Camping in Vic with Kids Trail Bike

Submitted: Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 13:17
ThreadID: 92628 Views:5642 Replies:5 FollowUps:17
Hey All,

Does anyone know of a place in Vic to go camping that I can take my 7ry old Son's little trail bike.

Want something out of the way so the bike doesn't bother anyone (not that is i very loud). We have a 4wd and are self sufficient, no need for and facilities, a river to re-fil water tanks would be handy.

Thought i'd ask.

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 13:29

Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 13:29
It is unlawful to ride a trail bike on any public land without a valid riders license and at least rec rego. Also note it is unlawful to ride a Quad as except for some primary producers you cannot get rego for them.

Looking at fines of over $1000 if/when caught (Unlicensed rider and Unregistered vehicle).

Best bet would be to join a trail bike club. Good fun and safe way to get into the sport.

AnswerID: 480787

Follow Up By: Bruce G4 - Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 13:33

Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 13:33
mmmm I figured that may the answers, I guess it stays at home.!!!
FollowupID: 756225

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 14:04

Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 14:04
I think some trail bike clubs own properties that you can also camp at ..

FollowupID: 756230

Follow Up By: Bruce G4 - Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 14:29

Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 14:29
Oh Cool, I will look into that.
FollowupID: 756234

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 04:01

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 04:01
geez pointyhead-are they going to fine a 7 yr old $1000???
Bruce-I cant suggest a place as I am on the West Coast.
But your best bet is NOT to ask on here. In fact the best bet is probably to just do it somewhere in an out of the way place as you suggested.

I am NOT advocating breaking the spirit of rules which is to avoid annoying people and destroying areas.

But just to teach ya kid to trundle around on a bike, in a safe way without annoying anyone-just do it and be discreet.
FollowupID: 756277

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 07:56

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 07:56
Yes they will fine a 7 YO. I have seen it happen . Also if they have an accident injuring a 3rd party without 3rd party insurance the costs could send you bankrupt.

Also is it a good idea for a parent to encourage their children to break the law ?

Unfortunately, remember that a common way for governments to react to unlawful trail bike usage in an area is to ban all trail bike users. So it is in the best interest for riders to do the right thing to ensure they keep access open. This is my motivation for encouraging people to do the right thing because I do not want to see trail bike riders who do the right thing loose access to be able to ride on public land.

As for the trail bike clubs owning properties, I mentioned it because there is a club that owns a property next to the Pyrenees that I have driven past a number of times. They have a track in the property for the young kids to learn and play on while the older licenses club members ride in the Pyrenees S/F. Unfortunately I do not know the club name ...
FollowupID: 756281

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 09:02

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 09:02
fisho64

A good example to the kids when you recommend that Dad doesn't even bother following the law.Well done mate.

FollowupID: 756284

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 09:20

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 09:20
My kids know the difference between right and wrong thank you very much. Morals are not laid out by a beauracrat sitting behind a desk. There are plenty of scenarios that are legal but morally wrong and vice versa. I know which way I like my kids to think, and do not want them to be mindless drones who feel the need to consult the relevant legislation via a lawyer before getting out of bed in the morning.
FollowupID: 756285

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 10:19

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 10:19
I am not saying that your children do not know what is right or wrong. I am saying that even though they do know what is right and wrong that you still recommend that they go out and do the wrong thing. Regardless of what the law says. Stuff what the law says. Is that the motto now.

Dad said it's fine, so why can't I. Who cares what the stupid bureaucrat says. And who cares if it damages the bush and gets tracks closed.

I just do not figure.

FollowupID: 756294

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 03:26

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 03:26
well to be honest phil, you pretty much hit the nail on the head. Except that they dont read the legislation themselves and I dont use your insulting statement "Dad said it's fine, so why can't I. Who cares what the stupid bureaucrat says. And who cares if it damages the bush and gets tracks closed."

More like "lets go for a ride here on the beach 20km from anyone else, if you come across anyone and speed past them etc I'll give you a kick up the bum and you wont be riding anymore."

You can give yourself ulsers second guessing what the "stupid beauracrat" was intending with his rule, I'll just enjoy life quietly with my family, not hurting anyone and minimal impact.
And I'll teach my kids morals and right and wrong without looking at a piece of of paper every 5 minutes and herding them like sheep into a small corral.

Luckily I live in WA out of the big smoke where there is open space to get away from the "madding crowd" and people who insist theirs are the only morals worth having.

cheers!
FollowupID: 756349

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 07:52

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 07:52
Not worth a response.

FollowupID: 756350

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 08:00

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 08:00
That was not a good way to finish. We are way off topic and getting nowhere and I think we should finish.

We also obviously have different ideas of what it takes to be a fair and sharing member of this country.

FollowupID: 756351

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 10:07

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 10:07
Maybe should have stuck to your second last post. Self rightous springs to mind but yeah lets leave it at that
FollowupID: 756360

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 10:59

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 10:59
I thought that I was being a little insulting so I was trying to go out nicely. But you had to have a final insult.

We definitely do not have the same social attitude towards others.

FollowupID: 756371

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 21:19

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 21:19
you may have been trying to go out nicely but with an extra little barb each time on the end.
Have a look at each of your posts above.

Live and let live isnt a bad way to go thru life I reckon if it doesnt affect others unduly.
Lecturing others on how their morals arent up to ones standard can be viewed as a little, well, "condescending".
So how about we agree to just let it go without a barb at the end?
FollowupID: 756429

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 20:02

Monday, Mar 19, 2012 at 20:02
Gday Bruce
Ring me. 0400860894
Murray

AnswerID: 480837

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 10:33

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012 at 10:33
Hi Bruce

Its an area where the authorites should be ashamed of themselves as their rules and regs effectivily reduce bike training opportunites.

But places do exist and we for one were prepared to take our chances and ensure the kids got the type of triaining needed.

After some 14 years riding with the kids we were rewarded with one of the best experiences when our son was able to ride the Simpson with dad on his 2 week old bike license.

One suggestion I would make is to join a club - I reccomend http://www.ndmx.com.au/

This is the last city club left with a small track on Burwood hwy.

Now this isn't riding in the bush however you will soon find and meet others some of which do what you wish regularly mostly on private tracks.

Several times a year clubs like this have little race days and you can camp overnight on the club properties - great all round experience.

AnswerID: 480978

Reply By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 20:43

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 20:43
"geez pointyhead-are they going to fine a 7 yr old $1000??? "

Nah they will fine the Parents...And while doing that i am sure the child will be in tears feeling for his dad...

I know dandenong dirtbikes has a property out at erica but they may have to be over 18,maybe worth a check...

Goodluck as theres not much about if you dont own 500 acres...
AnswerID: 481124

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:30

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:30
I dont know if they can do that can they? We all say that parents of graffiti vandals and kiddie thieves should be made to pay but as far as I know under the law its not possible except in specific situations.
However if its cops involved then the bike could be confiscated as a hoon.
FollowupID: 756520

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 00:58

Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 00:58
Hiya Fisho

There was a situation at a camp ground that had those cheap chinese bikes going into the State Forest and they were about 10-12 years old..Later that day i spoke to a Police Officer and said they were riding them dangerously,he said if he catches them he'll fine the parents i thought $1400 in fines.....
FollowupID: 756604

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Mar 26, 2012 at 01:06

Monday, Mar 26, 2012 at 01:06
I believe that in most if not all states 10 is the youngest that can be criminally responsible for their actions. But i just cant see how a cop can fine someone because somebody else did something wrong, whether your child or otherwise.
But this is a bit off topic now.
There are some here (not you river) that seem to have lived a long life and never bent the rules a little, or quietly staged their own little protest over the erosion of our freedoms.
A bit sad really...
FollowupID: 756766

Reply By: Nigel Migraine - Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 08:54

Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 08:54
This forum doesn't change, does it....
AnswerID: 481228