x10.5's at the moment. Bigger diameter tyres would probably help heaps with hwy gearing too - (2500rpm at ~100kph = hot diesel!).
Dave.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 15:24
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 15:24
If its sacked out standard
suspension, then do that first... go with 2inch lift in the reset leaves....
Then you should run 33's without a hassle.
you may get away now with 32x11.5's without a hassle, but hard to know how bad your
suspension is sagged....
Follow Up By: biscuits - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 15:35
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 15:35
Thanks truckster.
It's probably pretty sagged. I was discussing with a mate how much lift I could get from resetting
the springs - I wouldnt have thought I could get 2 inches out of it! but I'll definitely look into it further now.
Any idea on the ballpark amount to reset leaves? Would the standard size shocks handle the extra lift okay? (the pedders shocks in there atm are pretty stuffed - I know the rears have fluid leakage all over them - but then with rockhard standard
suspension who needs shocks???).
Dave.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 16:42
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 16:42
Costs on
suspension wont be cheap, but I couldnt exactly tell you, probably leaves and shocks, $700-1000? Shocks around $100-150ea....
Reply By: Mick - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 16:19
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 16:19
Do a spring over conversion with your standard springs, then youll fit 38" boggers!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 16:41
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 16:41
And let me guess yours off the creation are forsale? :)
Follow Up By: Mick - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 17:45
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 17:45
No, ours are 39" swampers!
Reply By: SupaMav - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 22:22
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 22:22
Biscuits,
I had new leaves, u-bolts, shocks and shackles put in my MK shortie and it was about $1800 including the labour. It was a Fulcrum kit and the shocks were Cofaps.
dan.
Reply By: Hercules17 - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 18:00
Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 18:00
I have had 2 MQ shorties and an Mq ute. 1 shortie and the ute were used in competition as
well as everyday getting to work. Reset springs are bleep !!!!!
I have made that mistake twice. If you just want a nice truck that handles
well and is good offroad, I highly recommend, Dobinson 2" lift springs and shocks and 33" tyres. You wont have much guard clearance, but MQs dont have much wheel travel, so its not a problem.
If you want a tuff truck, the 2" springs and a 2" body lift will comforfably get 35" tyres under there.
Depending on your money situation, you can go for a 3" body lift and 1.5" longer shackles and 38" meat will ride sweet.
Believe me that you dont want a spring over in a MQ (too much sway).
I have done all of these combos on my trucks and I fitted everything myself.
The first one is the cheapest and the last the dearest.
The dobinson springs and shocks cost me (new) $1250 the shackles were my originals modified by my local steel works (all 4 for $150), the 3" body lift blocks they also made from 3" diameter steel bar for $200. and the 38"s were second hand from the Trading post for $1500 on rims.
Best of luck