Navara STR
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 23:06
mik*2
I've just picked my new Navara STR (and I love it!) It's my first brand new car so I have some questions that I hope can be answered. I ended up getting the 3.3 V6, I couldn't bring myself to buy the diesel after my last one, and reading some of the horror stories on this
forum. Although I did take one for a drive, they were very impressive. Anyway, I know when the 1000k service comes around from the previous new work car that i had, when the dealer does this service, it's just a quick look over and tick off the service book. I bet they don't even check most of the things. There is not even an oil change at this service in fact they wait till 10000k's before the first oil change so I guess I'll be doing the first one.
What have you all done when this service comes around? Do you go over the car with a fine tooth combe and show the dealer a list of stuff they need to look at? The place I bouight
mine from "forgot" to put the towbar on so they will be doing that as
well as fixing 2 scatches that were there when i first looked at the car. I did tell them when i first saw the car but they obviously didn't listen.
Some of your experiences of your new car servicing would be good.
The guy I bought it off, apart from those 2 hassles was generally pretty good so there aren't any problems there.
I couldn't find that much info on the net about the STR Navara, only bits and pieces,
can somebody point me towards some reviews etc?
mike
Reply By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 23:55
Thursday, Dec 18, 2003 at 23:55
Mik*2 .... now's that's a most unusual name.
In the first instance with regard to defects .. stick to your guns and more importantly stick it to the stealers. Ride the mongrels relentlessly, only treatment they seem to understand and respond to. Regardless of which horseless carriage they're vending.
As for oil changes, I'm a great believer in more is better ... without going over the top of course. I had a similar situation when I picked up the Fender. See you at 20k for an oil change they said. BS I said and back it went at 5k. In tomorrow for 10k then I'll leave it to 10k intervals, notwithstanding the log book which says 20k.
It's probably an individual thing but for me with an investment of mega dollaros I tend to look on the conservative side.
Happy trailsFidei defensor
Rosco
Follow Up By: mik*2 - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 00:05
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 00:05
thats why I find it odd that there isn't an oil change till 10000, I guess these days with better technology in oils etc it doesn't need it. I changed the oil myself religously even in my company cars. I'll certainly do the same for this one especially since it's
mine.
I'll just make sure that I get what I asked for and since the first service is free, I'll get them to give it a good going over. I have never taken my cars to others to service because I never trust them to do the right job. In this case I have no choise cause 1/ its anew car so there are warranty issues and 2/ I don't have the right equipment to do it anyway(electronics etc...)
thanks
mike
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 10:21
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 10:21
there is some happy customers (not ) on the 4wd section of fishnet
http://www.fishnet.com.au
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
Reply By: mik*2 - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 10:24
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 10:24
yep read that, about the diesel towing stuff,
well i didn't get diesel and i don't tow that sort of weight. Who knows how they treat their cars..
mike
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 11:16
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 11:16
Mate change the oil filter at 1000k and again at 5000k. then as per the book, the oil can be topped up with the same mineral oil until 10000k . leave the mineral oil in for 10000k so that the piston rings and bores have bedded properly, then you can go to synthetic if you wish. First service is usually just checking oil levels and looking for leaks etc , i used to check
suspension mount bolts , brake caliper bolts etc, but a lot of service guys don't bother. Service manager doesn't make any margin on first service so they whip em through as soon as possible..
And yes go over the whole vehicle with a notepad in hand and give them a written list of concerns at the first service ( if you find any more ) Their detailer should have picked up on the scratches at the final pre delivery clean, if they won't fix them straight away, tell them to remove their free advertising off the vehicle - numberplate surrounds, rear window sticker etc...
If it is the dealer you bought it from , get the sales manager involved with any problems, as
well as the dealer principle if needed, as these are the ones who made the profits off of the sale. - RIDE EM HARD-
Cheers Brad Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
Follow Up By: mik*2 - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 15:34
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 15:34
i think thats what i'll do, write everything down that i'm not happy with and show them. I'm already going to be without for a day cause of the towbar and the scatches so a little more won't hurt. That free advertising was gone the minute i drove it into my driveway!
mike
Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 13:57
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 13:57
Yes, Dont be in a hurry to change the oil 1st time around... some makers use special running in oil to get motor bedded in. Change the filter if you want but like others have said, use genuine/same filter. & dont tell... the 3.3 is a beaut motor...1999 Pathfinder
17ft Evernew 'All Roads' van
Reply By: howesy - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 22:30
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 22:30
if you change the oil yourself get the same filter for the last change and don't tell the dealer you changed the oil. they may use that against you if something goes wrong. otherwise get a licenced mechanic to do the change.
Reply By: Magic - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 08:10
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 08:10
Hi Mik*2
I took my navara STR-DI 3L TD for 10 k service (4 months
young) and I was very disappointed. Dealer told me to came back in 2 hours, I was wondering around the car yard waiting for my car to go for service after one hour and 10 min they took my car and the service was done in exactly 14 min and 30 sec I was watching the mechanic trough window and he only changed the oil and oil filter then my car was out. cost $250 very expensive oil change when I complained about the service to the manager response was - this is all for the 10k service oil, filter and visual check of breaks etc, I found that if service is done by qualified mechanic and car book is stamp by him I will not have warranty problems (must use genuine parts for service oil-fuel filters etc.) Never again dealer service and good luck with your navara my is great heavy off road no problems I did some modification tyres, bulbar, winch, CB radio, turbo timer, cruse control, IPF lights etc.
Follow Up By: mik*2 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 10:09
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 10:09
see thats what i though would happen, i have to take it in for its
services, i have no choice, so do you recommend Ultratune or a place like that?
mike
Reply By: mik*2 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 18:19
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 18:19
Graham and Anne,
What sort of fuel economy do you think i could expect?
mike
Follow Up By: Andrew Burg - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 11:24
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 11:24
I have had
mine 1 week today and am on my second
tank (nearly done 1000km hehe)
Mine is the ST-R 3.0L TD
First
Tank - 683km with 7 litres left in
tank, no towing.
I love the car and took it out on beach and treck'n yesterday. I am interested to see how many other people have them as there doesnt seem to be many of us out here :)
BTW hi all my first post :)
Reply By: Magic - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 21:55
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 21:55
Any body that you can trust, and supply them with your own full synthetic oil if you going keep the car for long time. Also good idea if you change oil every 5000 km. Still works cheaper then go to dealer and pay them $250 for standard oil.
Reply By: mik*2 - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 20:01
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 20:01
Andrew,
Yeh the diesels go
well, I liked the one i took for a drive but couldn't think of any reason why I should buy it, so i went for the petrol. Have you found much on the net about them?
mike
Follow Up By: dingodigger - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:17
Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:17
hey fellas ive got one of the str diesels 03 model
no probs encountered.
I put some insect screen in front of the radiator to keep crap out.
have bull bar tub liner and apart from a second spare wheel and tyre thats all i will get or do for it.
will change oil every 5000 with a good quality diesel eng oil.
i tow about 2.5 tonne with it during the week and will have to wait and see how gearbox/clutch goes etc. hopefully the probs on fishnet was an isolate case. **** happens.
Reply By: mik*2 - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:27
Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:27
dingodigger,
You never know how other people treat their cars, if the manufacturer says their car can tow up to 3 tonne,
well it can and if it fails, they'll have to resposible for fixing it.
I got the bull bar, tubliner, canopy and tinited windows so it's not a bad looking car. I wish Nissan had of done 2 more things, put a footrst next to the clutch pedal and filled the back speaker holes with some speakers. Apart from that I love the car.....come to think of it, are you in
Perth? I could do with the use of a
Dingo for a couple of hours!! With that username I guess you have something to do with them?!
mike
Reply By: dingodigger - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 10:04
Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 10:04
g'day mik,
am in vic now but should be back in
Northam, WA by early feb. yep the
dingo is what i tow behind the navara so i'll let you know when i'm over there.
is your ute an auto or manual?
my first impressions of
mine are that the motor has good power and is nice and responsive.Yes they should include a footrest and keyless entry for sure. Plus some decent tie down hooks in the back are needed too. For my other job I drive a 2003 hilux 3.0 td single cab trayback and the 3.0td navara is very similar in power delivery.
i was looking at an SR5 hilux dual cab or the navara but the hilux was going to end up about 5 grand dearer. If the navara gives me no grief from the motor,gearbox, clutch etc then i will be happy. If not, I will be furious as I expect NO major problems from a new vehicle like that. Anyway, nly time will tell.
take it easy
Follow Up By: mik*2 - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 00:14
Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 00:14
No
mine manual. There isn't a choice for an auto in the 4X4 Navara range. I think you can only get the auto in a 4 X 2.
Anyway, I checked out the Hilux as
well but found it a little overpriced. About the same difference as you. I lokked at the triton as
well but ended up with the Navara. As I am finding out now, the fuel economy isn't,
well bleep hot. About 14-15L/100k's. I wouls of like a Diesel one for a week or so to
test it for myself before I would of bought it. Anyway I've got the petrol one and it goes
well.
Have you come across anything else on the net about the STR at all?
mike
Reply By: dingodigger - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 21:04
Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 21:04
no nothing else on net apart from checking out the american navaras or "frontier" i think theyre called on the nissan global website.
going
well so far and towing quite
well with aircon on through hilly roads.
i bet the petrol has plenty of get up and go being a manual, would be handy for take off at lights and passing
anyway cheers
dd