Nav 80
G'day all
Just returned from a 2000km trip around the south-west of WA. Whilst in
Perth at the Swan Valley Tourist
Park we had our near new 40 litre Engel Fridge with bag stolen. The fridge is engraved on the top side of the fridge casing with a WA drivers licence number which isn't visible with the bag on. Thought I would put it on the site in the hope someone may be offered a cheap sale.
Reply By: stillthinkinaboutit - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 16:40
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 16:40
Hi Nav 80,
What a bummer mate. Where was it located when it was stolen, from inside the vehicle ?
I have been thinking about riveting some eye plates onto
mine and using a steel security cable / lock to minimize the chances of loss. At the moment I Just pass the steel cable through the handles and attach it to a convenient place like a tree, trailer drawer bar or towbar etc. I know they could break the handles off easily enough or unscrew them, but it should slow them down and if it is at night I would more than likely wake up with the noise etc.
Follow Up By: Nav 80 - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 17:17
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 17:17
It was in the annex and pluged into the power point on the side of the van. It was stolen during the night while we were asleep,,never heard a thing. I have been carrying around engel fridges for years and have always had it chained up but this time forgot the chain. It makes me wonder how many times it may have been stolen before if it hadent been chained up. There are so many mongrels around these days who dont give a stuff about other peoples property and how hard they have had to work for it. The fridge serial # is OMT-0164 but I know I will never see it again.
Follow Up By: stillthinkinaboutit - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 17:34
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 17:34
Yeh, nothings safe around a
campsite anymore, always some low life that thinks your stuff is just there for the taking.
Some people think I am paranoid when I chain
mine up, but mate I have had stuff nicked before.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 17:39
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 17:39
Yeh, nothings safe around a
campsite anymore, always some low life that thinks your stuff is just there for the taking.
couldnt agree more. Heaps in our club are into BASECAMPING, Im not, I dont wanna leave a hole in the ground with a dump in it incase someone steals it.. :(
Bumma on the fridge...
Follow Up By: Mark from Getaway Portable Refrigerator Hire - Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 19:15
Friday, Dec 19, 2003 at 19:15
Shame that they did not get zapped when they pulled the lead.....as in not killed but an electric fence type of zapp. I have heard of a few Engels of late being stolen from the back of vehicles in broad daylight!
Reply By: Play Rough - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 02:07
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 02:07
I have buried in my shed (where else??) a device that can be attached to an appliance and when turned on by a key switch it sets off a very loud piercing noise if the appliance is unplugged, moved or the device is forcably removed. It's setup for 240vac appliances but someone with a little electronics know how could find away around that. I've had it for at least five years or more. If any one is interested i'll try and dig it out to get details I can't remember where it came from (possibly one of those invention brochures)
Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2003 at 01:59
Sunday, Dec 21, 2003 at 01:59
Hi Play Rough
Sounds like what I needed on Thursday, while getting some
tools from the truck out the back of a
shop ( stripping out after the floods)
maybe 4 or 5 minuits some A* se hole came in the closed front door took a pk of smokes ( thats not to bad) but my mobile phone thats a lot of $$$ and it affects my business thank god they left my hammer , nail bag etc & a jemmy bar behind.Prado TD Auto
Reply By: Member - Paul H - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 09:58
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 09:58
It's a shame, these days that we have to find ways of securing our
campsite from these parasites. What happend to the "good old days" When it was'nt a worry & there was was an unwritten code amongst campers to respect other peoples gear & leave it alone.
Sorry to hear about your loss.
PMKNext trip please..............................................
Reply By: Member - Peter (WA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 14:42
Saturday, Dec 20, 2003 at 14:42
MY the flees of a thousand camels infest their arm pits ..........This is not my car anymore
York 4x4