Generator vs dual battery help please!

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 15:49
ThreadID: 92659 Views:5624 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi.
So I am pretty new to all this, but i have a land cruiser ute with a canopy on the back that i am gearing up to go around aus in. I have space under the hood for a second battery to go but am not sure if its the way to go?

Pretty much I don't have a heap of money to spend, but i want to be able to power some lights and an 80 litre waeco fridge as I go, possibly charge a phone and a laptop etc., but will be tapping into mains as we go as well. I don't have any of the wiring for a dual battery so I will be starting pretty much from scratch - so i can go any which way.

So please treat me like a child, help me out because I am clueless and my girlfriend is even worse!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 16:44

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 16:44
I would go for a good quality dual battery setup. Put yourself out in the middle of nowhere and think what if you wake up the next day and your starting battery is dead for what ever reason? and there is not a soul insight.

If you already have the space and a battery tray then you can easily do the job yourself by following the instructions. There are plenty of DIY kits out on the market.

Once you have a good system then you can run your lights and your fridges and what ever else you want. I have had to jump start people's cars way to many times on Fraser Island or other remote camping spots because they forgot to turn off a interior light or something simple.

AnswerID: 480912

Reply By: Gadget X10 - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 16:45

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2012 at 16:45
Hi Kieran,
Yes I would put a second battery under the hood at a minimum, perhaps one in the back of the canopy as well, you will need it to run the 80lt, if funds allow consider a Redarc 12v DC/DC charger. this is well worth finding the money for.