Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 13:00
North side of Yeppoon, right on the beach
Don't know its name I THINK it is "Beachside Caravan Park"
I also think it is council operated

CJ
AnswerID: 478970

Reply By: Member - Tricky Dicky (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:35

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:35
Hi just south of Yeppoon at Kinka Beach I think it might have been called Kinka Beach holiday park, ask for a site down the back near the lake nice big sites and peaceful.

Dick
AnswerID: 478974

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:40

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:40
That would be Coolwaters Holiday Village.
Very popular with families and watersports.
FollowupID: 754486

Follow Up By: Member - Tricky Dicky (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:59

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:59
Yep thats the one I just looked it up. Can get very busy in the front but down the back near the lake and the trees its ok

Dick
FollowupID: 754487

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:39

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 14:39
Hi CJ
We stopped there for six months 2009, Ill give you a description on all of them.

BEACHSIDE caravanpark on Farnborough Rd.
Fantastic if you want to be close to the main thoroughfare. Concreted walkways along the foreshore. No pool but the beach is just there and its beautiful.

BLUE DOLPHIN caravan park Whitman Street
Id give it a wide birth. Next to mangroves and the bats nest there.

POINCIANA tourist park 9 Scenic Hwy
Handy across the road doctors Five Star shop,takeaway, bakery so on. Bit of a walk to the beach and the pool wasn't all that inviting. New pub/bottle shop on the corner of Taranganbah Rd is nice.

Heading out of town a bit now along the scenic highway

Big 4 Capricorn. Typical big 4 well kept grounds pool. Nice little bay across the road.

CAUSEWAY Caravan Park. Budget with no security. Anybody can walk on straight through your camp. Great takeway and heaps of people fish there including myself.

COOLWATERS Holiday Village.
We stayed there. Very friendly, clean and a fantastic pool. Very busy in the school holidays.

Island View Caravan park Top Tourist.
Stayed there too. Very friendly, shady sites. Need to book when the grey nomads head up from the south for winter. Easter the owners have a do at the bbqs for everybody. This place was the cheaper of where we stayed. I think from memory I drive the 14 km each way to work everyday. The views are unreal. You forget how long it takes.

Sharon

AnswerID: 478975

Follow Up By: Member - Julio C (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 18:14

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 18:14
Wow! Thanks
FollowupID: 754495

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 20:23

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 20:23
G'Day Julio,
My pick is BYFIELD National park just North of Yeppoon. Great swimming spots in the river & some nice forest walks.
Guess it depends on the style of camping you like though. Mine is to avoid the crowds of caravan parks.

Stu
AnswerID: 478998

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Mar 02, 2012 at 21:58

Friday, Mar 02, 2012 at 21:58
Coolwaters on Kinka beach is great. They look after our students wonderfully every July on our Gold Coast to Winton safari.
AnswerID: 479237